We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for our weekend getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging
Save Saved
You added Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging to your Saves list
3305 Salt Point Rd., Watkins Glen, NY 14891   |  
Hotel amenities
Emporium, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice place for our weekend getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We shared one of the two bedroom w/kitchenette places with another couple for the weekend. All the amenities were wonderful and the accommodations were great! Olga and her husband were very friendly. If you are expecting large inside areas, this is not the place for you but the outside areas are tremendous. Wish it was a little warmer so we could've enjoyed them. It was a great place to stay to "tour" the many wineries and breweries on Seneca Lake! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed in one of the tiny cabins in July for one night. It was very quiet and located off the beaten path. The dock on the lake was very nice if you just want to relax. The cabins are bunched together pretty tightly, but apparently well insulated because we didn't hear our neighbors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We needed to change our booking at the last minute due to needing to attend the funeral of one of my husband's co-workers. Olga was very sympathetic and allowed us to cancel one of the nights of our stay with no penalty. The property itself is very nice - very well kept and lots of thoughtful touches - it is apparent that the owners take great care in maintaining their property. If we were to stay there again we would ask for one of the larger cabins - although the 10'x16' cabin we stayed in was charming and exactly as Olga described it to me when I made the booking my husband and I found that it was a bit too small for us (nothing wrong with the cabin - it is just our personal preference to have a bit more space). The location is very convenient and we loved the tranquility of the dock area – particularly sitting on the swing and looking out at Seneca Lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We booked reservations here a few months back. The weekend we were stay one of my cousins passed away and we had to attend the wake. My wife spoke with Olga, who told us she was going to keep our deposit if we couldn't make it. My wife and she agreed that we would move our stay and we would stay there on Saturday, Sunday, and Monday. We had booked one of the small cabins, and Olga said she would upgrade us on Sunday and Monday to one of the larger cabins. She and her husband would move our luggage on Sunday and "take care of everything." When we arrived back Sunday afternoon, Olga told that she had "forgotten", someone had reservation for the cabin she was switching us to. Not only did she renege on her promise, she didn't offer a discount or any incentive to stay there. I think Olga found someone who would be staying longer than us and took the money, nevermind her principles. We found another motel with cabins and enjoyed the rest of our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Not many places are truly dog "friendly" more often it is only dog "tolerant". This place is truly dog friendly. The units are nicely maintained and comfortable. The location is quiet and the view is great. We will be coming back.

Room Tip: The two units that have 2 bedrooms have the best views and very nice porches. The large one bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We traveled over 700 miles to find our "Lakeside Cottage" not a cottage and 4 flights of steps to beach, across the street to a salt factory and railroad tracks. Came baack from site seeing to find host and dog and a man in our room.....Would not recommend this to my worst enemy...Definitly not as advertised....

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights this past week (end of June 2012). Two couples stayed in a two bedroom cabin. The cabin was spotless. Olga was wonderful. I called at least twice before we went to check on various things (bed sizes, d they have wifi, etc.) and she was always friendly and patient. When we were there, she stopped by each morning while we were having coffee on our deck and answered questions about the area, got us maps, gave us directions and recommended restaurants. I have never had that level of unasked for helpfulness outside of a B&B. Our deck had multiple chairs and tables. The lawn in front had a gas grill for our unit, and more chairs under a shady tree. Drinking coffee each morning while looking at the lake was great.
I do have a couple of cautions. The cabin is very small for four people to inhabit. It was fine for us, as we were seldom there and the outside space was so nice, but if you want to be inside for much of the time, you will be cramped. Also, the property is on a road that has more traffic than one would think. Lots of trucks go by. We were in the bedroom closest to the road, and slept with the window open. If you are a light sleeper, this could be a problem. I woke up the first night at 5:30 a.m. and between all the traffic and wondering why there would be so much traffic at that hour, it took awhile for
me to get back to sleep. The other nights I slept fine, however (and I'm sure the wineries we visited each afternoon had nothing to do with that!).

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging

Address: 3305 Salt Point Rd., Watkins Glen, NY 14891
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Watkins Glen
Also Known As:
Admiral Peabody`s Lakeside Lodging Hotel Watkins Glen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Admiral Peabody's Lakeside Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.