We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made going back to the hotel great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maruhubi Beach Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Maruhubi Beach Villas to your Saves list
Maruhubi Beach Villas
P.O. Box 3088, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Made going back to the hotel great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This hotel does a great job making guests feel welcome. Great pool on the ocean (open 24 hours) a plus for great night and morning swims. Great service when you request anything and the manager really wants to make you feel comfortable (he's even willing to let you use the office for internet). Food was good, rooms comfortable (and air conditioned - a must in the humid temperatures). The beds were enormous and comfortable and at least 3 of the rooms overlooking the ocean have multiple beds in each of the rooms. The property seemed safe (patrolled by security guards). Although the beach access is not one of Zanzibar's most picturesque beaches (those are east) it was very nice. The hotel is a little way from stone town and a cab will need to be arranged (they will help you with that) and you must bargain the price aggressively.

Overall what this hotel lacks, the management and staff are more than willing to try to make up.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

NEVER try to stay in this hotel unless you turn up on the day and they have accomodation. The rooms are very nice and they have a good loation and facilities but is totally let down but the unreliable way it is run by the manager, Juma.
We booked 3 rooms for one night during a very busy period in Zanzibar (music festival) and when we arrived we were told by Juma that they had had a prioblem 2 days ago and our rooms were unusable. They tried to send us somewhere else (the manager in the other hotel said he'd got a phone call 5 minutes before we arrived to see if he had rooms), which was twice the distance from Stone town and the rooms were not what we booked and were like a youth hostel so we said that we wouldn't stay there.
Back to the Marahubi who didn't do anything to find us somewhere. It was our taxi driver who found us another hotel, 3 hours later,, but it cost us $340 dollars instead of $225 for the night.

I'm almost 7 months pregnant and we were travelling with my 12 year old son and my husband's mother, who is partially sighted. The incompetence at the Marahubi ruined our little holiday and I would strongly advise anyone thinking of staying there to STAY AWAY.
By the way, the Ocean View where we did stay was very nice- no pool but access to a very nice beach

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Perfect little hotel if you fancy staying in the outskirts of Stone Town for a short break, with friendly, helpful staff to accomodate your stay. Provides a peaceful refuge away from the hustle of Stone Town; swimming pool with sea alongside - great for cooling off after a day of sight-seeing in the town. You can either get to Stone Town on foot via the beach(30 minutes) (depending on the tides), this is a glimpse of a truly authentic experience of Zanzibar life as you enter Stone Town through the main harbour port. You can also get there on foot via the road(there is a pavement and it takes roughly 30 minutes) - another interesting experience in order to awaken your senses to the true goings-on of this part of the world.
If this is what you´re looking for, then I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

After almost 20 hours of travelling to Zanzibar we arived at Maruhubi Beach Villas and was met by the manager Juma who turned out to be very helpful.
For us it was very pleasant to be able to choose between a pool and the ocean, to have our meals in the very good restaurant and to be able to use the internet - for free.
We came to Zanzibar to relax and enjoy the African atmosphere and to be energized before returning back to Europe. Staying at Maruhubi gave us a beautiful opening of our holliday and the staff helped us arrange tours to Stonetown and tell us about the island.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar and Dar es Salaam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

Maruhubi Beach Villas just out of the Stone Town has a quite little beach with a view overlooking, Snake and Prison/Islands.

Great Sunsets.

Rooms are large and spacious, service is great, friendly management and a laid back atmosphere.

The tide when high comes right up to the swimming pool and restaurant!!

A great little hideaway next to the birth place of Princess Salme.

What more can I say!

  • Liked — Quite Hide Away just out of Stone Town, Privacy
  • Disliked — Could not stay longer!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

The location is great, just near Stone Town (5 km) and the rooms are beautiful, clean and well maintained with huge beds and mosquito nets, air conditioners and nice bathrooms. The creek runs up the back of the 12 rooms and there are giant verandas. The end rooms are surrounded on three sides by water at high tide.
The best aspect for me was the 21 metre pool right on the beach front, clear and nice for exercising in the morning and evening. The kids loved the rooms - I was glad there was no tv - and the price in April was fine. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times, including cooking the fishes my son and daughter caught earlier that day.
Steps to improve could be more restaurant staff, Internet and/or wifi and maybe some entertainment (dart board, etc.)

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — slow service at front desk and lack of facilities e.g. Internet
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maruhubi Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruhubi Beach Villas

Address: P.O. Box 3088, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maruhubi Beach Villas is situated on the seafront, five minutes north of Stone Town, between the Maruhubi Palace Grounds and the tropical gardens of Mtoni Marine Centre. Maruhubi is ideally located for exploring Stone Town, whilst having the peace and beauty of a beach location.The six stone-built villas have large verandas, which overlook Mtoni beach, all with excellent sea views. Each villa has two air-conditioned double bedrooms with en suite shower, toilet and basin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Maruhubi Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruhubi Beach Villas Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maruhubi Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.