We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beyt al Salaam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beyt al Salaam to your Saves list
Beyt al Salaam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kelele Square | Zanzibar, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania (Formerly Beyt al Chai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Stone Town
Cumbria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a great hotel if you are after somewhere with character right in the heart of Stone Town. Our room was lovely, with lots of windows. The Serena Hotel is right in front of you so you don't get an open aspect. Room was spacious with a quirky way of locking the door (I ended up locking my husband in so he couldn't meet me as arranged which could have been difficult!). Only downside with the room is there was no shower just a bath attachment and the bathroom is part of the bedroom which might put some people off from a privacy point of view. Small friendly bar downstairs. The service was very slow when we had lunch in the restaurant and for breakfast but food was good. Upside for us was it's location, you could walk into the town and gardens at night without having to negotiate the narrow back streets that some of the other hotels were located on which meant we felt safe at all times. Well insulated we thought we'd be woken by the prayer calls all night as there is a mosque a few feet away but we managed to sleep through it.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the the more expensive sultan's rooms Al Ajaib, I did have a peek in one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    30
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
43
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Beyt al Chai for one night en-route to Matemwe in the North of the island and it was perfectly fine for a one night stay. You wouldn't want this to be your destination, but for a night or two en-route, it is perfectly fine.

The rooms are clean and quite comfortable and the location is right in the heart of Stone Town, so you don't actually spend that much time inside your room. Best bet is to get outside and explore Stone Town - the cobbled streets and night markets are great! Though, be warned, you need to negotiate quite a lot to get a fair price for any souveniers...!

I would happily stay here again, or refer it to family and friends, however, would make sure to let them know that it is old and historic, and therefore, not everything always works like clockwork - but that is part of the charm :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed one night here as we needed to be in Stone Town to catch the early morning flight (6.15) from Stone Town to Dar for the BA flight to UK.
The hotel is centrally locate but not on any of the main roads so noise is not a major problem. We had a good size room with large en-suite but I found the bed uncomfortable (I could not fits the moulds made in the mattress.
The biggest problem though was that we needed a 5.00 am start in the morning and had arranged for an early morning call and packed breakfast which is part of the service. When it came to the morning, there was no morning call (just as well I was awake), no packed breakfast for us and no-one, including the night security guard to see us off. In fact we had to unbolt the door ourselves when the taxi driver knocked on the door. Simply not good enough.

On a different note, we did use the hotel restaurant having seen some positive reviews. The food was hit and miss, one particularly nice started but others dished merely ok and not as good as food we had had elsewhere, but perhaps we had been spoiled.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were spending a night in Stonetown at the end of a week at the Next Paradise Resort, and were recommended this restaurant by the resort owner. He told me it was his favourite in the city and I now know why.

We always try and end a trip in a really good restaurant and this placed fitted the bill perfectly. Great cocktails, Really great, very artistic and creatively presented food using freah local produce, and large enough not to fall into that novelle trap.

The service was extremely attentive, without being intrusive and the wine list had a great variety which were reasonably priced, as Zanzibar can be quite expensive for good wines.

We were introduced to the manager Mickey, who is a very pleasant guy who once again was also very attentive withoud invading our space. He ensured we had a great conclusion to our trip and I must say that this was a very relaxing and calming location to end the day in what is a very frenetic place... Tranquility in the midst of mayhem.....!!!

Room Tip: Try the spicy crab soup served in the coconut shell. I am allergic to shellfish but this dish was w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This hotel was recommended in guide books so I booked for two nights. The location is terrific.
The staff saidthere was wifi but I was never able to log on in both days that we were there.

We reserved the sultan room which had two rooms and two bathrooms. Plenty of space but no hot water which was ok because it was quite hot in Stonetown during our stay. Both beds had mosquito netting.

I can see why some people might call this hotel charming for there are interesting period pieces which are very " Zanzibar". However, the reception area could stand a serious uplift. We found it to be dark and depressing.

The staff was accommodating and pleasant in the restaurant. Food was ok but not memorable. There was only one other room occupied during our stay.

Room Tip: The location is fabulous. The sultan room has two bathrooms which might be good if you are travellin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

While we didn't actually stay at this hotel, we dined here twice. The food, though pricey for Stone Town, would be a steal anywhere in North America and is of exceptional quality. Wonderful soups, seafood and curry. Service is attentive and the setting is very beautiful. Highly recommended for dining.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

You could not find a better location to stay in Stonetown. The six room B & B that used to be an old Arab Tea Trading House is located on a small square and shaded by magnificent trees and directly across from the small luxury Zanzibar Serena Hotel.

The rooms are well appointed with plenty of space and (very important) air conditioned. We were in the room named "Beyt al Chai" and this looked out on Kilele Square.

Everything was within walking distance and made for easy moving around despite the humidity. I would recommend walking to Forodhoni Park in the evening (about 4 - 5 minutes) and there you can feast to your hearts content on barbecued food of every variety.

Eating at the Beyt al Chai was okay. Breakfast was a hit or miss affair and we had lunc one time which was fine - nothing exceptional.

Definitely a great place to stay, but go further afield to eat.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the room we stayed in named: Beyt Al Chai
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Al-Minar
Al-Minar
#17 of 32 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#10 of 32 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mashariki Palace Hotel
Mashariki Palace Hotel
#2 of 32 in Stone Town
5.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#20 of 32 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyt al Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyt al Salaam

Address: Kelele Square | Zanzibar, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania (Formerly Beyt al Chai)
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyt al Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After the heat and dust of Stone Town, the rooms of BEYT AL SALAAM BOUTIQUE HOTEL, are a cool heaven, constructed in the traditional Swahili manner, whereby Four-Poster Beds Draped with netting dominate, offset by delicate side tables, vanity units, etc ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beyt al Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beyt Al Chai Hotel Stone Town
Beyt Al Salaam Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beyt al Salaam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.