We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Commerce

Le Commerce
20, Cours Docteur Chabaud, Mirepoix, France
05 61 68 10 29
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 24 Restaurants in Mirepoix
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Carcassonne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I have been to this restaurant numerous times for lunch, and I've always had a great meal.
The other evening I was invited by friends for dinner. We sat in the courtyard under the canopy of the trees, which was delightful on a warm summers evening.
The food was excellent, the staff were very friendly, and in particular our waitress, Silvie, who added some fun to your evening!
A great place to dine, lunch or dinner, summer or winter.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    42
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Le temps perdu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Like some other reviewers, I have known this restaurant for over twenty years. In this case, it is wonderful that nothing changes. Dinner at Le Commerce provides a visit to a by-gone day; that is to say, it is charming. Part of that charm is the courtyard on a summer's evening. The massive trees provide a canopy of ambiance, and woe to the beetle that threatens those aged oaks. According to an old-fashioned custom, your oder is taken by someone superior to your server - in this case it is typically a family member; the daughter-in-law or grand-son of Madame. Then the server comes and reads the note that has been placed on the table, and the exceptional service begins. By all means have an apero. In this part of the world, order a muscat, or try an hypocras (a medieval herbal aperitif). By the same token, you may want to have "le lotte a l'hypocras", a house speciality. I usually have the moules gratinees, but this could also be a good place to try cassoulet (you MUST have it at least once in this part of the world), or magret de canard, another regional dish.
Will you say this is the best restaurant at which you have eaten in France? No. Will you brag to your gourmand friends about your experience? Probably not. Will you remember your delightful experience under a leafy canopy, enjoying a France of long ago? Most definitely.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirepoix, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“traditional french dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

good food, traditional french menu.
Nice courtyard. pleasant atmosphere.
Good value for money. For a nice evening with your whole family.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We visited in March after it had been recommended by locals. We had exactly the same experience as chefluvvie. The restaurant was almost empty and the food was poor and lacklustre.Perhaps they were just going through a resting period,before the season commenced.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent family hotel and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have been coming here for 20 years and the same family still run it. I have not used the rooms but friends have spent the night there and say they are very good. We always get a big welcome when we come here, and the food is very good and value for money excellent. Unlike so many restaurants in this part of France the food is cooked in the restaurant with fresh produce. So often one is aware of the micro wave pinging and instant frozen food served. There will soon be a law in France to stop this habit. The French have realised that their food is no longer the best in the world and in rural restaurants most of the food has been cooked from freezer to microwave to the table. Not so with the Commerce. Sit outside in the summer lovely atmosphere and attentive service. If you want a trip down memory lane when French restaurants in the country served good family food this is the place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Commerce also viewed

 

Been to Le Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Commerce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.