We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific B&B highly recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1892 Seneca Inn

1892 Seneca Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1892 Seneca Inn
305 East 4th Street, Watkins Glen, NY 14891   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Watkins Glen B&B and Inns
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Terrific B&B highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed two nights in the Coral room. It was very comfortable and quiet. The bed was very comfortable. No tv but we didn't want one. The house is beautiful with wonderful woodwork throughout. Susan prepared an excellent breakfast both mornings and she really made us feel welcome. The house is right next to a small park where there was an outdoor concert one evening. Downtown Watkins Glen is only about a 5 minute walk away where there are a couple of really good restaurants. I highly recommend the 1892 Seneca Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

When I researched B&B options in Watkins Glen online, not too many reviews or ratings came up for the Seneca Inn. In all honesty, I ended up booking two nights there for my friends and I because the other places were already taken.

My, what a wonderful gem we discovered! This B&B is located in a beautiful house with a total of 4 rooms that can be rented. Guests will also have access to a huge common area and dining area, not to mention a porch and a cute little balcony on the 1st floor.

The first impression upon arriving was fantastic - a friendly innkeeper showed us around and answered any and all questions we could possibly have about the area. Sue is extremely knowledgeable about the town and its big and small attractions.

Vegan and vegetarian food is an option there, so be sure to mention that if applicable. Breakfast is varied and generous, and the home-made fruit salad with locally grown fruit is to die for. There is always free soda in the fridge.

The house is conveniently located walking distance away from the state park, the lake, and the dining options. There are two very friendly cats on the premises that do not enter the guest rooms, and they will be kept out of the house upon request.

In short, do not hesitate to stay here. You will receive a great value, friendly service, and fantastic rooms.

Room Tip: The champagne room has a little sitting area and a small TV!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed in the Champagne room; quaintly decorated and very comfortable. The room faces the main road,but Watkins Glen is a small town and after 10PM so we didn't notice any noise (we were there Fri & Sat nite). The room is nicely shaded from the afternoon sun so we didn't use the air-conditioning. The settee in the sitting room was too small to sit comfortably, but we made good use of the lovely balcony off the second floor where we enjoyed a quiet glass of wine in the evening. Susan breakfasts were one of the best I've ever had at a B&B: homemade sweet scones, eggs & bacon, toast& jam, juice & coffee the first day and, Belgian waffles with fresh strawberry conserve, whipped cream and sausage, the second. Restaurants in town were also very good, and we didn't find them expensive.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the 1892 Seneca Inn in Watkins Glen this fall. It had not been listed on TA previously, so we had no reviews to go by. The owners are a nice couple, Sue and Mike, who bought an old Victorian house and have been renovating it for four years. There are four bedrooms upstairs, three with private baths. They are decorated in Victorian style and quite pretty. The bathroom however was made from the closet space, so is very small, serviceable only. The blue room has its own bathroom across the hall that is very large. Everything was very clean, the bed comfortable and they provided a small refrigerator with sodas and water. The negative is it is on a busy street and you can hear some traffic. The downstairs has a living room that is only for the guests to use and is comfortably furnished with couches and TV. The location is great as you can walk a couple of blocks to the lake or downtown and is a perfect spot to visit many of the wineries and Watkins Glen State Park. There is also a pretty park in the next block that has a Farmers Market on Fridays. The owners were helpful with suggestions where to visit and had many brochures. Breakfast was not gourmet but fine: fruit, pancakes and bacon. We would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1892 Seneca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1892 Seneca Inn

Address: 305 East 4th Street, Watkins Glen, NY 14891
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1892 Seneca Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added 1892 Seneca Inn to your Saves list