We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the heart of Stone Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Coffee House

Save Saved
You added Zanzibar Coffee House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zanzibar Coffee House
Mkunazini 1563/64, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Coffee House Specials
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Stone Town
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gem in the heart of Stone Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here three times in three years and this place still delivers great standards and value for money in a vibrant and ever changing town. Super individual rooms that are spotlessly clean and provide all feasible mod cons at an affordable price.

The staff are charming, there is a superb rooftop for breakfasts (amazing coffees!!) and a friendly, safe ambience that make this a great recommendation. Finding it will test your orientation skills but well worth persevering.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    64
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
101
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bukavu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has real character, the rooms are delightfully furnished with large beds and high quality linen and mattresses. The windows have shutters which is a plus. The interior of the hotel has wide arabian banisters and staircases. The breakfast is served on an arty and airy rooftop terrace with great panoramas of the city. The coffee was rich and the breakfast was generous and interesting. Highly recommed staying here- we stayed in expresso which is not ensuite

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you like the idea of staying in an old Zanzibari house at the heart of the old town - so much so that finding your way back at night requires a good memory for landmarks and a bit of help from the guys relaxing on the street corners - then this is the place for you.

The rooms are compact but comfortable, the al fresco breakfast is generous and gives you a chance to survey the rooftops of the town and as you might expect, the coffee is first class.

You could not be better located in Stone Town than here - the market and good places to eat in the evening are very close by, and it is a short stroll to the town's main attractions. Service is friendly but not over-effusive, and the accommodation is fair value without being outstanding.

My wife and teenage sons and I thoroughly enjoyed staying here, and I would happily stay here again if I am lucky enough to return to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in Expresso room- subsided our expectations. The room was very large with excellent furniture and great view of the street from the window.

The ladies that work at the hotel are super...could not have been more pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast was the best we had been provided anywhere we stayed in Africa for a month. Coffee was the best Also.

Location is perfect....would not stay anywhere else on my return to stone town.

Highly recommend Zanzibar Coffee House.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We happened upon the Zanzibar Coffee House by chance, first we were avoiding people who insisted on offering a helping hand and then a down pour of rain. To our surprise, it was also a hotel. A very reasonable rate during the month of June gave us a perfect location in Stone town, connections to taxis and tour guides who also were reasonable and very knowledgeable. Our room was beautiful oasis of antiques, breakfast served in a roof top room that was also available for lounging during the day & evening--the view & the sounds of the city enveloped us during a late night picnic dinner. In the morning we could hear the prayers from the near by Mosque. This unintended stop lasted for three days and two nights. Their coffee is excellent, their homemade coffee soap has been the best soap I have every used for my face . . . friendly, clean, beautiful - I cannot say enough - a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Charming place. I stayed in a single room with a private bathroom down the hall. Room was really nice with a/c, clean bathroom. Breakfasts on the roof were amazing. I also lunch and coffee there during afternoon breaks and it's just a really neat place. It's sort of hard to find. The taxi will park at the market and you have to walk through windy alleyways to find the place. The coffee house closes early evening so you have to go out for dinners. There is a sweet old man who's there the night shift. I'd come back in the dark from dinner, knock on the door and the sweet man would always greet me. I recommend this place.

Just a warning: do not book the city walking tour with this place. I think they use the same guy. If so, the guy I had was just rude and had "wandering eyes" that just creeped me out. He also refused at the end to walk me back to the hotel. He just pointed at some vague direction and told me I could find the hotel in that direction! He then demanded I pay for the tour (did he think I wasn't going to pay?). After I paid him $30 he had a change of heart and walked me to the hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I used to live in Zanzibar and have long recommended Zanzibar Coffee House to those visiting. The last time I returned to Zanzibar for a visit I stayed there myself. It's a lovely spot, with a great location, and fantastic coffees and treats. The rooftop offers special views and a little oasis from the crowded town center.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Coffee House

Address: Mkunazini 1563/64, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zanzibar Coffee House Hotel offers a touch of magic and romance in an authentic Arabic house deep in the heart of Stone Town. Transformed into a stylish hotel with harmonious interiors, antiques and rich fabrics, it is one of the oldest buildings in Zanzibar constructed by the Wazir to Sultan Said Bargash in 1885. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Zanzibar Coffee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Coffee House Hotel Stone Town
Zanzibar Coffee Hotel
Hotel Zanzibar Coffee
Zanzibar Coffee House Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.