We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, we will return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
16 North Franklin Street, Watkins Glen, NY 14891   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, we will return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We just returned from our forth trip to Harbor Hotel. Can't say enough good things. Friendly staff, very clean, Lovely big rooms with a view of the lake, Great comfy beds. We will return. Remember to bring your swim suit for the indoor pool (we forgot). Very close to the Gorge, we wake up Monday morning and run over to do our annual trip. We will return again next year when we our annual wine tasting at lake Seneca.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of lake Seneca
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your fabulous rating and review is rewarding and encouraging, as we are passionate about serving our guests and earning their continued patronage.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Harbor Hotel. Don't forget your swimsuit!

Warm Regards,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    117
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
132
348
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ludington, michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is one of the nicest places I've stayed. We had a king room which was large and comfortable with a beautiful view of Seneca Lake. The shower was all tile with a glass door and was spotless. There was a small but very nice pool area. We ordered breakfast through room service and it was delicious. The staff was friendly and professional. The room was a little pricey but totally worth it. Watkins Glen State Park is less that five minutes away. Not a whole lot to do in Watkins Glen there are many parks and wineries near by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is extremely rewarding for our staff to receive your compliments on the friendly and professional service you received. We’re happy you enjoyed the beautiful view of Seneca Lake and comforts of your room.

Ensuring our guests enjoy everything about their experience is what we do best, and we are passionate about doing all we can to make every stay a special and unique one.

Thank you for the excellent rating! We look forward to being a part of your next visit to Watkins Glen.

Sincerely,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a beautiful hotel! We arrived here around 6 pm and were checked in quickly. Help was offered right away to unload the vehicle and get everything to the room. My husband is in a wheelchair so this was very nice to have. As we arrived late we decided to have dinner at the hotel. It was amazing! The service was great and the food was sooooo good! The room was very spacious with the most beautiful view of the marina and Lake Seneca. Bed was very comfortable and room very clean. We heard no hallway noise at all in the room. Very quiet hotel and very quiet heating/cooling system in the room. We enjoyed the coffee every morning as we relaxed with the paper and checking emails (free WiFi) The staff was very friendly and always offering their help.
We stayed here for 5 nights. We found it very central to wineries, Corning, Ithaca and many local restaurants.
I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: we stayed in a King Lakeview. I would recommend it. The view was beautiful to wake up to each mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Our staff works very hard to ensure each guest's experience is a memorable one. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay as well as our central location to the wineries.

It was a great pleasure to read how you enjoyed your dinner in the Blue Pointe Grille. I will pass along your gracious compliments to our Food &Beverage team and to our Executive Chef, Christopher Hascall..

It has been our privilege to serve you and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Beautiful view from our widow, it looked out on the Marina. It had all the comforts, bed was very comfortable. You do pay the price, I would recommend an off season visit you would get a little better price. A great place to stay after your hike in Watkins Glen State Park. Great spa and hot tub.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and had the opportunity to visit Watkins Glen's beautiful state park.

Once again, thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to serving you again when you are in the Wakins Glen area. On behalf of our team, we truly appreciate your business.

Warm Regards,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night, Sept 18th, 2013, and loved it so much that we plan on coming back in the winter! We had a king room on the 4th floor with a fantastic view of the harbor. The ceramic and laminate flooring in our room was a welcome change of pace from the typical carpet found in most hotels. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom spacious, and the service top notch. In fact, speaking of service, we met the Sales Manager, Christine Peacock, at The Tasting Room in Watkins Glen. When she found out I had planned this as a surprise for my wife's birthday, she comped my wife's breakfast the next morning! Our two minor quibbles (noise from adjacent rooms and a finicky water temperature controller in the shower) were far, far overshadowed by the rest of our fantastic experience. Thank you for helping me make the celebration of my wife's birthday such a success!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel to celebrate your wife's birthday and for sharing your comments. We're thrilled to hear that our services exceeded your expectations and that you had such a wonderful experience.

I will proudly share your gracious comments with Christine. She will be happy to hear she played a part in making your stay memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in winter!

Sincerely,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Harbor Hotel. When I checked in I was greeted by the "Welcoming committee" as the supervisor put it. The desk manager Mary and supervisor Matt checked me in and check in was friendly quick and they were light hearted but very professional. They both offered to take my bags up to my room and Matthew ended up doing it for me. They joked around with each other and myself and made me feel like they really wanted to be there and wanted me there as well. I went up to the room and was amazed at my view that was overlooking Seneca Lake. The housekeeping staff does a tremendous job here and I never had any complaints about room cleanliness or amenities in the room.We ate dinner at the Blue Point Grille and although I thought the menu was a little pricey it was well worth it over eating somewhere else in town.At dinner we came in contact with Britney our server and Fred the restaurant manager who are both excellent and kept the feeling of being welcomed at this hotel. check out was just as quick and courteous as check in and there was no issues on my bill and we will be sure to be back to vacation in Watkins Glen and stay at the Harbor Hotel. Thank you for great service, great staff and a great stay.

They told me that we were going to receive a survey in my email but I never did receive it and I wanted to share my experience with the management and other travelers to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We thank you so much for your excellent review! It is comments like yours that reminds us why we love what we do! It is our pleasure to provide the very best to you and I will be sure to relay your kind words to our team and most importantly, the associates you graciously acknowledged by name.

We couldn't be more delighted that you enjoyed your experience here at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel. Thank you and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Sincerely,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Located on Lake Seneca, this is a fairly new, very well maintained facility. Service from bell staff and reception very friendly and efficient. Room and bath were spacious, clean, well appointed. Many amentities, including bathrobes. Coffee is served in the elevator lobby on the floor in the morning. Restaurant/bar is cozy, menu is creative, food is good, a bit pricey.

Room Tip: We stayed in a lakeside king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us!

We're happy you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your glowing remarks regarding the friendliness of our service and cleanliness of our spacious guest rooms.

Thank you again for your time and for choosing the Harbor Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Address: 16 North Franklin Street, Watkins Glen, NY 14891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel has been awarded a four diamond rating from AAA -The American Automobile Association. This distinction is given to hotels with refined and stylish accommodations and a high level of service and attention to detail. This award makes the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel the top rated hotel in Watkins Glen, New York. At the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, our staff is proud to offer all our guests outstanding service! The hotel offers a variety of deluxe accommodations including six luxurious suites. We offer nightly turndown service, an indoor pool, fitness center and our professional concierge is on call to assist you and your family in planning your Watkins Glen vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watkins Glen Harbor Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.