We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“atmospheric place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Salme Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Princess Salme Inn to your Saves list
Princess Salme Inn
Mizingani Road, Malindi | P.O Box 2310, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 255, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lowest Special Rates
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“atmospheric place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

very hospitable service and a good price. good location, if you're travelling by ferry. rooms are small, but clean and with everything you need. wi-fi works in all rooms - usually fast, but for a few days if was slower (maybe because of a lot of guests). roof terrace is the place to meet other guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Located a 15 minute walk from the centre of Stone Town, Princess Salme Inn was a nice place to spend the night.

Staff was extremely friendly and hospitable and the room was nice with a good bed, mosquito net and ceiling fan. The en suite bathroom was clean and the shower was very nice.

On the roof there is a terrace with a self service bar consisting of two fridges with cold drinks. You just write what you drink on a sheet and pay when you leave.

A bit pricey but well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasper-Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here my first night in Stonetown and liked it so much have another night booked.

Good location up near the ferry terminal. Very friendly and helpful staff and nice clean rooms with well hung mosquito nets.

Lovely roof terrace where breakfast is served and drinks are available, the breakfast is very nice and also includes eggs.

Fish market was not noticeable either olfactory or through noise.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What is Princess Salme?
A quiet, comfortable place where the crew is friendly, kind and helpful, the rooms are spacey, quiet and very clean, unfortettable breakfasts served on the rooftop. We stayed from October 7th to 21th 2012 and our experience has been absolutely great. A special thank you to Angela, Gertrud and Neema.

Loredana and Claudio, Turin (Italy)

Room Tip: Our room, nr. 19, was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loredana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A budget traveler needs good accommodation and breakfast. We got more than that. 24hrs desk – very helpful l staff, the bed was beautiful and very comfortable, clean bathroom, aircon, beautiful cushions, mains power in the room( lots- too much to name everything) ,a plug for the sink may be you should add. The management and staff are very helpful. Wonderful breakfast including free wifi and a computer at the lobby is connected to the internet for those who don’t have their own computers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great price, convenient location (hidden, but findable), friendly staff, good breakfast, A/C, clean, laundry service, etc. Internet was dicey at best but that's Zanzibar. Don't be fooled by hotels with generators. No power = no Internet, even with a generator. Frequent power outages on the island.

Room Tip: Request A/C and make sure when checking in you ask them to turn on the water heater, otherwise you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fightingillini88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Although the room was clean and comfortable, the staff were very unfriendly, unhelpful and the owner tried to get more money out of us than quoted. He lives in Dar and runs the hotel over the phone. We were quoted $15 per person and they then told us we needed to pay $45 per couple when we arrived. When we checked out early they demanded that we pay for all the nights we booked for even though they had the full deposit. The food was awful, the milk was always off and they wouldnt give us the password for the free wifi. A big disappointment on an otherwise fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
31.5 mi away
Pumzika Beach Resort
Pumzika Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Makunduchi
5.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#23 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
28.1 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 11 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
16.6 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Salme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Salme Inn

Address: Mizingani Road, Malindi | P.O Box 2310, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 255, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Salme Inn is a bed and breakfast hotel perfect for travellers looking to see Zanzibar for less. When you're out and about all day, a comfy bed and hearty breakfast are all you need! So book Princess Salme Inn, a bed and breakfast in Stone Town Zanzibar where you pay less and sleep well. Princess Salme Inn is a simple but comfortable bed and breakfast hotel in Stone Town growing incorporating its customer needs. It is in an old Arabic mansion with traditional touches. The hotel has remained one of the cleanest in the area and still maintains the lowest rates in town. Our team will assist planning and recommending tours, transfers and even safaris ... .. Our rooms are simple with the highest level of cleanness. We have variety of rooms to suite your needs and budget, and leaving you satisfied at the end. From Backpackers to Honeymooners, from cheap / budget customers to mid-range customers. The rooms are naturally decorated in Zanzibarian style with traditional Zanzibar beds. We are working hard to bridge the gap between client satisfaction and management perception of good service. Your honest reviews even if they are bad and good ones, all help us grow better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Princess Salme Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Salme Hotel Stone Town
Princess Salme Inn Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing