We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzibar Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% discount on 2nd night
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Stone Town
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a wonderful stay in the Zanzibar Palace Hotel. I was treating myself after having climbed Kilimanjaro. The room was gorgeous, the spa was very relaxing, the managers Robert and Milieu couldn't have been more helpful. A friend joined me for my last night there and they very kindly upgraded us to a suite! Coffee was good and the breakfast was very tasty. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    95
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
60
285
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel is perfectly located in Stone Town within easy walking distance of most attractions.

Check was welcoming and efficient (there was a delicious free drink whilst we waited for our room). Our room was very clean and comfortable with a rather ornate tiled shower.

Breakfast was plentiful with lots to select. Coffee was delicious!

Room Tip: Don't forget to get to the room terrace for the views over Stone Town Please try the traditiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I was travelling overland through Africa arriving in Stone Town after a month on the road through the desert. I was in search of a day spa so I could take a body scrub and refresh for the month ahead. I walked past the Zanzibar Palace Hotel a few times. On one occasion I thought why not just walk through the big timber doors to see what they have. And, what a find! I booked into their day spa for later that evening to be followed by dinner. The body scrub was to die for! I have never had a body scrub like that before. Not only did I feel clean and refreshed, I felt re-energised.

I relaxed by having a quiet drink in their bar before dinner. The service was excellent. The food was enjoyable. This hotel really is an oasis in the middle of Stone Town. If ever I was to go back I would want to stay here.

If you do stay at the Zanzibar Palace Hotel, make sure you use the day spa!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is nicely situated - just a ten minute walk from the ferry. We were here in low season, so the hotel was not busy and they upgraded us to a wonderful room (Sultana) with a balcony. The room had many nice touches, from the beautiful lighting fixtures to the zanzibar style arches. One thing to note is that you have to climb some steep stairs to get to the rooms, there is no elevator. The breakfast was good and the staff was very attentive. They gave us a good map of stone town and pointed out the key places. They can also arrange tours, of course. They have A/C, which was key. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I had a very nice stay here. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was well run and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. I would have liked to stay longer than the one night there. Next time perhaps I will spend longer in Stone Town. I have no hesitation in recommending the Zanzibar Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

What a great place. Well appointed, thoughtful staff, filling breakfast. Robert was able to help us with all our needs, arranging a spice tour, a trip to Prison Island, and a ride up to Nungwi beach. The staff was very responsive to all our requests.

When returned to Stone Town after the Northern Zanzibar beach, they thoughtfully upgraded our room to a suite, as two of our party were leaving on a 3:30am flight.

Great place, and I wish them the best of luck.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in early March this year, I specifically chose this hotel for the room with the open view bathroom.

Being on honeymoon and after a week on safari with canvas tents, this hotel was beyond luxurious - beautifully decorated with old wooden furniture, colourful lamps, cushions and drapes, it truly gives a feeling of being in an ancient Arabic palace. The bed was huge and very comfortable, positioned on tall pillars, so you have to climb up using those decorative chests on either side - like in the old films of a Thousand and one Arabic nights! The roof-top bathroom where you are showering while observing the dhows passing by in the harbour - it was absolutely spectacular! Highly recommend for honeymooners.

Both nights it was raining at night and early morning; by the time we finished breakfast it was mostly sunny again, and the city felt clean and washed.

The breakfast was tasty. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, as the food there was mostly western, and we were craving for curry. This is probably the only suggestion I would offer - to make the dinner choices more elaborate and varied, as we were keen to eat in the hotel the night we arrived.

There were no mosquitos, even though the net was provided.

Hotel was quiet, located in a fairly quiet street close to harbour, there was music heard from far away, but it was not disturbing.

The hotel management is very polite and attentive, the staff is friendly and helpful.

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Zanzibar Palace!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, Persian rugs, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. In its adjacent building there is the Palace Luxury Spa, with its contemporary look and feel with one-of-a-kind art and furniture. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.