We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lunch I ever had, a personal four star rating!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belcastel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont
12390 Belcastel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Belcastel
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best lunch I ever had, a personal four star rating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The view of the restaurant showing the approach from the medieval bridge with its Roman influence is quite interesting. That bridge is exactly a roman chariot wide showing where the influence is from. To get to the hotel you have to carefully cross that bridge, not with a typical large vehicle and yes, those are rocks jutting out from the bridge. However the story and review is about the fabulous food served and the manner in which it is served. Our lunch cost us 58 euros each and it is worth several times more. See images attached from the servings. In Paris this lunch would have been several hundred euros. The ambience in the room is that of a five star inn in any of the upscale restaurants throughout the world. The placement of each table is far enough from each other that you do not feel like you are being cramped. You can have a private conversation without fear of someone being nosey enough to hear you, if you converse in normal tone. The server gives you all the time you need and can answer any multitude of questions, including wine suggestions. Which are spot on, by the way. There was no rush between servings and the waiters are quite attentive to your pace and needs. See the attached menu and images. There was no single serving that was too much or even too little. Everything was prefect in preparation, appearance and utensils were replaced as each serving was being presented. My curiosity was piqued by the rock with the small slice in it and that was answered by the dessert serving, which you will carefully see in the images. Actually I was so blown away by the preparation and presentation of the escargot that I actually forgot to photograph it, and I am a photographer! I do have one caution. Do not view those images on an empty stomach. As I was putting them together for this review, I was instantly transported back to this restaurant a mere 24 km from Rodez and will tell you we will stop there again during our next visit to the area. This place is not to be missed for the fabulous that you will ever have anywhere. This is a place you really want to dress up for lunch for. Worth every euro and minute. The best lunch I have ever had!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
44
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I were travelling around Europe for 2 months so to help manage our expenses we decided to go to the restaurant but stay at the campsite by the river.

I was relying upon the gps to get us to the correct place, but unfortunately i didn't realise that there are 2 Belcastels in France that are approximately 2 hours apart. My girlfriend was getting a little testy as we drove from the incorrect Belcastel to the correct Belcastel but she became silent when she saw the little village by the river.

We put up our tent, got showered and then went to the restaurant.

The food at the restaurant was amazing with the staff very focused on providing a very high level of service. All the courses were very good, the cheese cart gave us the opportunity to try some local cheeses that we found quite difficult to find elsewhere in France. We had earlier been to a 3 Michelin star restaurant in Paris and the overall experience at Restaurant du Vieux Pont was just as good.

It was a quite unique experience, walking from the restaurant back to the campsite over the beautiful bridge in the middle of the village.

This was one of the highlights on our 2 month European holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We visited Belcastel last week and were lucky enough to dine in the restaurant. It was the best dinning experience we have experienced!Better than a 3 star restaurant we have eaten in. We will definitely go back to sample the delights of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Locale is very quaint, rooms very clean, great view of the river from room #7 and excellent breakfast. Great value in this small lovely village. Our room had a king size bed, AC and super quiet. Could not ask for a better place to rest...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

What a charming place. The small village is lovely. The hotel is great. Very clean, lovely modern rooms. All in tip top shape. Outdoors there are picnic tables along the river to enjoy. Our meal at the restaurant was wonderful. The best of our trip. Everything perfectly prepared and presented as well as impeccable service. I would highly recommend both the hotel and restaurant.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Wonderful stay in a most picturesque village. The owner directed us over the old narrow bridge and escorted us to our room. The room overlooked the river and bridge while the castle, perched on the hill above, kept watch over us. The room was large, had modern bathroom, toiletries and sitting area. We ate in the restaurant the second night. What a treat. Service was impeccable, the sommelier recommended the appropriate wines to compliment our dining choices, food and presentation outstanding..best lamb ever, the cheese service was great because we got to try local cheeses that we were not familiar with. Desserts were excellent. Needless to say, three and a half hours later, we were quite satisfied as we strolled over the bridge on a crisp clear evening. it was a lovely stay. It lived up to and beyond all the high acclaim.
I also recommend going up to tour the castle. Fascinating history and restoration. Self guided tour with a printed guide in several languages. Fairy tale views.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

located opposite the castle grounds next to the river.
Rooms are modern with stylish furniture and very spacious. An excellent and generous breakfast can be served in the garden next to the river (great!), in the room or in the small dining area. The breakfast order is filled in advance according to your choice. The hotel restaurant (1 star Michelin, on the other side of the bridge) serves great food with a wonderful range of menus

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont

Address: 12390 Belcastel, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Aveyron > Belcastel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Belcastel
Also Known As:
hôtel Hotel Belcastel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont to your Saves list