We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watkins Glen State Park

Watkins Glen State Park
Watkins Glen, NY
607-535-4511
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Attractions in Watkins Glen
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The cascades of 18 waterfalls are the calling card of this state park.
Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“So beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We visited WGSP in the fall and it was absolutely beautiful! The changing of the leaves made for some beautiful pics! A definite must see!
The cost to get in is only $8 a carload...however, if you stay/park nearby and walk in, it is free!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    129
    17
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have been to Watkins Glen three times in my life. The first time i was about 12 years old. The second time in my early 30's and the last time was last summer. It was awesome every time. I recommend parking at the bottom and taking the shuttle bus to the top and walking down those 800 plus steps. Take your camera and make sure the battery is charged you will want to take lots of photos.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This park has everything a family with young kids wants. The playgrounds are state-of-the art, the pool is nice and well kept, the gorge is, well, gorgeous, and the camping areas are nicely spaced, well patrolled, and clean.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gift from nature.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent the day hiking the Gorge in the park. It was very scenic and enjoyed beautiful vistas.
It was like being inside mountain. I highly recommend it. There was no charge at this time of year however aI believe there is and entrance fee during the summer months.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“A gorge like no other”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very pleased to have stopped at Watkin Glen State Park on the last day of my trip in the Finger Lakes region. The 90 minutes walk up and down the gorge is really worth it. It must be beautiful in the spring with all the water racing to it. The gorge grail has been cut into the gorge to enable you to see all its splendours. The only negative is that it can get crowded. The state park has plenty of camping as well - although I didn't partake. If you stop in by car, take the time to take a spin on the 1948 Watkin Glen Grand Prix circuit (grandprixfestival.com) - 6.6 miles stroll around park and through town.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watkins Glen State Park also viewed

 

Been to Watkins Glen State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watkins Glen State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.