We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location is great. breakfast ok. everything else is not.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coco De Mer Hotel

Save Saved
You added Coco De Mer Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Coco De Mer Hotel
Gizenga Street | Box 2363, Shangani, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 29 hotels in Stone Town
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“location is great. breakfast ok. everything else is not.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

location is great near the car ferry. breakfast is ok, and was included. everything else is not. the room was old and in poor condition. there was no ac and the celing fan was broken. they put in a mobile fan instead of fixing it. there are local people drinking and smoking right outside the room until 10pm and then the family who live in the hotel have a very noisy dinner. the staff are not friendly, although not rude either. Some staff are embarressed by the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
1
11
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Smack in the middle of Stown Town's most buzzing backstreets and with a cool little café style restaurant for breakfast and the lot.

The room was shabby, with sealed windows instead of wall seperating our bed from the reception. You could hear everyone in the hallway. We didn't mind though, unless it was during the night.

The room had two beds and one of them was in so bad condition that it was impossible to sleep in. Luckily the other bed were big enough for both of us to get our sleep on.

We looked at 5 hostels before choosing this one and negotiated a rent of 40 USD per night. Accomodation in Stone Town is not cheap, so this was good value for money.

Room Tip: Bargain, hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Nobody can call the Coco de Merd inconsistent. Having stayed in 2009 and 2011 I can confirm that nothing has changed. On a positive note at least you know what to expect when you book here, I assure you if you read the reviews below, and then stay here you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

This place is grotty, smells bad, and is quite possible the worst accomodation I've ever seen. There was no power on the island, so every hotel was running generators, but this hotel only ran it a couple of hours a day, and when it did, it was directly under our window. We had to use a flashlight in the bathroom, men were sitting directly outside our door smoking and drinking, air was stagnant and we could not breath. We could not bare to stay a second night - I was seriously concerned about our health. All of the campsites we stayed at during our safari would be preferable to this dive!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

We only stayed here because our previous night's accommodation (Zanzibar Coffe House Hotel - which is excellent) was full. And what a contrast! I'd actually visited a friend here about six years ago, but the place seems to have changed hands and is looking decidedly run-down. The rooms were shabby, and the linen and towels either in poor condition and (in the case of the towels) not particularly clean. The bathroom was the worst part of our room, with leaking taps, ants everywhere, and a bad smell. This would be okay if they charged budget rates, but at $50 for a twin, we felt a little cheated.

However, the guy at the front desk told me that they have plans to refurbish it over the next year, so this place could be brought back from the dead - worth checking back in 2009!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

Sun Tours under the auspices of Imaginative Travellers landed us in Zanzibar and after telling us our previous bookings were not available took us to the Coco De Mer.But beware because there are two Coco De Mer hotels in Zanzibar.The second one,where we were taken is situated next to what looked like a brothel in a very seedy part of Stone Town.After examining the tiny rooms we refused to stay there and were taken to the Dhow Palace which is a good 3 star hotel. Beware travel agents who use numerous African agents,I ended up dealing with 4 different agencies in Africa and consequently there was little good communication throughout the entire 3 week safari tour.

  • Liked — Did not stay
  • Disliked — Its situation and tiny rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2006

The only good thing about this hotel was its location - right in the centre of old town Stonetown. Whilst there was nothing outright bad about the hotel, there were many average things: no air-con, small double beds, holes in the mossie nets, tatty bathrooms, sparse breakfast and a central safe by reception that seemed less than 100% secure. The rooms vary hugely, with regards to noise and natural light, so aim for a room on the higher floors. In summary, bareable if you don't pay up for it!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coco De Mer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco De Mer Hotel

Also Known As:
Coco De Mer Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town
Address: Gizenga Street | Box 2363, Shangani, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 hotels in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Coco De Mer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco De Mer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.