We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zanzibar Coffee House is the best place in Stone Town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Coffee House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Zanzibar Coffee House to your Saves list
Zanzibar Coffee House
Mkunazini 1563/64, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Zanzibar Coffee House is the best place in Stone Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Not only was the coffee incredible at the Zanzibar Coffee House, but so was the service! The service staff become like family after being there for a week! Next time I'm in Stone Town, I'm going to stay at the Zanzibar Coffee House for its hospitality, great views and delicious coffee!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Asante Sana BAKTASH-i!!
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review! I'm happy to hear from you - and the girls miss showing off their cooking for you at lunch!
Don't stay safe and sound in DC for too long - East Africa has lots of business for you to stick your nose into!
Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    76
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
20
117
29
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morogoro, Morogoro, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were traveling as friends, 2 from Tanzania and 2 from the USA, and we had a dilemma. We hadn't booked a place to stay on the last night of our safari on Zanzibar, and most hotels were booked because it was Easter Weekend. Luckily, we met the charming Canadian manager of the hotel, Tia, at a party, and she arranged our stay in 2 rooms, one of which is a 'family room' with 2 large beds. The Zanzibar Coffee House is a restored Mansion House in the middle of the souk in Stone Town, very centrally located, although a pretty long walk from any taxi stand. Each room is completely different, but all are comfortably en suite with high ceilings, a/c, and the best beds I have enjoyed in TZ. I don't think there are any rooms with views, but there is a delightful roof-top retreat, which affords views out to the ocean and a cool breeze. The décor and appointments throughout are thoughtfully chosen and authentic feeling. Breakfast, included, is delicious and abundant, and served up on the roof. And the Coffee House on the ground floor is a popular gathering place for lots of people looking for a delicious cup of coffee and baked goods. It's a great value and a great way to experience Stone Town. If you are an English speaker, be sure and ask for Tia when you book, she is the greatest - a gifted hotelier, an attentive host, and a person you want to know better.

Room Tip: All the rooms are named for coffee drinks. Just choose your favorite and you will be delighted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Alice,

Thank you for the kind words about the Coffee House and about me! I am truly flattered and hope that most do heed your words and ask for me as I loooove meeting new people, exchanging stories and experience and best of all at the Zanzibar Coffee House - sharing coffee! Please send your friends and family in the meantime! I look forward to hosting them as well!

We are thankful for such a glowing review from such an "expert TripAdvisor reviewer"!

All the best to you for the duration of your stay in Tanzania!
Safe travels and I hope you make it to China on your way home!

Sincerely, Tia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend loved our night in the Coffee House in Stone Town, we wished we had booked more than one night there. We loved the architecture of the building, the decoration of the room, and the breakfast there was one of the yummiest we've had with some amazing coffee to accompany it. The cafe downstairs makes the yummiest cakes as well (try the passion fruit tart!). All the staff were very friendly as well. Definitely recommendabe. We'll be heading back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Aisling,
Thank you for your review! Your songs of praise for the Coffee House were sung before your post on Trip Advisor. We received a friend of yours and her three travel companions as guests to the Zanzibar Coffee House on YOUR recommendation. Ironically, they arrived the following night to your stay! Next time, we coordinate to come all at the same time.

Looking forward to your next visit! And should I make it to Arusha before your next visit to Zanzibar - I'll have the ladies pack you a special PASSION FRUIT tart! Asante sana! Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I've always loved the Zanzibar Coffee House as a returning tourist in the city, and this time I decided to splurge on a room for one night. I took the room without an attached bathroom and expected it to be simple, but it was spectacular! Gorgeous room, very clean and fresh, and the bathroom was even bigger than the bedroom! Such style. And the rooftop patio is the most lovely place in town to have breakfast (of course amazing coffee and the best granola anywhere) and wifi means you can catch up with friends while enjoying the comfy cushions. Five star character! Also very accommodating to help us with bedding for the children.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Nice to hear from you!! Thank you for the review!
I'm glad we could offer you, your family and friends a comfortable place to stay during your travels. It's always great to have the kids around too - they offer us a fresh burst of energy and life. Zanzibar Coffee House is your house too!

Safe travels! And, I hope you return to Spring in Toronto!

Cheers, Tia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Excellent hotel with few rooms, charming staff, everyone very helpful. I will choose this place again next time on Zanzibar. They were also helpful in arranging an excursion on the island. Good coffee.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Soren,
Thank you for your time and dedication to the review! The charm, helpfulness and appeal of the Zanzibar Coffee ladies keeps guests coming back time and time again!
Karibu Zanzibar Coffee House for a "good coffee" anytime!
Asante sana, Tia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a great spot. Room we were in was perfect with exceptional AC! Well kept clean and spacious. People were very friendly and helpful. The coffee shop is very nice with their celebrity Barista, a former Tanzanian champion. The breakfast was great and delivered on the rooftop. Location upside: right next to the Emerson Hotel and it's wonderful rooftop restaurant. Location downside: no auto access so could be a bit hard to locate on foot, especially at night but there are signs. One other consideration for those with mobility issues, there is no elevator that I was aware of in the guest house (4 floors). Their are other hotels that were cheaper but the Zanzibar Coffeehouse was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Fritz,
Thank you for your review, input and advice!
Glad to hear you had such a pleasant stay and were able to enjoy the breakfast and AC! Mobility is a problem in all of StoneTown - my word, you should have seen the trouble we went through moving apartments the other week. Part of the magic (or misery) of the place.

Safe travels and times in Nigeria.
And when in Zanzibar next- KARIBU ZANZIBAR COFFEE HOUSE,
Tia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had heard about Zanzibar Coffee House from some friends of ours and when I booked a room, I asked if they were running any specials. Manuel was really helpful and let me know about an off-season special, so we got our room for 1/2 price! We stayed in the Macchiato room, which was beautiful with a big bed, air conditioning, and a nice bathroom. The bed was really comfortable and the place was very quiet. We were also able to purchase wine and sit up on the roof enjoying the view. Breakfast in the morning was served on the roof and it was delicious. You are able to order specialty coffee with your breakfast as well as omelettes or pancakes. Everything was fresh and delicious.

Really, I couldn't recommend Zanzibar Coffee House enough. It was beautiful, the staff was very friendly, and it was a great location in Stonetown. We also had coffee and lunch at the restaurant downstairs, which was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Macchiato room and it was great - quiet, spacious, comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanzibarCoffeeHouse, Manager at Zanzibar Coffee House, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of the Zanzibar Coffee House. It is our hope that everybody who stays with us leaves feeling as good as you.
We're so glad you were able to make good use of the rooftop, as it is one of the very special place in all of Zanzibar!
We look forward to welcoming you again and making your next visit even better!
Asante sana,
Zanzibar Coffee House Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Coffee House

Address: Mkunazini 1563/64, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibar Coffee House Hotel offers a touch of magic and romance in an authentic Arabic house deep in the heart of Stone Town. Transformed into a stylish hotel with harmonious interiors, antiques and rich fabrics, it is one of the oldest buildings in Zanzibar constructed by the Wazir to Sultan Said Bargash in 1885. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Zanzibar Coffee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Coffee House Hotel Stone Town
Zanzibar Coffee Hotel
Hotel Zanzibar Coffee
Zanzibar Coffee House Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.