We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food. Waitstaff needs some managing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BluePointe Grille

BluePointe Grille
16 North Franklin Street, Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, Watkins Glen, NY
(607) 535-6116
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Watkins Glen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Mount Aukum, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food. Waitstaff needs some managing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our food. We'd had a late lunch on our way to Watkins Glen so had only salad and appetizers for dinner. The staff was very courteous, but inexperienced and in need of some training. Our waiter forgot that we'd ordered a bottle of wine and we had to ask for it again. We asked for salads first and our hot appetizers later. We were not finished eating our salads when he tried to bring our other food and, of course, had no place to put it. I noticed he did the same at another table nearby. But the clam appetizers were the best clams I've ever had. The dining room beautiful. And the staff friendly, albeit inexperienced. And the next morning, the Bloody Mary's perfect!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    55
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well done, Shawn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were hesitant about eating here after reading a not so good review on TA, but we are so v ery glad we did! Our waiter Shawn was fantastic! He answered all the questions we had. We shared the review that we saw on here and he and another waiter had no idea, at first, what meal the reviewer was describing. They finally recognized it as something different from the name the reviewer had given the dish. Said that often people do not recognize cherry peppers as being on the warm side (???. Maybe too many stops on the wine trail before dinner???)
I had the chicken scarapiolli (sp), my date had the rib eye. We both were very happy with our meals. Again, I can not say enough about the attention we recieved from Shawn! He deserves a raise!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Edible, best in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After reading restaurant reviews for the Watkins Glen area, this seemed to be one of the best and the reviews were not wrong. We stayed at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, where this restaurant is located, and after a long day of travel decided to stay in and eat here. Thank God we did because after exploring the "town," there is absolutely nothing decent to eat within walking distance, and maybe not even within a 15 minute drive.

The restaurant is clean and the servers are polite. Coming from the NYC tri-state area, and having stayed in many hotels, the prices are reasonable for what you get and the setting. There is an outdoor patio a block across and overlooking the lake, and indoor seating. The wine list consists mainly of local wines at good prices, but there are a few other choices. The cheese plate for $12 was large with a sampling of 4 cheeses, several pieces of each, various crackers, grapes and strawberries. Roasted tomato garlic soup was tasty and served with oyster crackers. Salads were fresh. The strip steak was prepared to temperature and tender. The only problem and unfortunately 3 out of 4 in our party ordered it, was the Chicken Scarpariello... boneless chicken, sausage, red peppers, mushrooms and cherry peppers served with gnocchi. We've never seen a "Scarpa" like this, and we are in the restaurant business. It was served in so much broth in was more like a soup that you had to fish around in for the chicken, which was almost non existent. There was plenty of gnocchi though. An the soup/broth was unbelievably overwhelmed with garlic. 2 out of 3 of us left over half the dish. Stay away from this and stick with the basics....salads, steaks.....and you'll get a decent meal for the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Try the crab cakes and burger, for $10, it's the best value and best tasting food you will eat in the area! We stayed at hotel so the convenience of this restaurant was perfect!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dinner on the patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a nice dinner on the patio looking out over Lake Seneca. The food was good but not over the top. Service was average to poor. We would give it another try.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BluePointe Grille also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to BluePointe Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BluePointe Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.