We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beyt al Salaam

Save Saved
You added Beyt al Salaam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beyt al Salaam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kelele Square, Stone Town, Tanzania (Formerly Beyt al Chai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 hotels in Stone Town
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A lot of charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there beginning of January. The room was huge (more a suite than a room), with two beds and two (small) bathrooms.

This place has a lot of charm, but gives the impression it could be better maintained and so seems a little dusty and old, but is nevertheless worth a stay.

The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I recently stayed at Beyt al Chai. It is a great place; I agree with the other reviewers who rave about the staff here, the rooms, the location (just a short walk from a public beach where you can do morning exercises with the fishermen, walk on the beach, ponder, etc...) However, I did learn just today that the property has been sold and that they are closing at the end of March 2013. Double check before you make a reservation.
Having said all of this, the team here was just as nice and attentive as if the hotel would live on in perpetuity. It's a pity it's not going to...at least in its current incarnation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beyt A, Manager at Beyt al Salaam, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Greetings from newly refurbished 4 star boutique hotel and restaurant Beyt al Salaam!

I'd like to take this opportunity to say a big thank you to you for acknowledging our service at former Beyt Al Chai hotel. The property indeed has been sold and now is part of the bigger Hotel Group that operates Doubletree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar Nungwi and Doubletree by Hilton Dar es Salaam. Soon we will be opening one morer hotel in Zanzibar, Doubletree by Hilton Stone Town.

The new management have inherited the great team with their can do attitude and attention to detail, we constantly monitor our guests feedback and ensure consistence in our service. We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel and restaurant.

Gabriella Alexander
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is really a good place to stay when you visit Stonetown for a few days. Just 5 minutes walk from the labyrint of little streets and peacefull and quiet so you can relax after walking around this beautiful place. There are just a few rooms and that makes this hotel very personal. The crew is nice and helpfull and the rooms are clean and cool. And that makes it really a good place to stay after the heat of the town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
214 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We were quite impressed with the Beyt al Chai. The hotel only has 5 rooms and is a restored period building with lots of great history. The Islamic influenced architecture makes you feel like you are really some place exotic. The rooms have been lovingly renovated and are clean and functional, roomy and airy. The AC unit kept us cool at night and the step up shower had plentiful hot water. We actually had a suite, though we didn't really use the sitting room at all as it was dark and windowless. The bedroom had a number of windows that had partial sea views. The location is great, right on the western edge of Stone Town, only minutes walk from Forodhani Park and the labyrinthian streets and alleys if the historic town. The service at the hotel was excellent, we felt very welcome and the staff were always eager to please and help out. The downstairs restaurant was very good for our breakfasts and although we didn't eat our evening meals there, it is reportedly very good. There is free Wifi in the rooms but no TV. We really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely return there in the future. This hotel is recommended to all other travelers planning to stay in Stone Town. Really a nice spot!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel reminded me of something you see in movies from colonial Africa. My suite was placed on the 3rd floor. It contained a huge main room and adjacent shower room and a separate toilet. During the day the windows are kept open to let air into the room. The disadvantage of this is that the inside temperature was 29 degrees Celsius. The bed is surrounded by a mosquito net to keep any unwanted "friends" out of your bed. The only such thing I saw was a tiny gecko in my toilet room one night.

Stone Town suffer power outages regularly. The greatest disadvantage for you in this is that your AC will not automatically turn back on. Which means that if your trying to chill your room you run the risk of having your effort thwarted by a power outage, even if the outage is only a few seconds.

If you want to stay in something that feel authentic, and have a African experience I highly recommend this. If your a comfort creature that wants your room a steady X degree, and absolutely no chance of bugs this is not for you.

The hotel has an excellent restaurant. You'll eat breakfast here in the morning, but it is also highly recommended to try it for your evening meal. The service is great, and the food the same. The only negative thing is that it can take a while before getting the food. Estimate an hour for breakfast.

The hotel does not have fitness center or a pool. It is located 100m from the beach. However the beach does not have any sun-chairs, nor is the beach an excellent beach. The tours offed from the hotel is severely overcharged. For example a spice tour from the hotel cost 60USD per person, while we got it for 40USD for 5 people on the street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Excellent service: unlike other restaurants on the island our waitress was attentive and discreet. The food itself was delicious, we ate their twice during our stay: the trio of tuna was a classic and the crab soup was wonderful, notably good wine was a very welcome addition. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a great hotel if you are after somewhere with character right in the heart of Stone Town. Our room was lovely, with lots of windows. The Serena Hotel is right in front of you so you don't get an open aspect. Room was spacious with a quirky way of locking the door (I ended up locking my husband in so he couldn't meet me as arranged which could have been difficult!). Only downside with the room is there was no shower just a bath attachment and the bathroom is part of the bedroom which might put some people off from a privacy point of view. Small friendly bar downstairs. The service was very slow when we had lunch in the restaurant and for breakfast but food was good. Upside for us was it's location, you could walk into the town and gardens at night without having to negotiate the narrow back streets that some of the other hotels were located on which meant we felt safe at all times. Well insulated we thought we'd be woken by the prayer calls all night as there is a mosque a few feet away but we managed to sleep through it.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the the more expensive sultan's rooms Al Ajaib, I did have a peek in one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beyt al Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyt al Salaam

Address: Kelele Square, Stone Town, Tanzania (Formerly Beyt al Chai)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyt al Salaam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After the heat and dust of Stone Town, the rooms of BEYT AL SALAAM BOUTIQUE HOTEL, are a cool heaven, constructed in the traditional Swahili manner, whereby Four-Poster Beds Draped with netting dominate, offset by delicate side tables, vanity units, etc ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Beyt al Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beyt Al Chai Hotel Stone Town
Beyt Al Salaam Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beyt al Salaam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.