We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanting to stay longer...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katara Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Katara Lodge
Save
You added Katara Lodge to your Saves list
Mbarara - Kasese highway, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wanting to stay longer...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

Immediately upon walking into the lodge, I wanted to:

a) Extend my stay at Katara Lodge
b) Cancel some of my activities in the game park to enjoy the lodge more...
c) Plan for the next time to come back

The lodge is wonderful...the cottages are great...and the staff extremely friendly and helpful! The owners have done an amazing job putting in very fine details into everything from the main space to the cottages, to the private bathrooms, to the amazing food! My two nights there were such a treat, and I am already planning my next holiday back there! You definitely receive more value than you are paying for...the bath alone after the game drive was worth it! I HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    24
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
69
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

Katara Lodge is located just on the outskirts of Queen Elizabeth Park. As you walk through the reception area the long drive from Kampala is rewarded with a fabulous view over the savanna. The bar and restaurant are right at the top, so you can sit and overlook the national park. It is decorated to a very high standard and is made entirely out of natural materials from the local area.
The lodges are at the bottom of the hill. Staff help you to carry everything to your room so this is not an issue. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and you can chill out on the hammocks in the afternoons. The rooms are very spacious, containing 2 double beds complete with mosquito nets that drop right to the floor and there is even a roll out bed, so you can sleep under the stars on the terrace if you so wish! The lodges are made out of wood with a thatch roof, then the sides are tented, so you can unzip the canvas and have an uninterrupted view of the wildlife. There is also terrace furniture so you have a choice of indoor and outdoor space. One of the best features is the bathroom. There is just a netting window, so you can relax in the bath tub or stand in the power shower and soak in the views at the same time. They also provide you with lots of fluffy white towels and toiletries. The shower is super powerful, which you definitely need after a day on safari!
The owner organised all the day trips to the game reserves, chimp tracking and so on for me before I arrived and everything went very smoothly. We had very informative and skilled guides to take us out on safaris.
The accommodation is full board and they provide you with a packed lunch if you go out for the whole day . This is a bonus as there really are not many other options for eating out in the area. The food was good and plentiful - including a cooked breakfast, fruits, cereal and toast for breakfast and 4 course dinners in the evening. The service could be a little quicker, but it is no worse than anywhere else in Uganda! I think the lodge is excellent value and the rooms and the place as a whole are superior to more established and expensive places in the same area.
I can not recommend this place strongly enough. It is one of the best places I have ever stayed and I had a fabulous holiday here with my family.

  • Liked — The gorgeous rooms especially the bath with a view!
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

A truly wonderful serene location, Katara Lodge is perfect for anybody looking for peace and luxury. I traveled here in December 2008 with my partner and whist we were not on Honey Moon I think it would make a perfect place. The accommodation is capped off by a bed that can be taken under the stars and a bathtub with a view to die for.
A video of our trip containing a few scenes from Katara can be found here: [--]

  • Liked — Views and teriffic rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

Would (and do) recommend Katara Lodge to anyone looking for a beautiful retreat directly overlooking Queen Elizabeth Park. I spotted elephants from my balcony! The cottages are spacious (with 2 double beds each as well as a sitting area), balcony and a huge bathroom with both a shower as well as a bath and 2 sinks. Very romantic, good food and great hosts!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

Katara Lodge is one amazing place. Not only did it tick the basics - cleanliness, great service, a good base from which to explore Queen Elizabeth National Park and value for money - it was also a really special place and by far the best lodge we've stayed in.

The lodge itself is not in the park but thats to its advantage because it is situated on a hill overlooking the park so you have lovely views. To get to the lodge you have to drive through a village so from the start it feels very intimate and secluded from the world.

The rooms are amazing - spacious, clean and the decor really well put together. There are all these really special touches - they leave you a thermos so you can make coffee and tea in the morning and turn the sheets. The food was also fantastic - for breakfast, lunch and dinner they take your order and bring it to you at the time you request it (another special touch as it means you can plan your activities and don't have to wait for food to arrive).

The main reception is also amazing. There is a wonderful array of books to choose from and comfy lounges and a view of the park. We were almost tempted not to do any of our planned activities (which they helped us organised) because of our comfortable and beautiful surroundings!

All in all, a really fantastic and wonderful experience! You feel really spoilt and we definitely recommend it to anyone wanting an intimate, special and relaxing place.

  • Liked — Great service, clean, beautiful location and rooms and attention to detail
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kigali
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

This place is so relaxing, it almost made us forget we wanted to go on safari.
Incredible view, spacious bungalow with a magnificent thatched roof, a bed for sleeping under the stars (and another one for sleeping under the roof), the best-ever-shower-with-a-view...
Katara Lodge is quite new but a really classy addition to the accommodation options at QENP - it's small enough to be cosy but no detail is left uncovered, and there is a much more personal touch than industrial-sized safari-o-matics. The rooms are quite simply sensational, the restaurant/bar is great, the food is good and the welcome was really what was needed. It would be a shame to miss out on the Park but you could easily just come here and relax for several days. There are hammocks for swinging in, sofas for melting into, and balconies for chilling, each with an incomparably beautiful view over the savannah and as far as Congo's Blue Mountains and Uganda's Rwenzoris.
Family friendly, welcoming and homely.
What a great place.

  • Liked — cottages and view
  • Disliked — that we couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Katara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katara Lodge

Address: Mbarara - Kasese highway, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katara Lodge offers accommodation in eight luxurious cottages on a beautiful stretch of hills overlooking the open savanna in a serene and relaxing atmosphere. Each spacious cottage was hand crafted using locally available materials and combines wooden floors, grass thatched roofs and canvas that can be folded away for uninterrupted views of the park. A romantic roll top bath or invigorating rain shower provide a perfect way to unwind after a thrilling day on safari. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Katara Hotel Queen Elizabeth National Park
Katara Lodge Uganda/Queen Elizabeth National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katara Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.