We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurant and staff outshine the rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental to your Saves list
Hotel Continental
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 rue Marechal Foch, 32100 Condom, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Condom
Gardnerville, Nevada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“restaurant and staff outshine the rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

small, quaint, aged rooms await up a narrow, winding staircase. Our room would have overlooked the very nice patio area, except the fire escape was in the way - making the room kind of gloomy and lacking sunlight.

Tiny room, with a small desk and wooden chair (read, uncomfortable) - but the bed was very comfy. Small bathtub with a shower attachment - but no shower curtain... what's up with that?

The staff was very nice, and spoke some english, some more than others - while the restaurant shined - wonderful food at a reasonable price - and their wine list, while small and predominantly local, was nice and affordable (Perier-Joet Rose champagne for 60 E - not bad).

The rooms were quiet once the restaurant shut down (as most dined al fresco, and as I mentioned, our room overlooked the patio) - bad note on room 11 - it was right next to the housekeeping closet - which meant that there was considerable banging around beginning at 8 AM.

However the price of the room was quite reasonable, so all things considered, you could do much worse if Condom is your base of opperation for the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    35
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
34
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
france
Top Contributor
419 reviews 419 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I didnt actually stay here but I hada great value lunch and the food was very good, the staff were pleasant so I would return here soon.
The name of the town maybe odd to some but rise above that and enjoy their hospitality and good food.
Jonathan Nettleton

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I went to Condom in August on a trip to the Gers. We stayed in the Hotel Continental for two nights. It was okay for us because we weren't really in the hotel that much, rather we were touring the area most of the day, having dinner then going to bed.

We were traveling with an 11-year old so we had two rooms with a common lockable hall door. The room was clean, but in my room where my friend and I were staying there was no door on the bathroom. Who doesn't put a door on a bathroom? It made it kind of awkward. The 11-year old had a door to his bathroom. I would ask specifically next time.

Otherwise it was walking distance to the village of Condom, which was very interesting. The Wifi was good and there was a little desk in the room so I could work a few hours. The breakfast coffee came from a machine, which I didn't care for. Also, there's no night porter. The desk is left totally unattended after 11 pm. I thought that was odd.

Don't expect anything but average from the Hotel Continental or you might be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a doored bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

All the staff were very polite, gentle and helpful. Jeanne was lovely.

The room was very hot - so too the weather - but the aircon needs upgrading in Room 14.

The room could also do with a curtain for the shower and a fridge for the water.

The food in the restaurant was the best we had during the trip (at a restaurant). We had a remarkable tomato salad at a friend's house. But the salads were great, the steak perfect, the puddings devoured. Great stuff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andernos-les-Bains, France
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Our room (as most rooms), faced the garden of the hotel, and was nice and quiet. It was white and spotless. Nothing wrong with it, rather nice in fact, in a hospital room sort of way. The same can be said about the staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: 20 rue Marechal Foch, 32100 Condom, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Gers > Condom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Condom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This well-established hotel in Condom consists of 25 air-conditioned rooms in calm surroundings, a beautiful courtyard and one suite room with private balcony. A relaxing place by the banks of the river Baise.The restaurant offers varied and regional cuisine where you can taste specialties of Gascony; The restaurant with is friendly atmosphere can welcome up 80 guests. On a warm summers day, you can enjoy the tasty food in our cool shaded garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.