We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run boutique hotel in Stone Town Zanzibar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Zanzibar Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get customized quotes
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Stone Town
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well run boutique hotel in Stone Town Zanzibar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have just returned a few days ago after a 4 week trip to Africa and have stayed in a variety of hotels. Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a boutique hotel very efficiently run by two very pleasant gentlemen,Mark and Robert. The service here is personal and caring. The supporting staff are also very friendly and efficient.
While the hotel is a throwback to the past with decor and artefacts reflecting the oldtimes,the amenities are modern with aircond rooms and hotwater system that works. Free wifi in the room is a bonus.
Cooked breakfast in the morning is very good and the restaurant where we had seafood was excellent. We were served afternoon tea with cakes in the room.
Locationwise, it's right in Stone Town but is only a 5 mins walk to the seafront.Another bonus was the good value if you need your laundry to be done.
Highly recommended, excellent personal service all round and two managers on the ball.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    79
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
57
257
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very different,it's old fashion charm at it's best with it's wonderful Arabic style and design(special one night stay)all staff were very helpful and friendly.Breakfast was perfect with plenty of different choices! The location of this hotel is definitely central for walking out and exploring Stone Town, which is fascinating.Just which we had had a little longer here to explore!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous multi centre holiday with Imagine Africa. This is our second trip with the Imagine Group and both were absolutely fantastic. We stayed for two nights in this bijoux hotel in the Sherali Suite. Our room had a four poster bed, a free standing bath in the middle, a lounge area, a chilling area which was a huge padded rug on the floor and loads of cushion an enormous bathroom area and a view over Stone Town and the Sea.

The food was amazing and the staff were so professional and obliging. We had a welcome glass of champagne and a platter of fruit on arrival and room service is free.

The hotel can recommend trips for you, we did the guided tour of Stone Stone and the Spice Tour which were both very worthwhile.

We also enjoyed the Spa facilities and enjoyed a 'couples' massage, which was both thorough and relaxing.

Stone Town itself is not spectacular but the Zanibar Palace certainly is.

Elizabeth Kingsman

Room Tip: There are many mosques in the town an the call to prayer five times a day, particularly in the very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay stay at the Zanzibar Palace Hotel following our trekking up Mount Kilimanjaro. The staff were excellent and very attentive. The managers were really helpful in guiding us around the narrow alleyways and helping us plan our exploration of Stonetown and local areas of interest. The food was excellent- I had the biggest jumbo prawns ever and the other fish was delicately cooked! A lovely hotel to stay for a short visit to Stonetown.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in the room called Farizah (means Arch). Large airy room with an enormous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is surely the best of our honeymoon in Tanzania e Zanzibar.
Very beatiful room, nice welcome, plentiful and good breakfast!
The position is convenient to explore the city (be careful to not loose yourself in that little street....)
Reccomended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is charming and the location is perfect for exploring Stone Town. We stayed in Sultana. The room had an Arabic design and was lovely, very spacious with modern amenities. The staff and management were great - very accommodating and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Zanzibar Palace Hotel for one night only on our way back to Dar es Salaam. It is in a very convenient central location for easy access on foot to the centre of Stone Town.
Access by car would be tricky through narrow winding alleys.
It is historical/ old but in good condition and very interesting. We had a family room on the top floor. It was traditional arabic in design and decor, but contained all modern conveniences and the quality of the decor and fitments was very high.
The professionalism and helpfulness of the manager and all the staff was impressive. We felt very welcome. We can definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: There is no lift as it is a protected building, so if mobility is a problem for you then ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, Persian rugs, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. In its adjacent building there is the Palace Luxury Spa, with its contemporary look and feel with one-of-a-kind art and furniture. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.