We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Indeed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Zanzibar Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get customized quotes
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Stone Town
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Very Good Indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. It speaks volumes when a hotel and its staff get all the small things right...and the Zanzibar Palace Hotel manages this with aplomb.
It's a beautifully and carefully restored building, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Most importantly, the staff are polite, helpful and remarkably friendly - there seemed nothing they couldn't do to help.
The breakfasts are wholesome and tasty. We tried the 'Typical Swahili Dinner' one evening, which was absolutely delicious.
In addition, we arrange a tour through the hotel that was excellent.
Certainly a good choice in Stonetown and, compared to many of the seemingly over-priced hotels in Tanzania and Zanzibar, the Zanzibar Palace Hotel ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    79
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
57
255
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Have to admit that on arrival it was reminiscent of the "Best Exotic Marigold Hotel" neighborhood. When escorted and oriented to our beautifully decorated, and very comfortable rooms - with the built in fitness program of going up the stairs - we were delighted. Typical Zanzibar décor makes it feel like you actually live there. And then, there is the wonderful experience of breakfast provided in the homey restaurant area. Food was excellent, staff was friendly. Location is very good for visiting all kinds of markets, both touristy and very local. Port is a short walk away for those doing ferry trips. Wifi in the reception area was very good. A laptop can be provided for those without their own device. Frans and Mark were both very welcoming and good with directions and help getting around. We stayed in Shaba room, our friends in Sultana and we were all pleased with the experience. I would highly recommend this as a true cultural experience in a very unique town.

Room Tip: Plan for your own stair climbing ability. Staff will help with your bags, so don't worry about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This is an insider tip and the place to stay when visiting Zanzibar. Next time I am coming back to Zanzibar I will definitely stay here! An excellent choice for a stay in historical Stone Town/ Zanzibar!!!!! PS: Internet is very reliable here. Good food and service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Loved the Zanibar Palace Hotel. The hotel had typical Zanzibar decor. It is located minutes from the port and easy walking distance to the markets-in fact there were stores just around the corner for last minute purchases. Pictures and descriptions on their site are accurate. We were in the Sherali suite. Very large room even with a second bed in the room to make it a triple. Huge windows along two sides of the room. Very large bath area. It seemed much care was given to the decor of the hotel. We were a group of 10 occupying 4 rooms. Service was stellar. The hotel was very clean. Wholesome fresh food and juices. Had dinner there one night and it was fabulous. My son and I shared a lobster dinner and it was out of this world good. Almost more than we could eat. That says a lot since my son is a growing 15 year old! We stayed there the last two nights of our vacation. This mean't we had a late night flight to get back to the states. The hotel graciously let us use the spa shower to freshen up before our long travels back home. This was extremely appreciated and accommodating! Two thumbs up for everyone at the Zanizibar Palace hotel. I wholeheartedly recommend staying here. Great value for the money in an upscale property in Stone Town.

Room Tip: There is no lift. If you have trouble walking up stairs, request a room on the first floor one flig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We found some great value for money! Housed in an unpretentious looking building palace hotel is stills something of a landmark in the little town of Zanzibar. The décor is functional and arabian-like but not unpleasant. The rooms are very spacious, the bathrooms spotlessly clean and disinfected, the sheets and linen are fresh. All in all, we found it great value for money.

Room Tip: first visit to this small hotel and loved our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our second visit to Zanzibar Palace Hotel in Stonetown. It was just as good as the last time. Its situation was really convenient for what we wanted to do. The rooms are quirky but we loved the room we were in this time which was on the top floor. Only down side is if you have difficulty climbing steep stairs. Food and service was good on the night we ate in. If we go back to Stonetown again we would definitely go back to the Zanzibar Palace.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lowest floor if you have a problem climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location in Stone Town. The staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast arranged at an ungodly hour to ensure we were fed before departing for an early flight. The room itself was not very appealing however and looked as though it was done on the cheap which was disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, Persian rugs, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. In its adjacent building there is the Palace Luxury Spa, with its contemporary look and feel with one-of-a-kind art and furniture. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Otel, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.