We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly a Wildlife experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mweya Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mweya Safari Lodge
Save
You added Mweya Safari Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mweya Safari Lodge, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greyton, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not exactly a Wildlife experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Whilst slightly less obviously a hotel than others in this group, still definitely not a "lodge".
Wild life drive a complete fiasco in which the driver passed endless great sightings including a Crowned Eagle, in his total hurry to take us to see Lions, which of course had moved since the morning, absolutely awful and grossly overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    113
    34
    10
    5
See reviews for
45
112
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Mweya Safari Lodge for one night during our 5 days in Uganda and loved the location, overlooking the Kazinga Channel, and the very welcome swimming pool, especially welcome after travelling for several hours through the Queen Elizabeth Park. We found the food to be delicious, our room very comfortable and our stay generally excellent. We took a boat cruise on the channel, which connects Lake George with Lake Edward, and is full of wonderful wildlife, from hippos to elephants to incredible bird life. A very welcome and welcoming place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a luxury tent recently and was the ideal position to watch wildlife come down to the Kazinga channel through the day. The lodge ticked all our boxes with friendly staff and delicious food (we were on full board package). We paid a bit extra for a luxury tent which meant we were able to sit on our verandah area and watch the wildlife. My husband stopped counting at 66 elephants coming to the water.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
531 reviews 531 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here two nights in a luxury tent. It really is the only hotel in the area as per our understanding so we did not have a choice, it was a really nice room / tent with exceptional views and a great balcony yet the hotel was rather impersonal and the food was just average. The service was lacking, one of the check in attendants got frustrated when we asked him something twice. My husband who never complains said of our waitress one day "well she really likes her job...not", she obviously had a bad day or perhaps just did not care one iota. There were a handful of good employees that made you feel at home and welcome which was nice. We were told that another hotel is being built in the area so they best educate and train the employees on customer service. We probably would have had an entirely different feel for the hotel if the service and food had of been better. If you go don't miss the boat safari!

Room Tip: Luxury Tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey,Channel Islands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Mweya Lodge in Queen Elizabeth National Park was our home for 3 nights. The lodge was a wildlife experience in itself!

When we arrived there were warthogs grazing outside the front door. Checking in there were flycatcher birds perched on the sofas.

However, on our second evening there we experienced something truly unbelievable. It was about 6 in the evening and my wife and I were sitting on the porch outside our room when we were called over by a member of staff who was stood about 200 metres away. 'Look down there' the staff member exclaimed. Looking down the grass bank in the direction of the two luxury tents I confessed that I could not see what the staff member was desperate to show us. Getting me to crouch down he pointed to beneath the stilts of one of the luxury tents. There staring back at me was a fully grown lioness!!! 'Take some pictures, take some pictures' were the staff members' instructions. I duly obliged before swiftly heading back to the safety of our room.

The slightly concerning thing was the fact that earlier that day we had taken a stroll around the lodge grounds and had actually taken a nose in through the windows of the luxury tents - we knew they were not occupied at the time I may add. Whether the lioness was around that area at the time we will never know.

That evening we dined with an Australian couple that we had met on our boat ride on Lake Mburo. After dinner we were leaving reception having been advised that we would be escorted back to our rooms due to lions being spotted in the grounds of the lodge - as we were all too well aware. As we emerged from reception we asked staff member escorting us back to the room whether the lions had been sighted again. 'No' he said 'but we have a new visitor on the lawn'. Sure enough on the lawn to the right of the reception area was a hippo the size of a tank grazing on the grass!!

The boat trip on Kazinga channel from the lodge is a must and allows you to get up close to all the wildlife you view on a daily basis from the grounds of the lodge. Up close and personal with elephants, hippos and buffalo.

Mweya was another lodge with view to die for. Breakfast was a particular joy as you were joined by numerous birds all desperate to savour the breakfast delights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
1,075 reviews 1,075 reviews
184 hotel reviews
Reviews in 350 cities Reviews in 350 cities
655 helpful votes 655 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We took a luxury safari tent which was very comfortable and had good channel views to buffalo and hippo on the other side.

We also spotted warthog in the hotel grounds.

However it just isnt my kind of place and felt large and impersonal compared to other places we stayed. The food was ok, but we noticed that this was the only place we stayed in uganda that doesnt give lunchboxes to drivers - not sure why.

The decor is a bit retro, including the safari tent which is puzzling seeing as they are new!

Obviously it is the most convenient place to stay for channel cruises.

Basically, it was fine and the room very comfortable but for the money we stayed in more memorable places on the trip.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewer, Maine
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent just one night here in January 2012. The food was very good--buffet style. There was plenty of it as well. The lodge sits up on a hill overlooking the lake and plains in the distance. It really is a beautiful location. The lake cruise was well worth the time getting up close to so many animals and birds along the shoreline and also seeing the local fishermen in the long canoes. Excellent! The room was very comfortable and we felt very safe. In the morning most folks meet in the lobby for some coffee and a roll before heading out on a game drive. This didn't work very well. The coffee was running out constantly and there weren't enough rolls for everyone. Beyond that mess, it was a very positive experience. I also had a massage, something I rarely do, but it was one of the best I have ever had and wished I was going to be there one more night so I could do it again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mweya Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mweya Safari Lodge

Address: Mweya Safari Lodge, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mweya Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Mweya Safari Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Hotel Mweya Safari
Mweya Safari Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mweya Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.