We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Singing Wells loves The Traveller's Rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traveler's Rest Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kisoro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Traveler's Rest Hotel
Save
You added Traveler's Rest Hotel to your Saves list
Bunagana Road, Kisoro, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kisoro
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Singing Wells loves The Traveller's Rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Traveller's Rest is a great place to stay if you are going on a gorilla safari but we were there for a different reason - to record the music of the Batwa people who used to live in the forest alongside the gorillas. We stayed for a week at the Traveller's Rest and it was perfect for us. Really good value (Singing Wells is a charitable project so that's important for us) and the hospitality was great. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and even let us set up a music recording studio in the garden and we surprised all the guests by recording the Batwa music groups there! There was a power cut while we were there (after a big rain storm) but that just added to the atmosphere, especially when we gathered round the roaring log fire in the bar that night! The food was great - just what we needed after a long day recording music in the beautiful countryside around Kisoro. Would definitely go back and do a gorilla safari one day too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    35
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
30
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here post gorilla track in Bwindi Inpenetrable Forest. It is quite close to where the golden monkey tracking is in Mgahinga National Park(up an extremely bumpy road). The hotel itself is worn and the rooms are basic and if basing this review on hotel's merit, I would rate it average or below. Twin beds w mosquito nets are comfortable but we had an issue having hot water at shower time. Showers are very basic.
Common areas are very comfortable, bar very inviting, cozy fireplace w couches to exchange stories w other travelers and the Congolese masks very interesting. The food was really good, and considering there is not much else in the area, it is the best place to stay. There is no WIFI, but the super friendly staff let us use their computer to check in on a flight for the next day.
The staff in general were super friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After a week of staying in jungle tents, safari tents and jungle cabanas, arriving at Traveler's Rest was like arriving at the Four Seasons. Kisoro town isn't the most scenic place, but the Traveler's Rest property feels removed, private and lovely. The rooms were spacious and so clean - we slept well here! The common area was very inviting, lots of comfy chairs and a fireplace, and a bar. Our only gripe was that the property should have wi-fi, since it is located in Kisoro. After a week of disconnect in the jungle, we really did want to check e-mail, and we couldn't. Nonetheless a great stay following gorilla trekking - we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed here with a friend to go gorilla trekking in Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. The hotel is quaint, quiet and affordable. We stayed here as part of a package from Pearl Of Africa, a tour group that arranges safari's, gorilla and chimp tours (also great). The room was modest, but nicely equipped with two twin beds, flush toilets, shower and locking cabinets in the rooms. It's just a block off the main drag through town, about another 2 hour drive to the ranger station for gorilla treking. It had a lovely dining area and lounge with a fire place. As far as I know, it's African owned and operataed, and a great place for westerners that want an authentic african experience AND all the modern comforts of home. I'd definately stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had not booked any accommodation and were travelling late through Uganda. We had heard of the Travellers Rest and were looking out when we saw it at about 20.30. Although it was late, they accommodated us and gave us an evening meal, although they were nearly finished dining. It was such a welcome stop as we hadn't seen many (any) suitable accommodation till then. It was basic but very clean had everything we needed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We met other guests who were there for the Gorilla trekking.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar of a quadrangle courtyard garden. Some rooms may be nearer the road but we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Based solely on the rooms, we would give this place three or four stars -- not bad, but perhaps showing a little age. The WiFi didn't work (not that big a deal); the shower was a little awkward. The area is rather noisy because the city has grown right up the grounds and there's a good bit of traffic. (Although inside the lodge walls, the noise is not that noticeable.) But the meals were among the best we had in Uganda, and that's saying a lot. My wife and I both have dietary restrictions and the kitchen staff went way above and beyond to ensure that were happy. How could we complain about that?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

In some ways, the Traveler's Rest is showing its years. The rooms are a bit tired. Though wifi is advertised, it never worked during the 3 days we were there. But we loved it nonetheless. The staff is great. The Congolese masks are awesome. (I didn't realize they're for sale, but a friend stayed here a week or two later and learned that they are.) The grounds are lovely. Juliette gives killer massages. Meals ranged from good to excellent. And the whole place is so drenched with history, it's irresistible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Traveler's Rest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveler's Rest Hotel

Address: Bunagana Road, Kisoro, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kisoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kisoro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Rest is an excellent place for tourists visiting the endangered mountain gorilla in Southwest Uganda. The hotel, built in a somewhat colonial style, has ten rooms and one suite at reasonable prices. The garden is home to many birds, and in the evenings, when it gets cooler, visitors can warm themselves at the fireplace in the lounge.In the restaurant every evening a fine 4 course dinner is served. "Gorillas in the Mist" researcher Dian Fossey stayed here many times, calling it her "second home". The hotels offers a massage-service, perfect after a long gorilla trekking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traveler's Rest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.