We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-range option with style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Kahendero Fishing Village | Kasese District, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mid-range option with style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This lodge was a nice surprise: the location is good (with beautiful view on a lake and less than half an hour by car from the game drive area), the decoration in the restaurant and in the cottages is simple but very stylish, the staff and the manager were friendly and very helpful (they organised all the activities we wanted to do), the food is ok, the swimming pool is small but nice. Some minor details can be improved but the lodge is new and they are working to improve it. Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syderstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

What a superb place....couldn't fault it at all. Beautiful place, stunning views of the lake and the mountain rwenzori, lovely rooms facing the lake and outstanding staff. Especially the village walk guide Roger. He knew just about everything, from bird calls to tiny insects. He was really knowledgeable about the village and queen Elizabeth national park and so interesting to listen to. This place is just absolutely fabulous! I would highly recommend it to everyone.........and I cant wait to go back. stayed 3 nights. (3 game drives ,1 boat cruise,1 village walk,1 explosion drive) to ensure you will be able to see all the animals (we saw tree climbing lions in ishasha, lions, elephant, hippo, crocodiles,forest hog,leopard,elephants,Buffalo.kobs,hyena,and a lots of birds). Everyone is extremely nice at ihamba safari lodge. I cant wait to go back

Room Tip: cottage 1 one is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Located just north of queen Elizabeth np this safari lodge exceeded our expectation. The individual cottages are very nice and the swimming pool provides a nice relief on a hot day. The staff are very keen to help and the manager welcomes feedback. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We were taken back by this place! It has a lovely setting by lake George, sparkling pool just outside, stunning rooms and such polite and friendly staff not forgetting the best bed we've ever slept in. we were part of a tour so prices were included in our trip so cant comment on that. Reading other reviews it seems that the place is now up to standards and the lodge is running and presenting its self the way it wants, it is definitely the finished article now. Food was brilliant and very filling, was very pleased when the chef came out and asked how dinner was. I'd definitely recommend this place if visiting the QENP one of the highlights of our trip to Uganda for sure!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The food is the most expensive in all Uganda, if you consider the quantity and the price and beside that it is still very expensive. The staff is so lazy they charge an excessive price for the laundry of underwear because they don't like to wash underwear. There's a pool if you have the time to have it filled. We stayed there 2 nights and when we arrived there they were already filling the pool, but when we left they were still filling .... Here we payed the highest price for a Nile Special in whole Uganda. When you asked for a gin tonic, they were always out of gin or out of tonic. To keep it short, the rooms are bad, altough they look very good when you arrive, the food is bad and the service is also very bad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ihamba, Owner at Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for the response, it's what makes us improve on the services and makes us better, unfortunately your review is a bit late given the fact that you where at the lodge in July but we really appreciate it.
You have rather exaggerated the price of food at the lodge: the cost of a 3 course meal is charged at only $20 and if you compare with other lodges, they charge about $50 for the same meal.

Today we have greatly improved our staff through strict training. We employed local people with in the community, the lodge being an initiative to develop the community, so that we train them and create jobs for the locals.With the expertise of our new manager, Joseph the staff are well managed and the services have greatly improved.

The swimming pool had a crack , and we have reconstructed it. Therefor you will definitely enjoy the pool when you come to the lodge.

Thank you all for your continued support and we promise to provide the very best services during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I'm not sure this place is ready for customers. Either that or they don't know if they want to be an upscale safari lodge or a midscale hotel. It looks like it is still under construction, or else they started to build a high-end place but then ran out of money halfway before finishing it. The entrance road and gate look abandoned. The pool (which I was told was still being built) was full of water so dirty I could not even see the bottom. There were open cables, pipes and electrical wires laying around the grounds Half of the light switches in the room did not work. The doors and windows looked homemade and temporary. There is no real reception desk. The generator faces the cottages (noisy) and only supplies intermittent power. There is nothing else nearby, as well as no bar, TV or internet if you need them. The food situation was a mess. My first three meals were veggie quiche, veggie stir fry and veggie curry. They only gave me more options after I complained about the lack of variety. In the end, they did get me a local fish for dinner (they are only 200m from Lake George), but even that seemed to be a inconvenience for them. The staff seemed confused about their roles and how to manage the place. I think they need more time to figure out what they want to be before I could recommend this place to anyone.

Note: since they are close to Lake George, they are beseiged by lake flies every night, which swarm to the lights at the lodge and cover everything inside and outside of the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ihamba, Owner at Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for the review.
We opened up this year in January 2011 and at the moment we are a mid scale safari lodge and we are targeting to become luxury. We always inform travel agent to brief the clients that the place is still under construction of which we are due to complete by 1st December 2011. We have constructed a reception at the entrance of the lodge in the craft shop and looking forward to receiving all our guests warmly. We only use the generator on rare cases when the solar system is not fully charged, this month being a rainy season the system some times fails to get fully charged. We have actually changed the position of the generator to the lodge entrance gate which is about 400m away from the cottages and the main building of the lodge. We normally put TV’s in client’s rooms on request. In our communications with travel agents we always ask them if clients have any special diet requests so that we can organize them the most perfect meals for there stay. But when we don’t get any response about that, we choose on vegetable meals for the first meal, and the guest are given the opportunity to request for any meal of their choice.
We are getting a new manager form South Africa who will be at the lodge by 1st December so clients can be sure of the best services during your stay.

Thank you very much for your continued support and we promise to provide the very best services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

When we pulled up I was impressed. Grand safari style reception hall, 100 meters from the lake with full view, and VERY accomodating staff. We were taken to our cottage where we continued to be pleased. Modern, clean, and SPACIOUS room with old style tub situated in front of lakeview window. Extra touches such as slippers and plush robes were a welcome suprise. A huge balcony provided a view of the lake without obstruction and lovely birds flying around. We found it quite peaceful to relax here after our game drives.

The place would be perfect if they could work out a few kinks.
1.) The power, electricity, and hot water are only available from 7 a.m. to midnight. This is OK, unless you wake during the night to use the facilites or have an early morning departure and need to pack. Then you find yourself stumbling around in the darkness with your cellphone. Candles or Paraffin lamps could have helped here. In their defense spuratic hot water and power seem to be the norm throughout this area, and come 6-7 a.m. the shower was HOT, as promised.
2.) Mosquitos were not a problem in the room IF you keep lights low and doors shut. Now, the problem becomes air circulation. I understand not having fans due to electricity shortage, but screens on the large sliding doors would have made the room far less stuffy during the night.
3.) Be comfortable with who you are rooming with. The toilet doors are luvers and large glass panes. Full sound and sight are available to everyone in the room!!!!
4.) Very HIGH laundry cost. Easily it was triple what we paid elsewhere.

To end on a positive note. The chef asked what we wanted for dinner. Beef and chicken were the choices, but when my husband asked for fish. He said "no problem " I'll go down to the lake". We saw him an hour later headed back to the kitchen with FRESH catch!!! We also woke at 5 a.m. to the sounds of Hippos outside our cottage. Truly a feeling of being in the bush!!! While there were above mentioned issues, overall, I was pleased with the accomodation and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge

Address: Kahendero Fishing Village | Kasese District, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid range Safari Lodge at the Shores of Lake George in Queen Elizabeth National Park. Come be at One With Nature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.