We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner for 2” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beyt al Salaam

Save Saved
You added Beyt al Salaam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beyt al Salaam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kelele Square, Stone Town, Tanzania (Formerly Beyt al Chai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 hotels in Stone Town
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely dinner for 2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Excellent service: unlike other restaurants on the island our waitress was attentive and discreet. The food itself was delicious, we ate their twice during our stay: the trio of tuna was a classic and the crab soup was wonderful, notably good wine was a very welcome addition. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a great hotel if you are after somewhere with character right in the heart of Stone Town. Our room was lovely, with lots of windows. The Serena Hotel is right in front of you so you don't get an open aspect. Room was spacious with a quirky way of locking the door (I ended up locking my husband in so he couldn't meet me as arranged which could have been difficult!). Only downside with the room is there was no shower just a bath attachment and the bathroom is part of the bedroom which might put some people off from a privacy point of view. Small friendly bar downstairs. The service was very slow when we had lunch in the restaurant and for breakfast but food was good. Upside for us was it's location, you could walk into the town and gardens at night without having to negotiate the narrow back streets that some of the other hotels were located on which meant we felt safe at all times. Well insulated we thought we'd be woken by the prayer calls all night as there is a mosque a few feet away but we managed to sleep through it.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the the more expensive sultan's rooms Al Ajaib, I did have a peek in one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Beyt al Chai for one night en-route to Matemwe in the North of the island and it was perfectly fine for a one night stay. You wouldn't want this to be your destination, but for a night or two en-route, it is perfectly fine.

The rooms are clean and quite comfortable and the location is right in the heart of Stone Town, so you don't actually spend that much time inside your room. Best bet is to get outside and explore Stone Town - the cobbled streets and night markets are great! Though, be warned, you need to negotiate quite a lot to get a fair price for any souveniers...!

I would happily stay here again, or refer it to family and friends, however, would make sure to let them know that it is old and historic, and therefore, not everything always works like clockwork - but that is part of the charm :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed one night here as we needed to be in Stone Town to catch the early morning flight (6.15) from Stone Town to Dar for the BA flight to UK.
The hotel is centrally locate but not on any of the main roads so noise is not a major problem. We had a good size room with large en-suite but I found the bed uncomfortable (I could not fits the moulds made in the mattress.
The biggest problem though was that we needed a 5.00 am start in the morning and had arranged for an early morning call and packed breakfast which is part of the service. When it came to the morning, there was no morning call (just as well I was awake), no packed breakfast for us and no-one, including the night security guard to see us off. In fact we had to unbolt the door ourselves when the taxi driver knocked on the door. Simply not good enough.

On a different note, we did use the hotel restaurant having seen some positive reviews. The food was hit and miss, one particularly nice started but others dished merely ok and not as good as food we had had elsewhere, but perhaps we had been spoiled.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were spending a night in Stonetown at the end of a week at the Next Paradise Resort, and were recommended this restaurant by the resort owner. He told me it was his favourite in the city and I now know why.

We always try and end a trip in a really good restaurant and this placed fitted the bill perfectly. Great cocktails, Really great, very artistic and creatively presented food using freah local produce, and large enough not to fall into that novelle trap.

The service was extremely attentive, without being intrusive and the wine list had a great variety which were reasonably priced, as Zanzibar can be quite expensive for good wines.

We were introduced to the manager Mickey, who is a very pleasant guy who once again was also very attentive withoud invading our space. He ensured we had a great conclusion to our trip and I must say that this was a very relaxing and calming location to end the day in what is a very frenetic place... Tranquility in the midst of mayhem.....!!!

Room Tip: Try the spicy crab soup served in the coconut shell. I am allergic to shellfish but this dish was w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This hotel was recommended in guide books so I booked for two nights. The location is terrific.
The staff saidthere was wifi but I was never able to log on in both days that we were there.

We reserved the sultan room which had two rooms and two bathrooms. Plenty of space but no hot water which was ok because it was quite hot in Stonetown during our stay. Both beds had mosquito netting.

I can see why some people might call this hotel charming for there are interesting period pieces which are very " Zanzibar". However, the reception area could stand a serious uplift. We found it to be dark and depressing.

The staff was accommodating and pleasant in the restaurant. Food was ok but not memorable. There was only one other room occupied during our stay.

Room Tip: The location is fabulous. The sultan room has two bathrooms which might be good if you are travellin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

While we didn't actually stay at this hotel, we dined here twice. The food, though pricey for Stone Town, would be a steal anywhere in North America and is of exceptional quality. Wonderful soups, seafood and curry. Service is attentive and the setting is very beautiful. Highly recommended for dining.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beyt al Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyt al Salaam

Address: Kelele Square, Stone Town, Tanzania (Formerly Beyt al Chai)
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyt al Salaam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After the heat and dust of Stone Town, the rooms of BEYT AL SALAAM BOUTIQUE HOTEL, are a cool heaven, constructed in the traditional Swahili manner, whereby Four-Poster Beds Draped with netting dominate, offset by delicate side tables, vanity units, etc ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Beyt al Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beyt Al Chai Hotel Stone Town
Beyt Al Salaam Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beyt al Salaam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.