We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with widely varying seasonal room rates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
16 North Franklin Street, Watkins Glen, NY 14891   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Watkins Glen
New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with widely varying seasonal room rates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Room rates can vary from modest in the midweek winter to very high in the weekend summer. Rooms available by lake/village view, bed style, sofa bed, patio. Property and room was top notch. Comfortable bed and couch. Hard surface room floor rather than carpet. Large walk-in shower. Table and straight back chairs rather than desk/chair. Morning coffee service by each floor's elevator rather than in-room coffee maker. Modestly priced restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    461
    111
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
129
333
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, NY
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Located right at the foot of Seneca Lake and overlooking the marina, this hotel is definetly the upscale choice for the region. Built a couple of years ago, the hotel still looks brand new. Room accomodations are generously sized and in spite of a major event (Ice Bar) going on and our room overlooking the venue, the room was almost ghostly quiet and comfortable. Staff was friendly and responsive (had an issue with the television and it was fixed within 10 minutes of my call to Guest Services.

Room Tip: A Lake View Room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amagansett, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I've been going to the race track at Watkins Glen for the past fifteen years and every motel or hotel in the area were poor at best. Since the Harbor Hotel opened, it's been a huge upgrade to the area. Rooms are beautiful with all the amenities you would expect from a top rated hotel, plus the bed and bedding are exceptional. While this is probably the most expensive hotel in the area, it's worth it. Life is too short to stay at bad hotels!

Staff is friendly and professional, and always recognizes me at check-in. Plenty of on site parking, and plenty of street parking should you be coming to the track with a trailer

Restaurant and bar are above par for the area so you don't have to leave the hotel for your meals.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I went away for a long weekend last weekend and stayed at the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel. We had a very nice time. The room was well appointed and we had an amazing lake view. No noise issues at all and bathroom was gorgeous with great amenities BUT NO TUB. This was very disappointing, even your basic holiday Inn has a tub. Also even though the wooden floors are pretty and beachy, they should have some area rugs in the room to make it more cozy and more comfortable to walk on(I knew about hard wood floors so I made sure to brinng slippers and was so glad I did. We did not use the pool or hot tub but they both looked nice, except that you would have to walk through the middle of the lobby to get to the pool. We did have an issue with our TV. Every single time we tried to turn it on it would be a problem and we had to call someone to assist. They knew about this issue and said the cable company wouldnt come unless they had enough complaints, so all weekend long we dealt with this, they did credit our bill $30 but still it was really annoying and I would expect better from such an expensive hotel. Turn down service was so great, chocolates and nice saying on card and they gave a us a bottle of Champagne with a card for our anniversary which was sooo nice. The restaurant is TOP NOTCH. It was so great to stay in this hotel and have such a great restaurant there, it was cold and after a long day of wine tasting it was so easy and still so special-FOOD WAS FABULOUS!! They also are very nice here. My boyfriend's care wouldnt start one morning and they gave him a jump and helped us out(it was sooo cold that one morning). It is such a lovely area and visiting all the various vineyards was just amazing!! This hotel is a great location for touring both sides of the lake. I really liked it and glad we stayed but when we go back we may try somewhere else for less money maybe.

Room Tip: definitely go for the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was a balmy July afternoon when we checked into the Glen Harbor. My boyfriend had called ahead and unbeknownst to me had gotten a discounted rate because he had told the desk clerk that he was going to propose to me that night. We had decided that we needed a little stay-cation after a really busy couple of weeks and I had no idea. Dinner at the in hotel restaurant was absolutely delicious. You get what you pay for though and it was amazing. I had a nice chardonnay with a cobb salad and he had an amazing steak with some beer. Later, I learned that the staff had even offered to take the ring to present with champagne at dinner but he had other plans. We went up to the room and it was around sunset and I was taking pictures of the lake (gorgeous views!) when I turned around and he was on his knees! The rooms are absolutely lovely and large and we had the option to eat breakfast outside under the umbrellas and it was perfect, even if I am a bit biased now!

Room Tip: Admiral's Suite has a lovely view of Seneca Lake, especially at sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkins Glen, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband surprised me with a one night stay at the "Hotel" for our anniversary. We are locals and go to the hotel quite often for fab food, divine drinks and good times with friends. Our overnight stay was just as incredible as a good drink and talk at the bar. First... GREAT RATES! Off-season rates are great here and on a Thursday night, it was a steal! You cannot get this kind of luxury for just a hair over $100 anywhere else! Then, when we arrived for check-in, we were given a complimentary upgrade to the Bridal Suite - WOW! We were stunned and very appreciative... then when we got to the room, there waiting was a bottle of a local Finger Lakes bubbly (which was delicious!) and an Anniversary card! The staff went WAY above and beyond with service and thoughtfulness on our special night.

You cannot go wrong coming to the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel any time of the year... but if you're looking for something special during the off-season or just need to conquer "cabin fever," vist the hotel and get treated like a million bucks - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Waterfront view rooms are wonderful - you can't beat the view of Seneca Lake and the Village Mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are looking for an utterly delightful hotel in which to stay to enjoy a wine weekend in the Finger Lakes, the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel is the one you want. From the warm welcome in the lobby to turn down service every evening, this hotel leaves nothing to be desired. Upon our recent check in we were pleased to find we were upgraded to a lake view room. The appointments in the room are pleasing to the eye and conducive to a good night's sleep when the time comes. Spacious enough for two couples, the beds were very comfortable, the linens top quality and housekeeping staff leaves nothing to be desired.

We dined in the restaurant, and found it to be very nice. My steak was prepared to perfection.

I would highly recommend this hotel for your Finger Lakes trips.

Room Tip: The lake view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel

Address: 16 North Franklin Street, Watkins Glen, NY 14891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Watkins Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel has been awarded a four diamond rating from AAA -The American Automobile Association. This distinction is given to hotels with refined and stylish accommodations and a high level of service and attention to detail. This award makes the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel the top rated hotel in Watkins Glen, New York. At the Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, our staff is proud to offer all our guests outstanding service! The hotel offers a variety of deluxe accommodations including six luxurious suites. We offer nightly turndown service, an indoor pool, fitness center and our professional concierge is on call to assist you and your family in planning your Watkins Glen vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watkins Glen Harbor Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.