We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most upscale hotel in a small city we have experienced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 2 more sites!
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
16 North Franklin Street, Watkins Glen, NY 14891   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
May Hot Buy
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Watkins Glen
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The most upscale hotel in a small city we have experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel is an upscale modern facility with decorator touches throughout. Upon entering the restaurant and bar areas are fashionably treated with polished hardwoods, the hallways are a bright modern palate. The rooms are spacious, I repeat spacious. Comfortable, king-sized beds, a walk-in shower, oversize hang up closet, desk and large couch. We were late booking and did not get the Lake view…for the romantics this is a must. The bathroom has dramatic decorator lighting, as with the adjacent make-up area. The large walk-in shower had a removable hand-held wand and lacked water pressure. WiFi is available, but slow and buggy. Free coffee service is available across from the elevators on each floor. Being on a fixed budget, we did not eat in the restaurant. However we found a gem in the “Coldwater Bar.” Our bartender, Adam, was knowledgeable and friendly. He even helped first time tourists customize their drinks to their preference. The bar menu was limited, but within budget. The hamburger I ordered might have been the biggest and best prepared I’ve had in 20 years. The rooms are a bit pricey, but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Opt for a Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your high recommendation of the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to give us and other travelers your thorough and detailed feedback on your stay.

It was certainly our pleasure to do all that we possibly could to make your stay a memorable one. We enjoy providing our guests with the exceptional service they deserve and appreciate you giving a special mention to Adam. I will be happy to share your compliments with him.

Again, thank you for your review and for sharing your Harbor Hotel experience!

Sincerely,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    399
    99
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
116
290
12
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights . We managed to get a space in the car park even though it was very busy . We had booked a room with a view over the marina which also looked over the car park . We saw the rooms facing the back of the hotel and they were the same as ours.I don't know what their view was,but we don't think it was worth paying extra for the marina view . Didn't spend anytime gazing at the view . To be honest we didn't think it was very pretty . The room was really great . Very spacious , clean , nice shower and comfortable bed . There was free coffee by the lift each morning . We didn't try the pool but it looked nice . Enjoyed our stay .

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star rating and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and the convenience of the complimentary coffee & tea stations.

It is our hopes that your travels bring you back to see us again very soon. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to enjoy our indoor heated pool and jacuzzi during your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We just returned from our forth trip to Harbor Hotel. Can't say enough good things. Friendly staff, very clean, Lovely big rooms with a view of the lake, Great comfy beds. We will return. Remember to bring your swim suit for the indoor pool (we forgot). Very close to the Gorge, we wake up Monday morning and run over to do our annual trip. We will return again next year when we our annual wine tasting at lake Seneca.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of lake Seneca
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your fabulous rating and review is rewarding and encouraging, as we are passionate about serving our guests and earning their continued patronage.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Harbor Hotel. Don't forget your swimsuit!

Warm Regards,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludington, michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is one of the nicest places I've stayed. We had a king room which was large and comfortable with a beautiful view of Seneca Lake. The shower was all tile with a glass door and was spotless. There was a small but very nice pool area. We ordered breakfast through room service and it was delicious. The staff was friendly and professional. The room was a little pricey but totally worth it. Watkins Glen State Park is less that five minutes away. Not a whole lot to do in Watkins Glen there are many parks and wineries near by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is extremely rewarding for our staff to receive your compliments on the friendly and professional service you received. We’re happy you enjoyed the beautiful view of Seneca Lake and comforts of your room.

Ensuring our guests enjoy everything about their experience is what we do best, and we are passionate about doing all we can to make every stay a special and unique one.

Thank you for the excellent rating! We look forward to being a part of your next visit to Watkins Glen.

Sincerely,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a beautiful hotel! We arrived here around 6 pm and were checked in quickly. Help was offered right away to unload the vehicle and get everything to the room. My husband is in a wheelchair so this was very nice to have. As we arrived late we decided to have dinner at the hotel. It was amazing! The service was great and the food was sooooo good! The room was very spacious with the most beautiful view of the marina and Lake Seneca. Bed was very comfortable and room very clean. We heard no hallway noise at all in the room. Very quiet hotel and very quiet heating/cooling system in the room. We enjoyed the coffee every morning as we relaxed with the paper and checking emails (free WiFi) The staff was very friendly and always offering their help.
We stayed here for 5 nights. We found it very central to wineries, Corning, Ithaca and many local restaurants.
I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: we stayed in a King Lakeview. I would recommend it. The view was beautiful to wake up to each mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Our staff works very hard to ensure each guest's experience is a memorable one. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay as well as our central location to the wineries.

It was a great pleasure to read how you enjoyed your dinner in the Blue Pointe Grille. I will pass along your gracious compliments to our Food &Beverage team and to our Executive Chef, Christopher Hascall..

It has been our privilege to serve you and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Beautiful view from our widow, it looked out on the Marina. It had all the comforts, bed was very comfortable. You do pay the price, I would recommend an off season visit you would get a little better price. A great place to stay after your hike in Watkins Glen State Park. Great spa and hot tub.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and had the opportunity to visit Watkins Glen's beautiful state park.

Once again, thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to serving you again when you are in the Wakins Glen area. On behalf of our team, we truly appreciate your business.

Warm Regards,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night, Sept 18th, 2013, and loved it so much that we plan on coming back in the winter! We had a king room on the 4th floor with a fantastic view of the harbor. The ceramic and laminate flooring in our room was a welcome change of pace from the typical carpet found in most hotels. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom spacious, and the service top notch. In fact, speaking of service, we met the Sales Manager, Christine Peacock, at The Tasting Room in Watkins Glen. When she found out I had planned this as a surprise for my wife's birthday, she comped my wife's breakfast the next morning! Our two minor quibbles (noise from adjacent rooms and a finicky water temperature controller in the shower) were far, far overshadowed by the rest of our fantastic experience. Thank you for helping me make the celebration of my wife's birthday such a success!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel to celebrate your wife's birthday and for sharing your comments. We're thrilled to hear that our services exceeded your expectations and that you had such a wonderful experience.

I will proudly share your gracious comments with Christine. She will be happy to hear she played a part in making your stay memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in winter!

Sincerely,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Also Known As:
Watkins Glen Harbor Boutique Hotel
Address: 16 North Franklin Street, Watkins Glen, NY 14891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel has been awarded a four diamond rating from AAA -The American Automobile Association. This distinction is given to hotels with refined and stylish accommodations and a high level of service and attention to detail. This award makes the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel the top rated hotel in Watkins Glen, New York. At the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, our staff is proud to offer all our guests outstanding service! The hotel offers a variety of deluxe accommodations including six luxurious suites. We offer nightly turndown service, an indoor pool, fitness center and our professional concierge is on call to assist you and your family in planning your Watkins Glen vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.