We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed to the Public” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hamamni Persian Baths

Hamamni Persian Baths
Stone Town, Tanzania
Update attraction details
Ranked #9 of 13 attractions in Stone Town
Type: Ancient Ruins
Attraction Details
Toronto
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Closed to the Public”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It was good to see the sight and outside of these original old baths as part of an arcitectural walking tour of Stone Town but the baths were closed so we couldn't see inside.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    6
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not worth the entrance fee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

1500 TZS is the entrance and it takes not more than 10minutes to see this ill maintained place which is messy and dusty and very claustrophobic.Old doors and other incomplete carpentry stuff is lying around.Not worth.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We swung by here for approximately 5 minutes during our spice tour. Entrance was $2, but I wish I had saved my money. There isn't really anything to see here and it is really small. This isn't like one of the baths you might visit in Turkey, just a 300 square foot white building.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quite the find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I had read about them but it wasn't until our last day in Stone Town that we found them. Actually, it was one of the easier places for us to find, maybe because it was our fourth day in Stone Town. There were no guides, though one man tried to act as one, but we just ignored him. The baths are pretty self explanatory. They need massive repairs, but you can still use your imagination to picture them in use. We loved exploring all the nooks and crannies of the ruins. A low key attraction but fun to visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was one of the places in Stone Town we thought would be worth a visit. However, when we eventually found the place, we were told that the hammam was not operational. From what we could see at the entrance, it looked rather dilapidated and the guy outside was asking for a ridiculously high price to enter, so we didn't bother. I don't suppose we missed much!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamamni Persian Baths also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 
Zanzibar, Zanzibar Archipelago
Stone Town, Zanzibar
 

Been to Hamamni Persian Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamamni Persian Baths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.