We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed to the Public” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hamamni Persian Baths

Hamamni Persian Baths
, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 29 things to do in Stone Town
Attraction details
Toronto
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Closed to the Public”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It was good to see the sight and outside of these original old baths as part of an arcitectural walking tour of Stone Town but the baths were closed so we couldn't see inside.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    15
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not worth the entrance fee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

1500 TZS is the entrance and it takes not more than 10minutes to see this ill maintained place which is messy and dusty and very claustrophobic.Old doors and other incomplete carpentry stuff is lying around.Not worth.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We swung by here for approximately 5 minutes during our spice tour. Entrance was $2, but I wish I had saved my money. There isn't really anything to see here and it is really small. This isn't like one of the baths you might visit in Turkey, just a 300 square foot white building.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quite the find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I had read about them but it wasn't until our last day in Stone Town that we found them. Actually, it was one of the easier places for us to find, maybe because it was our fourth day in Stone Town. There were no guides, though one man tried to act as one, but we just ignored him. The baths are pretty self explanatory. They need massive repairs, but you can still use your imagination to picture them in use. We loved exploring all the nooks and crannies of the ruins. A low key attraction but fun to visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was one of the places in Stone Town we thought would be worth a visit. However, when we eventually found the place, we were told that the hammam was not operational. From what we could see at the entrance, it looked rather dilapidated and the guy outside was asking for a ridiculously high price to enter, so we didn't bother. I don't suppose we missed much!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamamni Persian Baths also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Hamamni Persian Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamamni Persian Baths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.