We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
16 North Franklin Street, Watkins Glen, NY 14891   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
December Hot Buy
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very comfortable place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Beautiful view from our widow, it looked out on the Marina. It had all the comforts, bed was very comfortable. You do pay the price, I would recommend an off season visit you would get a little better price. A great place to stay after your hike in Watkins Glen State Park. Great spa and hot tub.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and had the opportunity to visit Watkins Glen's beautiful state park.

Once again, thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to serving you again when you are in the Wakins Glen area. On behalf of our team, we truly appreciate your business.

Warm Regards,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    131
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
136
380
13
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaffney, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night, Sept 18th, 2013, and loved it so much that we plan on coming back in the winter! We had a king room on the 4th floor with a fantastic view of the harbor. The ceramic and laminate flooring in our room was a welcome change of pace from the typical carpet found in most hotels. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom spacious, and the service top notch. In fact, speaking of service, we met the Sales Manager, Christine Peacock, at The Tasting Room in Watkins Glen. When she found out I had planned this as a surprise for my wife's birthday, she comped my wife's breakfast the next morning! Our two minor quibbles (noise from adjacent rooms and a finicky water temperature controller in the shower) were far, far overshadowed by the rest of our fantastic experience. Thank you for helping me make the celebration of my wife's birthday such a success!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel to celebrate your wife's birthday and for sharing your comments. We're thrilled to hear that our services exceeded your expectations and that you had such a wonderful experience.

I will proudly share your gracious comments with Christine. She will be happy to hear she played a part in making your stay memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in winter!

Sincerely,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Harbor Hotel. When I checked in I was greeted by the "Welcoming committee" as the supervisor put it. The desk manager Mary and supervisor Matt checked me in and check in was friendly quick and they were light hearted but very professional. They both offered to take my bags up to my room and Matthew ended up doing it for me. They joked around with each other and myself and made me feel like they really wanted to be there and wanted me there as well. I went up to the room and was amazed at my view that was overlooking Seneca Lake. The housekeeping staff does a tremendous job here and I never had any complaints about room cleanliness or amenities in the room.We ate dinner at the Blue Point Grille and although I thought the menu was a little pricey it was well worth it over eating somewhere else in town.At dinner we came in contact with Britney our server and Fred the restaurant manager who are both excellent and kept the feeling of being welcomed at this hotel. check out was just as quick and courteous as check in and there was no issues on my bill and we will be sure to be back to vacation in Watkins Glen and stay at the Harbor Hotel. Thank you for great service, great staff and a great stay.

They told me that we were going to receive a survey in my email but I never did receive it and I wanted to share my experience with the management and other travelers to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We thank you so much for your excellent review! It is comments like yours that reminds us why we love what we do! It is our pleasure to provide the very best to you and I will be sure to relay your kind words to our team and most importantly, the associates you graciously acknowledged by name.

We couldn't be more delighted that you enjoyed your experience here at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel. Thank you and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Sincerely,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Located on Lake Seneca, this is a fairly new, very well maintained facility. Service from bell staff and reception very friendly and efficient. Room and bath were spacious, clean, well appointed. Many amentities, including bathrobes. Coffee is served in the elevator lobby on the floor in the morning. Restaurant/bar is cozy, menu is creative, food is good, a bit pricey.

Room Tip: We stayed in a lakeside king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us!

We're happy you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your glowing remarks regarding the friendliness of our service and cleanliness of our spacious guest rooms.

Thank you again for your time and for choosing the Harbor Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

After doing some homework to see what would be a good hotel to stay at in the area, we decided on the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel. Averaging the price over the 4 nights we were going to be there, we were just slightly over our targeted budget. We had 2 rooms and upon our 3 o’clock arrival, one was ready, which was great (check in is at 4). It was a handicap room, and it was the nicest handicap room I’ve seen. You would never walk in and think that it was handicap upon first glance – it was a huge room, huge bathroom. We did overlook the parking lot, but that was ok. The other room had a balcony overlooking Seneca Lake, which was great when the weather was nice. Our stay was great overall, the mattresses were very comfortable and I slept better than I normally do at a hotel, it is relatively new so everything was nice – there was an indoor pool, exercise facility, outdoor bar, etc. (and the boys loved the tv as it had a guide and access to all the channels, including some premium). We had breakfast one day in the hotel, and while the service was a bit slow, the food was good and it was convenient. We were able to walk to dinner every night at various restaurants in the area. It is a great location and the check-in staff was always pleasant and saying hello, whether we were coming or going. The housekeeping was a little less reliable. Most days it was fine, and the turndown service was nice, but one night they did forget the chocolate and then on the day we weren’t gone all day, our room was not cleaned until after 3, which was inconvenient. It also seemed that the person cleaning got distracted and left mid-way (see picture) – with pillows just lying around haphazardly. We did enjoy our stay in the area, however for the cost; we might look into staying somewhere else, though we certainly would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: rooms with a balcony and view are really nice...we had room 229 which was handicap so it was very sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience. There is no greater satisfaction, as a customer service professional, than receiving kind words from a valued guest.

We are pleased you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms, the wide variety of television channels and a restful night's sleep.

Despite these highlights, we are disappointed to learn of the housekeeping service lapses you experienced during your stay. Please know your comments are valuable and will be shared with our housekeeping team to ensure these errors are investigated and corrected for the future.

We value your patronage and look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The view up Seneca Lake from the quaint village of Watkins Glen has never needed improvement, but, let's face it, lodging and dining have been pretty limited--until now. This splendid new addition to the Glen's accommodation and dining options represents a real game changer. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed, with very good value for a standard room facing the village. But spend just a few more bucks and you will get the gorgeous view of Seneca Lake across the yacht basin and the hotel's own beautifully-designed grounds.

There are lots of amenities here, from the luxuriously comfortable beds, pillows, and linens, to the large bathrooms with their sinfully indulgent walk-in marble showers to the delicious Seattle's Best coffee offered every morning in the hallways on every floor (right by the elevator; fill your cup to take it with you or enjoy it in your room). We loved ending our days at the Coldwater Bar, with its excellent and very well-priced selection of Finger Lakes wines. Inside or out, the ambience is friendly and convivial, but you just can't beat having a wonderful glass of dry Riesling or a moody Cabernet Franc on the covered patio overlooking Seneca Lake. Our dinner at the pleasantly bustling Blue Pointe Grille was also superb, emphasizing freshness, delicate spicing, and attentive service. We come to the Glen for the club racing at the historic Formula 1 track, but we always take the opportunity to sample the Finger Lakes wines. Many vineyards and tasting rooms are just a short lakeside drive away, and you're just about 20 minutes from the highly regarded Suzanne's restaurant in Lodi. All in all, the Harbor Hotel is a great place to stay, eat, drink, and enjoy the beautiful Finger Lakes.

Room Tip: Special occasion? Treat yourself to the double queen lake view with the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review about our property and for highlighting our luxurious spa inspired bathrooms, we sincerely appreciate it. We are thrilled to learn that you had a thoroughly enjoyable time with us, and also very honored that you speak so highly about our service.

We are very proud of our staff! Your comments will serve as an inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards that we aim for.

We look forward to the pleasue of a return visit.

Warm regards,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in a couple of places over a wedding weekend and extended stay in the Finger Lakes. This hotel was absolutely the best of the best. First, it is new and it shows. The rooms were just gorgeous. Shower was huge, great water pressure, and nicely done. The décor was up to date. The view was amazing. Great view of Seneca Lake. If it was summer and warmer weather we would have gotten a room with balcony.

The management was great. Check in was good - room wasn't ready but they took our number and we had a drink at the bar. Very nice bar. Lots of New York wines to sample. Average hotel bar prices. Management called after check in to make sure everything to our liking.

Beds were extremely comfortable and hotel provided a turn down service. Nice fire pit out back to relax by. Indoor pool and Jacuzzi, which we did not use but looked nice.

You can walk to Main Street of Watkins Glen from here. We had dinner right next door at the Harbor. Excellent food. I did see several people at the hotel eating while we had a drink in the bar and overheard great comments about the food.

If you are in the Finger Lakes, touring wine country, and have a choice of high end places to stay, this is the one. Very convenient to all of the wineries.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms have spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn G, General Manager at Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback from your first experience at The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our luxurious guest rooms, the beautiful view of Seneca Lake and our central location.

More importantly, I am happy to hear that our service exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to share your thoughtful comments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

All the best,

Carolyn Guyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Address: 16 North Franklin Street, Watkins Glen, NY 14891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel has been awarded a four diamond rating from AAA -The American Automobile Association. This distinction is given to hotels with refined and stylish accommodations and a high level of service and attention to detail. This award makes the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel the top rated hotel in Watkins Glen, New York. At the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, our staff is proud to offer all our guests outstanding service! The hotel offers a variety of deluxe accommodations including six luxurious suites. We offer nightly turndown service, an indoor pool, fitness center and our professional concierge is on call to assist you and your family in planning your Watkins Glen vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watkins Glen Harbor Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.