We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great hotel and wonderful meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belcastel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont to your Saves list
, 12390 Belcastel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belcastel
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great hotel and wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

What a charming place. The small village is lovely. The hotel is great. Very clean, lovely modern rooms. All in tip top shape. Outdoors there are picnic tables along the river to enjoy. Our meal at the restaurant was wonderful. The best of our trip. Everything perfectly prepared and presented as well as impeccable service. I would highly recommend both the hotel and restaurant.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
57
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Wonderful stay in a most picturesque village. The owner directed us over the old narrow bridge and escorted us to our room. The room overlooked the river and bridge while the castle, perched on the hill above, kept watch over us. The room was large, had modern bathroom, toiletries and sitting area. We ate in the restaurant the second night. What a treat. Service was impeccable, the sommelier recommended the appropriate wines to compliment our dining choices, food and presentation outstanding..best lamb ever, the cheese service was great because we got to try local cheeses that we were not familiar with. Desserts were excellent. Needless to say, three and a half hours later, we were quite satisfied as we strolled over the bridge on a crisp clear evening. it was a lovely stay. It lived up to and beyond all the high acclaim.
I also recommend going up to tour the castle. Fascinating history and restoration. Self guided tour with a printed guide in several languages. Fairy tale views.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

located opposite the castle grounds next to the river.
Rooms are modern with stylish furniture and very spacious. An excellent and generous breakfast can be served in the garden next to the river (great!), in the room or in the small dining area. The breakfast order is filled in advance according to your choice. The hotel restaurant (1 star Michelin, on the other side of the bridge) serves great food with a wonderful range of menus

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night only as the hotel was full on the following night.
The village is really stunning and the room perhaps even more so. The restaurant is just so good that a week later we are still talking about it. The bedroom was of a very high quality and the breakfast is probably the best we have experienced any where in France. As the say, you get what you pay for, but don't tell everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here with my sister and daughter in late May. It was unusually cold and we had rain, sleet and hail. In spite of the weather we still thought this was the most beautiful place that we saw on our 3 week trip, which included the Aveyron, Languedoc and Provence areas as well as Paris. As we came down the dirt road to the village it looked like a place straight out of a fairy tale. The visit was special to us because our ancestors actually lived in this Chateau for hundreds of years. The hotel was clean, quiet and so very comfortable. The view from our large window was fantastic. We were greeted promptly and escorted to our room by Anthony, who also served us both nights in the restaurant and checked us out on the day we left. He could not have been nicer or more helpful. We could not have breakfast outside because of the weather but it was an extremely generous and delicious basket of breads and pastries with coffee and juice. A quiet and polite girl was patiently waiting for us to wake up and hustled to put the breakfast out as soon as she saw us. We ate both nights in the restaurant. One night we had the fixed price meal and the second night ordered a la carte. Everything was awesome and beautifully presented. We didn't know French wines so we were at the mercy of the sommelier who suggested very reasonable local wines that we were really pleased with. The meals came with a complimentary "amuse bouche" prior to the entree, another complimentary soup course and also complimentary "petits fours" at the end of the meal. We live in New Orleans and often find fine dining while traveling does not measure up to what we get at home but these were truly fantastic meals. Our visit to the castle was also extremely satisfying. It was incredibly well restored and presented. Of all the historic sites we visited the Chateau Belcastel was the only one where we felt that we could really envision the way in which the castle was inhabited. Truly a beautiful place!!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are similar and have a view. The hotel is located in a very historic buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We discovered this through tripadvisor and were not disappointed. This is a stunning village hidden away and perfect for a short break. The hotel was high quality and the restaurant was very good with attentive staff. We would definitely go back here.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
446 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

the total deal here- beautiful hotel across a medieval bridge with a 1 star michelin restaurant awaiting you for dinner

follow up with a beautiful breakfast the next morning and you have the kind of rural french stay people fantasize about.

i do all the time and i have been visiting there for 42 years. this is a very SPECIAL place

get off the beaten path and go

Room Tip: go for a superior room- only a bit more and worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belcastel
14.9 mi away
Les Fleurines
Les Fleurines
#1 of 4 in Villefranche-de-Rouergue
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
11.1 mi away
La Ferme de Bourran
La Ferme de Bourran
#1 of 19 in Rodez
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
13.9 mi away
L'Auberge du Chateau
L'Auberge du Chateau
#1 of 1 in Muret-le-Chateau
5.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Chateau de Longcol
Chateau de Longcol
#1 of 3 in Najac
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
14.9 mi away
Herve Busset Le Moulin de Cambelong
11.6 mi away
Le Senechal
Le Senechal
#1 of 1 in Sauveterre-de-Rouergue
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont

Address: , 12390 Belcastel, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Aveyron > Belcastel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belcastel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
hôtel Hotel Belcastel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.