We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis with excellent food and service near Queen Elizabeth Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katara Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Katara Lodge
Save
You added Katara Lodge to your Saves list
Mbarara - Kasese highway, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An oasis with excellent food and service near Queen Elizabeth Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Katara Lodge was wonderful. We only stayed two nights but had a great experience. The food was awesome. The ambiance and service were terrific. The rain shower overlooking the savanna and the roll-out bed were nice touches. Close enough to QEP and activities around there -- definitely beats other options. No complaints whatsoever. I would highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    24
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
69
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Just came back today after staying for 2 nights at Katara along with two children of mine (one is 4 yrs old and the other 8 months). Starting from the in detailed directions to Katara from Kigali from where we drove to the packed lunches on our way back, the experience at Katara was amazing.
The service was the most noticeable thing with everyone trying to give their best starting from Pascal to Nicholas to Julie. Manage Pascal is a nice young boy ready to help out in the best way possible. He even drove us to the Game drive in the park and we saw a Lioness.
The food was well arranged with a nice menu with a personal choice too. We liked the flexibility of the time that they were ready to serve. They even served nice African tea at 5.30 in the morning to my wife before the Game Drive. They made custom made for my 4yr old boy and also took care of the little by almost babysitting so that we could have a nice lunch/dinner.
The location is one of the best...better than anyone else I suppose. Great scenery right from your bed and also from bath....
Kudos to the team.....We will definitely plan again and recommend to many of them going from Rwanda to QENP.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This Shangri-La of Uganda is a wonderful place. Beautiful views, excellent management and staff, the coolest cottages and bar space ever,, and incredible meals. Need transport in and out of local village and to Queen Elizabeth N.P., but provides good access to both park and local culture. I recommend this place for anyone wanting a special Ugandan adventure that you will always remember.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We absolutely loved our stay at Katara and wished we could have stayed longer!

The cabins are lovely and have glorious views of the QENP savannah.

The food was fresh and delicious and the staff went out of their way to ensure that we were happy and well looked after. They even arranged a private dining area for us at the last minute request of my partner. It was the perfect place for his marriage proposal!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Everything in the other reviews is correct. There are very nice touches like the "starry bed" and the shower with a view over the plains. Manager and staff are very nice, food good. The reception area is attractive and the grounds well looked after. Exclusive atmosphere because of the small number of rooms.

The main negative is the lack of electricty in the rooms. I know it is supposed to be romantic with oil lamps but its not very practical packing in the dark and they have a generator which provides electricity at night to the reception / restaurant so it would be feasible to connect up the rooms. My wife also was not a happy bunny when they forgot to wash some clothes we handed in for laundry and got them back wet (although they did knock 50% off the laundry bill which was already reasonably priced). Would still recommend and although it is expensive it seems better value than some of the other big lodges in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

My husband, adult son and I stayed here for three nights. We have been staying in Kampala for nine months and have visited a good few lodges, but Katara stands out as quite superb. The manager Pascal is very visible, efficient and friendly and the young Ugandan staff are very friendly and competent. The lodges have spectacular views, bathrooms have claw-foot baths with views over park. Each lodge is very big, beautifully appointed and has a bed which can be wheeled out on to verandah. There are tent-ike sides and netting which can easily be rolled up. Food superb, and early breakfast (5.30 am) came on time. I just can't recommend Katara highly enough

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Katara lived up to the reputation on TripAdvisor. I booked 2 nights there for a group travelling with me on a humanitarian trip. We had spent 17 gruelling long days visiting projects and travelling long distances and needed two days at the end to relax and Katara was just the place. From the friendly welcome drink and towels, to the very warm and excellent service, the wonderful views over QENP, and the very good food it was a complete delight.

We had many long conversations with Anna the proprietress who even introduced us to a local deaf school project - so in fact our work was not done but the meeting we had was very fruitful.

The cabins are to die for. The setting is awe inspiring. I will certainly be returning for another end of trip relaxation time.

Thanks Anna for your warmth and wonderful chats.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Katara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katara Lodge

Address: Mbarara - Kasese highway, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katara Lodge offers accommodation in eight luxurious cottages on a beautiful stretch of hills overlooking the open savanna in a serene and relaxing atmosphere. Each spacious cottage was hand crafted using locally available materials and combines wooden floors, grass thatched roofs and canvas that can be folded away for uninterrupted views of the park. A romantic roll top bath or invigorating rain shower provide a perfect way to unwind after a thrilling day on safari. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Katara Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Katara Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katara Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.