We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel in Stone Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzibar Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Christmas / New Years
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Boutique Hotel in Stone Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this Hotel in the middle of Stone Town. The rooms are amazing and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Such a great location!
We had a lost passport situation and they went out of their way to help us with phone calls, photocopying and obtaining new passport photos.

Highly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    87
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
59
268
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Centrally located, this hotel charmed us immediately - there is nothing cookie-cutter about it. From the moment you step through its massive wooden Zanzibar door, you leave the heat and bustle of Stone Town's narrow streets behind and relax. The high ceilings with traditional mangrove beams keep it cool, and the many different room configurations, each unique, attest its historic character. But its small, super-attentive staff, and the fact every amenity is available, endeared it to us. I loved the free morning coffee (with treat!) delivered to the room, to sip on the balcony over-looking the street below, with views beyond. And our room had everything, from great air-con to stone-tub shower to personal library, along with a comfortable king-size bed. Fond memories...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The is a great hotel, beautifully decorated, and it has an espresso machine!! We enjoyed the breakfasts but dinner was a real treat. We had the Swahili experience, it was delightful. The service and presentation outstanding, and the chef came along later to ask what we liked the most. The house wine was extremely good, and its not necessary to spend more. While not in the centre of stone town, stone town is so small it does not matter at all.

Our only minor issue is the canopy bed in the Rosewood room is not suitable for tall people. (All rooms have names not numbers!!!) although I am not six foot, I needed to lie diagonally.

Room Tip: If you are tall, make sure the bed is suitable, as if it has fixed ends, it could be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. It speaks volumes when a hotel and its staff get all the small things right...and the Zanzibar Palace Hotel manages this with aplomb.
It's a beautifully and carefully restored building, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Most importantly, the staff are polite, helpful and remarkably friendly - there seemed nothing they couldn't do to help.
The breakfasts are wholesome and tasty. We tried the 'Typical Swahili Dinner' one evening, which was absolutely delicious.
In addition, we arrange a tour through the hotel that was excellent.
Certainly a good choice in Stonetown and, compared to many of the seemingly over-priced hotels in Tanzania and Zanzibar, the Zanzibar Palace Hotel ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Have to admit that on arrival it was reminiscent of the "Best Exotic Marigold Hotel" neighborhood. When escorted and oriented to our beautifully decorated, and very comfortable rooms - with the built in fitness program of going up the stairs - we were delighted. Typical Zanzibar décor makes it feel like you actually live there. And then, there is the wonderful experience of breakfast provided in the homey restaurant area. Food was excellent, staff was friendly. Location is very good for visiting all kinds of markets, both touristy and very local. Port is a short walk away for those doing ferry trips. Wifi in the reception area was very good. A laptop can be provided for those without their own device. Frans and Mark were both very welcoming and good with directions and help getting around. We stayed in Shaba room, our friends in Sultana and we were all pleased with the experience. I would highly recommend this as a true cultural experience in a very unique town.

Room Tip: Plan for your own stair climbing ability. Staff will help with your bags, so don't worry about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This is an insider tip and the place to stay when visiting Zanzibar. Next time I am coming back to Zanzibar I will definitely stay here! An excellent choice for a stay in historical Stone Town/ Zanzibar!!!!! PS: Internet is very reliable here. Good food and service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Loved the Zanibar Palace Hotel. The hotel had typical Zanzibar decor. It is located minutes from the port and easy walking distance to the markets-in fact there were stores just around the corner for last minute purchases. Pictures and descriptions on their site are accurate. We were in the Sherali suite. Very large room even with a second bed in the room to make it a triple. Huge windows along two sides of the room. Very large bath area. It seemed much care was given to the decor of the hotel. We were a group of 10 occupying 4 rooms. Service was stellar. The hotel was very clean. Wholesome fresh food and juices. Had dinner there one night and it was fabulous. My son and I shared a lobster dinner and it was out of this world good. Almost more than we could eat. That says a lot since my son is a growing 15 year old! We stayed there the last two nights of our vacation. This mean't we had a late night flight to get back to the states. The hotel graciously let us use the spa shower to freshen up before our long travels back home. This was extremely appreciated and accommodating! Two thumbs up for everyone at the Zanizibar Palace hotel. I wholeheartedly recommend staying here. Great value for the money in an upscale property in Stone Town.

Room Tip: There is no lift. If you have trouble walking up stairs, request a room on the first floor one flig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, Persian rugs, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. In its adjacent building there is the Palace Luxury Spa, with its contemporary look and feel with one-of-a-kind art and furniture. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.