We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Remparts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Remparts to your Saves list
Hotel Les Remparts
6 cours Louis Pons Tande, 09500 Mirepoix, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Mirepoix
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have spent two one-night visits here recently: one in early December and one just before Christmas. Don’t be put off by the rather undistinguished exterior because inside the hotel has been very tastefully decorated, retaining many original features of the old building (beams, terracotta floors) augmented by modern, understated decoration and furnishings. Our “standard” rooms, up two flights of stairs, were a bit small but perfectly serviceable, with comfortable beds on both occasions. The bathrooms were modern and clean, but the walk-in showers lacked doors, resulting in lots of water on the bathroom floor.

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and can recommend it highly. The cuisine is modern in style, very well-prepared and, most importantly, consistently delicious. The service was friendly and efficient.

Our breakfasts were typical French hotel buffets (bread, cereal, yoghurt, cheese, sausage, juice and coffee), but with better than normal ingredients; the cheese and sausage weren’t “industrial” but were locally sourced organic products.

The hotel seems to be well-run with very welcoming and helpful staff. I found I’d forgotten a UK to French power adaptor; when I asked if they could help, in short order I was provided with one to borrow .

Overall, we enjoyed our two stays very much. Our return visit testifies to our good experience the first time around. Given the modest price, Les Remparts delivers quite good value. Since our visits were out of season when the hotel was almost empty, I can’t vouch for what it would be like in high season. I hope we can try it again this summer to find out.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are a bit small but very reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    13
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
43
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very friendly and attentive staff, and the best meal in 6 weeks travelling in France and Spain (and incredidbly reasoably priced). Standard rooms are small at only 19m2 but this is made crystal clear on their website, so if he'd wanted a bigger room the previous reviewer should have booked a superior room at 25m2, and not complained here. On-street parking right outside the hotel. Restaurant is closed Sunday evening and hotel is on a (very quiet) one way street, two minutes walk from the medieval centre of town, and 45 minutes drive to Les Grottes de Niaux 13000 year old cave paintings. Do not miss out on this superb hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great little boutique hotel beautifully located a stones throw from the covered square in Mirepoix.

Rooms a little basic - our junior suite was a bit junior; shares the French lack of a shower curtain, for example, and has no aircon.

The hotel restaurant served one of the best meals I have had in a long time. Just magnificent - and all for 28 euros + wine. Innovative but with traditional local ingredients; small. nouvelle cuisine portions of delicious, well prepared and presented food that left you wanting just one more bite. And service that deserves recognition. Just excellent.

Only snags, we found out by accident the restaurant is shut Sunday and Monday nights. We got locked out as no-one had thought to give us the door key code for the main door. Breakfast, by Monday morning, had dwindled and the yoghurts had gone mouldy. Everyone has the right to days off but when you run a hotel, you get those days covered.

I would still heartily recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

A boutique hotel with a very popular restaurant, very smartly decorated, very clean and staffed by friendly and efficient people.
We were there for four nights in the middle of May, our first night was a Monday and we feared the worst as, though our room was fine, large modern and clean with a super king size bed and well fitted bathroom, we seemed to have the whole hotel to ourselves. Furthermore only on arrival did we find that the restaurant is closed on a Monday.
However the hotel arranged for us to eat elsewhere on our first night and then it filled up rapidly as the week went on and we were very pleased with our stay.
We overlooked the front door but we, unlike David (one of the other reviewers),had no problems with garbage men and slept splendidly.
We ate in the restaurant twice, very good food very well served and obviously well known as it was busy with non-residents on both occasions.
The only downside of our visit was that we had a fairly major storm while we were there which put the hotel boiler out of action for most of one day so no hot water. Not their fault and they had a plumber on the job quickly so all was well in the end.
Certainly a hotel I would recommend for a 2 to 4 night stay, well situated right in the village,but just far enough off the main square for a bit of peace and quiet.

Room Tip: If you choose to eat in one of the many outdoor restaurants in and around the lovely village square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Boutique hotel, beautifully renovated but the interior decorator who desgned the bedroom should try living in it for more than a night. Lovely bathroom but nowhere to put anything - not even a hook for the supplied robes. Our room overlooked the fromt door and a busy street, visited by the garbage collection truck every morning at 4am. . Room had no aircon and when we were there in late August there was no option but to leave the window open..... There was nowhere to relax outside in the fresh air during the day. Staff were mostly invisible and (mostly) less than friendly. The only time we saw most of them was when they partied outside our window till 2am. There was no-one on the desk when we checked out next morning after breakfast..... Breakfast passable if the staff could be bothered to lay it all out. Didn't try the restaurant - there were more attractive alternatives in the lovely medieval town centre nearby. Parking can be a problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and were happy with everything. The rooms are large, comfortable and very clean.
We booked into the restaurant the first night and could not believe what a gem we had found. We had travelled through France eating in some very good restaurants - including one with Michelin Stars, but I can say hands down, this was the most amazing food we had on our trip. The service was exceptional, and the dining room tastefully elegant. The first night we had a 39 euro tasting menu, which was modern innovative and delicious. The second night (cancelled plans to eat in Carcassonne to eat here again!!) we went for the Chefs tasting menu which consisted of 6 courses of perfectly executed dishes sourced from fresh local produce. We eat out a lot, but are rarely 'wowed' like we were eating here. It is worth making a visit to Mirepoix just to eat at this wonderful restaurant.
Thankyou to the owners & Chef for a wonderful & unforgetable experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Remparts

Address: 6 cours Louis Pons Tande, 09500 Mirepoix, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Ariege > Mirepoix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Mirepoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Les Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Remparts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.