We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
16 North Franklin Street, Watkins Glen, NY 14891   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
December Hot Buy
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service, wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at the Harbor Hotel in Watkins Glen over the Thanksgiving holiday and had a wonderful stay. Although we had a village view room rather than a view of the lake, the view up the hill was very pleasant. Service was excellent beginning with check-in all the way to the girl who came to do turn down. The rooms were spacious and clean with two comfortable queen beds a table and lounge chair. Bathrooms were luxurious with a large walk-in tiled shower. Overall excellent for the price. Watkins Glen is a little quiet at the time of year we visited but if it was a little warmer we could have walked in the beautiful countryside.
We made an early afternoon reservation for the Thanksgiving buffet and could not have been more impressed. Fresh salads, pasta, fish, roasts and an amazing array of deserts. Be sure to arrive hungry and enjoy a relaxed meal. The finger lakes wine we chose to accompany the meal was also excellent.
The only tiny criticism I have is that there was no in-room coffee maker, which seems like an odd oversight in a luxury boutique hotel. Coffee is provided on each floor, but only until 11am. What happens after a long cold afternoon walk, when all you want is to flop in the room with a hot coffee?

Room Tip: A lake view would be spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and for your high recommendation!
It’s so nice to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of our Hotel, including our Thanksgiving Grand Buffet.

If, during future stays, you find yourself wanting a hot cup of coffee, please do not hesitate to stop by the Blue Pointe Grille. We would be more than happy to accommodate that request!

On behalf of the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel team, we thank you for choosing our Hotel and hope you’ll visit us again when your travels bring you back to the Finger Lakes Region.

Warm Regards,
Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    131
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
136
381
13
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burdett, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

A most welcoming staff started our evening arrival. Immediately advised where to go in the area and advised of The Tasting Room just a block away for wine samples while we waited for the wineries opening the next day. Outstanding rooms and lake view. Restaurant is very good and the amenities throughout are way above expectations.

Room Tip: Lake View is worth the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel. Our team always looks forward to hearing from our guests.

We appreciate you taking note of our welcoming staff and are happy to hear that you enjoyed our recommendation of The Tasting Room!

We value your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amawalk, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I made a last minute reservation while traveling through the area. We had no idea what to expect, as it was about 10 years since our last visit to the area.
The hotel exceeded our expectations. We reserved a lake view room and the view was spectacular. The room was spacious and clean with great amenities. The wine glasses and corkscrew were nice touches, especially being in the wine country region.
The front desk informed us at check in hat there was a wedding reception occurring at the hotel and they gave us a room on a different floor than the wedding party guests. We did not have noise problems, but it was very considerate of the staff to inform us.
We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant. The menu was on the pricey side, but was of very high quality and there was a good variety. The service was outstanding, the dining area supervisor even stopped by our table to make sure everything was satisfactory. This was a nice touch, she was very sincere.
There is plenty do do and see within walking distance. We hope to return soon to the hotel!

Room Tip: Spend the extra $ for a lake view room, there is a patio that offers a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are delighted to hear we “exceeded your expectations” during your recent visit to the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel.

Our Food and Beverage team will be pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience in our Blue Pointe Grille. Our entire staff is dedicated to delivering first-class service and we appreciate you acknowledging their efforts.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to being a part of your next visit to Watkins Glen.

Best Regards,
Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piercefield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just finishing up a three night stay at this wonderful hotel. This is our second year here during the Christmas holiday season and it will not be our last. The Harbor Hotel is a class act. Everyone, from the front desk personnel to the bartenders, to the housekeeping staff excel at friendliness and helpfulness. The rooms are beautiful and exceptionally clean. Other reviewers have commented on the wooden floors which help with the cleanliness but do result in some noise from other rooms. It really was not a big annoyance to us. The rooms have a small refrigerator which was really nice to store snacks and wine and beer which we purchased along the Seneca Lake wine trail. The beds and bedding are extremely comfortable and come with a multitude of pillows. Each room has a magnifying, light up make up mirror. The walk in shower is large, nicely tiled, and a real treat. Toiletries were excellent. Bathrobes are thick and another nice touch. Nightly turn down service is a nice touch. One evening, as my husband went to put the "Do Not Disturb" sign up, the staff was just arriving for the turn down service. We declined that evening and the woman just gave us the chocolate. For us, what really makes the trip is the attention to detail and the exceptional staff. One point that others have made is that there is an air handling system outside on the city side of the hotel which is rather loud. Lake view rooms are much better soundwise in that you do not hear the noise. The lake view is wonderful no matter what time of year. Thank you Harbor Hotel for another great trip. We hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Choose a lake side room for a wonderful view and a quieter evening. Machinery on the city side is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you had another pleasant experience at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel and appreciate you taking the time to point out some of our special touches that make our hotel unique and enjoyable.

We appreciate your FIVE STAR rating and look forward to sharing more holiday seasons with you!

Sincerely,
Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I arrive at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel at 3:30 PM on Thanksgiving. We had reservations to stay 3 nights and to have Thanksgiving dinner at the hotel. The hotel was extremely neat and clean and offered wonderfully warm friendly service. The Concierge really out did himself.
My only complaint is that it wasn't as quiet as I would have hoped for. There is no carpeting and this makes for beauty as well as cleanliness. however, with people moving heavy chairs around at night, it also makes for noise.
We will go back next year and will bring the rest of the family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your Thanksgiving Holiday with us at the Harbor Hotel. We are thrilled to hear your family will be visiting us again this year! Our concierge team will be delighted to know that they fulfilled all of your expectations.

We value your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Friday the 13th and we had an awesome escape from the snow and cold to the hot tub! very comfortable room, lovely colored lights and decorations for the holiday! staff are very pleasant and helpful!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor!

We are happy you enjoyed our holiday decorations and truly appreciate your recognition of our staff as we pride ourselves in having quality people that have a desire to treat our guests with warmth and respect.

We look forward to your future stays with us!

Warm Regards,
Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I went to Niagara with my family in the second week of November and on the way we had a one night stay at Watkins Glen. We were six people in the room and had a very comfortable sleep due to the extra beds. The room had two queen size bed and a sofa cum bed comfortable enough for two.Though I went with my family I am looking forward to going there again with my friends. I also recommended it to my brother and his girlfriend. The room was huge enough to accommodate all the people comfortably and the also provided a round table with four stools for having a nice chat over food. It was the best hotel I have stayed at so far, though I have traveled in almost every country. I am just sad that I didn't have enough time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your experience during your recent stay with us. Our team always looks forward to every comment submitted by our guests.

We just recently added sofa beds to several of the rooms with double queen beds. We’re thrilled this addition accommodated the needs of your family.

Your recommendation and patronage are very important to us. Hopefully you’ll have the opportunity to stay longer for your next visit.

We look forward to your future stays with us!

Warm Regards,
Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Address: 16 North Franklin Street, Watkins Glen, NY 14891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel has been awarded a four diamond rating from AAA -The American Automobile Association. This distinction is given to hotels with refined and stylish accommodations and a high level of service and attention to detail. This award makes the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel the top rated hotel in Watkins Glen, New York. At the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, our staff is proud to offer all our guests outstanding service! The hotel offers a variety of deluxe accommodations including six luxurious suites. We offer nightly turndown service, an indoor pool, fitness center and our professional concierge is on call to assist you and your family in planning your Watkins Glen vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watkins Glen Harbor Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.