We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location in our Christmas travels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of At The River Ishasha

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
At The River Ishasha
Save
You added At The River Ishasha to your Saves list
Kanungu | PO Box 25, Kihihi, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Gulu, Uganda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best location in our Christmas travels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We camped ,setting up our large tent on the edge of the river next to the weaver birds . It was idyllic and even when offered an upgrade ( thankyou ) we preferred to stay where we were .
As said by others the food was great - sweet and savory pumpkin pie and great fish. The hospitality provided by Aex , Kelly, Jack and team was great . The raised bar and eating area provided lovely views across the surrounding countryside .
John the in house guide took us around the park and we saw a lion asleep in a tree and lots of other wildlife - he is a great guide .
Definitely on our list for next Christmas and hopefully sooner.

Room Tip: Camp beyond the showers .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

As others have mentioned; the chef at this place is a catch. He prepared a terrific goat-stew and an even better fish-dish on the fly (it took a few hours but still impressive as it was low season and we had not booked our stay upfront... and some remarkable scrambled eggs on homemade (multigrain) bread for breakfast. So simple and SO good....more value for money than most places I´ve visited in rural Uganda. Also: The view and the ambience at the terrace is superb and staff is both hard working and nice. If there is a decent supply ( more than 2 min..) of hot water next time I visit this site will definitely earn my top rating on TA.

FYI:despite some rumours regarding "very bad road conditions" @theriver can be reached by a 2-door RAV even after an insanely heavy november rainstorm....!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just got back from our stay. Was a great experience! The staff are friendly, the food was amazing (we were even lucky enough to have a sit-in-the-river lunch). Rooms are "rustic" and charming - en-suite option is great, but the outside showers were pretty cool too! The bar area is super chilled out, as is the bonfire set up down on the riverfront. Very relaxing, and great value for money. The place is still being improved / expanded, so looking forward to visiting again. Game drives: we used John, the lodge guide, he was a great source of information on the area and wildlife! On our night drive we went with a UWA guide - nowhere near as good! So definitely recommend taking John along with you.

Room Tip: Personally prefer the en-suite option - well worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights.
We were booked for the lazy camping but when we got there we upgraded to the Cabins (no ensuite) for $10 each extra. More space and nice little deck to sit on by the river.
We were the only ones there apart from the owners Alex and Kelly so it was very quite and relaxing. I loved just hanging out there listening to the river and watching the Corbis Monkeys in the trees across the river. Had dinner down on the beach with a bonfire.
The resturant and bar area has great views of the area and cold beer!!
Food is good and the staff friendly.
Special mention to the guide John who is passionate about the area and all wildlife. Make sure you take him with you for a game drive.
Sadly we missed out on the lions but saw heaps of Hippo, buffalo, cob, and also the heard of Bull Elephant.
The tents looked pretty comfortable and the showers and tiolets were fine although a couple of solar panels for hot water would be a good idea.
They are still building up the accomodation, adding more ensuite cabins and some more hanging day beds and also a woodfire pizza oven.
It's great value, close to the national park, and just a great place to relax.
Thanks Alex and Kelly for being great company.

Room Tip: All accomodation is good... Just pick what's within your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night after our game drive and had an amazing time!! The staff were so friendly and welcoming and the food was excellent. It's definitely great value for money and the most reasonably priced place in the area, what you get for your money is fantastic!! Sitting by the river enjoying a beer and having dinner outside by a bonfire was absolutely the most relaxing thing to do. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!!! Thank you so much!!!

Room Tip: It really depends on your price range, I stayed in one of the tents with beds and they were great bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbride Wells
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the fledgling En Suite room , really well appointed for the price and the food at the lodge is excellent . I would recommend a quiet sit on the private riverside beach just to watch the nature go by , if you have a good pair of Bins or hi Zoom camera you've a great chance of Monkeys in the trees on the opposite bank and the variety of bird life is stunning. I am told there are 623 types of bird in the local environs to compliment Tree climbing Lions and Leopards in the game park, hope you have better luck than me persuading the Malachite Kingfishers to pose for a photo. The bar area makes a wonderful place after a couple of game drives to yarn about what you saw with other interested guests . Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in August 2013. Two of our party opted to camp ($10 per person) and two of us opted for some luxury after a long week of camping. We shared one of the huts which had two double beds inside. Very very comfortable beds with mosquito nets and electricity. we also had a little decking area which looked out over the river and swing seat. Lovely!!

The location of this place is fantastic, you really feel like you are in the wilderness with the animals all around you.....but at the same time you feel safe with the night watchman with his bow and arrow! Only slight glitch was the road in.....GET IT SORTED!!! it was a double nighmare because of the rain, at one point we wondered if we would ever get out!

Our hut included full board and the food was delicious....especially the breakfast....really set you up for the day. The food proved a slight problem for the others who were on more of a budget as it was rather pricey if you were not staying in the hut ($15 for dinner) . If you are planning on camping then bring plenty of food to cook up for youself. The other problem they encountered was that there was no covered area to cook if it was raining, with this in mind we though it would be great if they could build a little thatched area which could be used to cook under when the weather is unsavory.....(chimpanzee guest house in Kable NP FP have it nailed on that front).

Bathrooms were great....if a little far away from the huts. Now, the showers, fully functional but you need to have the confidence of a supermodel to brave taking your clothes off as they are very exposed, please please if you work here or own this place, get some shower curtains or a beaded shower curtain for the entrances.....also make the panelling higher and with less gaps....whilst its lovely to shower in the open and look at the scenery, its not lovely to think that guy who is serving you dinner has seen you butt naked looking for the soap. Nice idea but just not practical. This was such an issue for one of the girls we were with that she didn't shower the whole time we were there!

That said, this really is a great place to stay, its got a lot going for it and we were very happy that we stumbled upon it. Its obviously growing but its deffinitely heading in the right direction.....get in there before it gets pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to At The River Ishasha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The River Ishasha

Address: Kanungu | PO Box 25, Kihihi, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget Eco Lodge with 2 en-suite family cottages, 4 non en-suite cottages and 8 budget cottages for the money conscious travelers all with beautiful river and forest views. Well appointed shared toilet and shower facilities for the non en-suite accommodation. Large capacity campsite also with great river views. The lodge has close proximity to wildlife, friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere, good food and cold drinks. We are 10 minutes drive from the main Ishasha Sector entrance gate where the infamous tree climbing lions are often found lounging about in the spectacular fig trees. Ishasha is on the way to the Bwindi gorillas. This is a remote area and 4X4 vehicles are advised, although it is not absolutely necessary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At The River Ishasha Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At The River Ishasha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.