We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful....just beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belcastel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont to your Saves list
12390 Belcastel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belcastel
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful....just beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel is just gorgeous, set on the bank of a river the sound of running water is a lovely backdrop. The room was very modern, clean and spacious. There was a mini bar, with room in the fridge for your own things if needed. The bed was comfortable the bathroom well appointed. We ate in the restuarant, which is on the other side of the river. We ordered a reduced degustation menu as 5 courses was beyond us. We ended up with 4 courses along with canapes served with champagne to start (delicious) and 2 amuse bouches during the meal. The food was very good, and very reasonably priced considering the quality.
We did not order breakfast as it needed to be ordered for a specific time, the night before. We did see other guests enjoying theirs in the garden beside the river.
The village of Belcastel is well worth the visit, it is charming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you did not know that Belcastel is real, you would think it was created by Disney. The village along the Tarn is a fairyland with an ancient bridge, medieval castle, stone buildings, a clear running river, all tucked away in a forest covered valley. It is PERFECT! The hotel is owned by the same people who own the one-star Michelin restaurant across the bridge. With that in mind you expect quality and they provide it: excellent service, beautiful accommodations, attention to detail and a superior Continental breakfast. We dined in the restaurant twice. The female chef/owner received her Michelin star in 1991. Her mother owner the restaurant before her. The dinner was superb both times in cuisine, wine and service. The Averyon region where Belcastel is located is spectacularly beautiful: midieval unspoiled hill-top villages, rolling hills filled with waves-of-grain, beautiful (yes, beautiful) cows, unusual looking horses...and few tourists. Move over Provence...the Averyon has it all.. .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whately, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My mother and I stayed two nights at the Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont last March and we still talk about the room, the breakfast, and the dinner to this day. It was the most pleasant two days I've ever spent ... and that is despite a slight drizzle the entire time we were there. The reception desk was so overly helpful (though it was not at all busy) and accommodating, the dinner was too delicious for words, and the room was cozy and practical and classy all at the same time. In the future, I would not advise going in March because the main attraction of the town (the castle) was not yet open for the season.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

This hotel is in possibly one of the most beautiful towns I have ever seen. Belcastel is a tiny French village with a great castle on top of the hill looking down on the town and river. The 15th century bridge is amazing and there is a great charm about the place. The restaurant at the hotel is expensive but the food is very inventive and overall excellent. Comfortable sleep and friendly staff. Definitely a hidden gem! Didn't opt for breakfast, instead stopped at a patisserie a few town away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011 via mobile

from the moment we crossed the "vieux pont" to the hotel we were entranced by this place. The village is amazing, the restored chateau is a must visit, the tiny hotel and its riverside garden are perfect. The degustation meal while not cheap was a memorable and unique experience

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed one night in August 2011. This is an ideal location in modern accommodation overlooking the river and the old bridge with the main village on the other side of the water. Pleasant service at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Belcastel is quite rightly judged to be one of the most beautiful villages in France. Consequently we gathered that it can be quite busy in August but in late June is was quiet and only the noise of amorous frogs disturbed the calm. The Hotel du Vieux Pont consists of a restaurant on one side of the river and a guesthouse on the other. The food served in the restaurant is very imaginative and delicious and the service is perfectly judged. Our room in the guesthouse was splendid; light, large, squeaky clean, modern and very comfortable. Eating the delicious breakfasts outside beside the river has to go down as the best morning experience possible. We stayed two nights here and it was certainly a highlight of our recent holiday; the combination of the wonderful hotel and the beautiful backdrop of the village made it an experience to cherish.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont

Address: 12390 Belcastel, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Aveyron > Belcastel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belcastel
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
hôtel Hotel Belcastel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant du Vieux Pont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.