We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mutanda Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kisoro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mutanda Lake Resort
Save
You added Mutanda Lake Resort to your Saves list
Mutanda Road, Kisoro, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here in July 2013. The place is under new ownership and was renamed: Mutanda Lake Resort. Some updates had already been made; still in need of some more minor clean up. Tents are cute and the location is absolutely stunning. Be prepared for a bumpy and dusty ride to the place but if you have the time and want seclusion - this is the place to go and is totally worth the drive. It is quiet and off the beaten track. The car will drop you at the top of the hill and then it is down the slope/stairs on foot past a few mud huts and very friendly local people and the cutest kids. Staff is welcoming and the food was awesome - rolled to bed with a full belly. Power only for a few hours in the evening which is enough to charge any batteries that may need charging.

The location cannot be beaten and I almost found Lake Mutanda more beautiful than Lake Bunyonyi (as it was a bit too commercialized for me). This place has my definite vote!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Under new management, the Nkuringo Safari Lodge is now renamed Mutanda Lake Resort.
We hiked to the Resort, starting about 10 kms from the Nkuringo Gorilla Camp. It took us approximately 5 hours through the hills and surrounding farms. The walk was incredible with beautiful scenery, meeting many people, especially children, with each village that we passed through.
Our driver had driven the car to the Resort while we hiked, but had to park the vehicle at the top of the driveway, as it is need of repair and cars are not able to use it. It is a long driveway and very steep. I can only imagine that it must be awful to walk when wet. The staff packed our bags down, and back up when we left, which I am sure was not an easy job.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the manager, offered a cold drink of juice, completed paperwork for check in and then had assistance with our bags to the cabin/tent.
The Resort is located directly on Lake Mutanda in a beautiful setting. The place appears to have been neglected and is in need of updating and repair. Apparently the new owners have plans to make improvements. We had a platform cabin style tent with a deck overlooking the lake. A double bed with ensuite bathroom, which included flushing toilet, sink and shower. Lighting and electrical outlets available when the generator was on. Very basic lodging. The tenting had a few holes in it and the mosquito netting over the bed had holes that had been repaired with tape.
After our hike we were quite tired, so relaxing on the porch with a cold drink suited us just fine. The scenery is beautiful. Fishermen in dug out canoes passing by, children playing in the surrounding hills and bird watching made the flaws of the resort seem not important.
After watching a magnificent sunset from the deck off the dining room we had dinner, which was good. With full bellies we settled back in our room and had a good night's sleep.
Breakfast in the morning was very good. Following breakfast we left the resort by dug out canoes for a wonderful 2 hour peaceful ride to the other side of the lake. From there we hiked into Kisoro.
Mutanda Lake Resort has great potential. The location is spectacular and each cabin/tent is situated within 10-15 feet from the lakefront. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Victoria, I am happy that I can let you know that there have been big improvements made since you've visited Mutanda Lake Resort. First of all cars can come down now to the peninsula. Secondly all the canvas walls that had holes have been renewed and so have been the mosquito nets and there are more renovations to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This Lodge has a beautiful view over Lake Mutanda with on the background the Virunga Vulcanoes. Teh area surrounding it is very nice for naturewalks. The locals are very welcoming and friendly, although you should ask people before you take a picture!

The food is fine not of a very hihg standard but for the price it's nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Located at Lake Mutanda, al the tents have a beautiful view over the lake. Nevertheless the tents are very basic, with wholes in the tent and in the mossie net.
The whole lodge is a bit neglected, part of it is under construction. The dining area is next to the reception and there is the place, where the staff use to watch TV. During your meals you hear the TV sound as background.
The meals are not good at all: one can choose between fish, beef and chicken (each with 2 variations) ,with simliar side dishes. The breakfast ist usually Nescafe or 3 teabags and a poor range of marmelade, strong butter and some things to order, each of them a culinary challange.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

It is a long drive to get to this place. The views from the terrace across the lake and volcanos are amazing. The rooms are a bit out dated, thin matresses which was somewhat uncomfortable. Free coffee and tea during the day and dinner at night is fine. Drive to the gorilla trekking is still at least one hour.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onbekend
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

It was a bit difficult to get there but it's worth evry effort. It was like arriving in paradise. A wonderful view over lake Mutanda with the volcanoes of Virunga on the horizon.
Charming, friendly, good food, nice tents ....and many birds around.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We arrived in torrential rain and the road is not for the faint hearted - we had to leave our vehicle at the top of the drive and the walk down to the lodge is pretty slippery and steep but when you get there the staff are friendly and it is a cosy place situated right on the lake which is lovely. The tents are quite small but are comfortable and there is plenty of hot water even if the electricity is not always on. We enjoyed our meals here and you do get a choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mutanda Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutanda Lake Resort

Address: Mutanda Road, Kisoro, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kisoro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kisoro
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mutanda Lake Resort is perched on private peninsula with stunning views on the Virunga Mountain Range.Situated between Kisoro town, Mgahinga and Bwindi National Parks the Resort makes a perfect base for gorilla trackers, volcano hikers,bird lovers as well as those looking for a secluded place in nature. Water recreation possibilities are plenty, like swimming, canoeing or a sunset boat cruise. Accommodation is in semi-tented cottages,built on an elevated wooden platform, each with private veranda and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mutanda Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.