We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived like a Sultan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzibar Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Christmas / New Years
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lived like a Sultan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Loved the Zanibar Palace Hotel. The hotel had typical Zanzibar decor. It is located minutes from the port and easy walking distance to the markets-in fact there were stores just around the corner for last minute purchases. Pictures and descriptions on their site are accurate. We were in the Sherali suite. Very large room even with a second bed in the room to make it a triple. Huge windows along two sides of the room. Very large bath area. It seemed much care was given to the decor of the hotel. We were a group of 10 occupying 4 rooms. Service was stellar. The hotel was very clean. Wholesome fresh food and juices. Had dinner there one night and it was fabulous. My son and I shared a lobster dinner and it was out of this world good. Almost more than we could eat. That says a lot since my son is a growing 15 year old! We stayed there the last two nights of our vacation. This mean't we had a late night flight to get back to the states. The hotel graciously let us use the spa shower to freshen up before our long travels back home. This was extremely appreciated and accommodating! Two thumbs up for everyone at the Zanizibar Palace hotel. I wholeheartedly recommend staying here. Great value for the money in an upscale property in Stone Town.

Room Tip: There is no lift. If you have trouble walking up stairs, request a room on the first floor one flig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    87
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
59
268
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We found some great value for money! Housed in an unpretentious looking building palace hotel is stills something of a landmark in the little town of Zanzibar. The décor is functional and arabian-like but not unpleasant. The rooms are very spacious, the bathrooms spotlessly clean and disinfected, the sheets and linen are fresh. All in all, we found it great value for money.

Room Tip: first visit to this small hotel and loved our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our second visit to Zanzibar Palace Hotel in Stonetown. It was just as good as the last time. Its situation was really convenient for what we wanted to do. The rooms are quirky but we loved the room we were in this time which was on the top floor. Only down side is if you have difficulty climbing steep stairs. Food and service was good on the night we ate in. If we go back to Stonetown again we would definitely go back to the Zanzibar Palace.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lowest floor if you have a problem climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location in Stone Town. The staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast arranged at an ungodly hour to ensure we were fed before departing for an early flight. The room itself was not very appealing however and looked as though it was done on the cheap which was disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived at the Zanzibar Palace Hotel after being on safari and travelling by small plane, which was more like a bus the number of stops it made, and walked back in time when we entered the cool, reception area of the hotel! Although our room was on the second floor, up several flights of the steep, narrow, wooden staircase, the climb was worth it. Our room was just an extension of the time capsule that gives the impression that you are in a palace. As we were more than a little travel weary, we chose to eat in the hotel and were not disappointed, it was an exceptional meal, made even better by the service. Unfortunately we had only one night to enjoy the hotel and its surroundings but we would not hesitate to recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Smack at the centre of town, 2min walk from one of the oldest banyan tree in the world and the sea, Zanzibar Palace Hotel is an old converted Arab House. Very tastefully decorated. The rooms are incredible. I stayed in Sultana room.. Huge room, with a private balconie overlooking the roofs of Zanzibar nd the narrow streets below. Room is so large there is space for a huge bath/jacuzzi style..

Love this place. Will never forget it!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A lot of dough of course. But so well worth it. Heavy furniture at first, thick curtains, too antiquated, too English, and the magical bed looking at night, lit from within in a most dramatic way, as a peaceful grave... But to be enjoyed fully, every minute of it, every cell of your body enjoying one of these exceptional 9 rooms, forgetting about outside, forgetting about world news, just enjoying this special space, enjoying your personal thoughts on pure white sheets, wishing to lock yourself within and never have to go out... Not to speak of the dedicated staff, just the right distance - class and sense of humor. Shall not "click to rate" : many things, many persons are beyond rate, beyond any price tag. Enjoy and bless your luck.

Corinne, writer, Geneva (Switzerland) and Paris (France)
c.desarzens@bluewin.ch

Room Tip: Dramatic Sultana, sun-decked Dunia
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, Persian rugs, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. In its adjacent building there is the Palace Luxury Spa, with its contemporary look and feel with one-of-a-kind art and furniture. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.