We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Stone Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Zanzibar Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low season rates!
Ranked #3 of 29 hotels in Stone Town
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Stone Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location in Stone Town. The staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast arranged at an ungodly hour to ensure we were fed before departing for an early flight. The room itself was not very appealing however and looked as though it was done on the cheap which was disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    74
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
52
244
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived at the Zanzibar Palace Hotel after being on safari and travelling by small plane, which was more like a bus the number of stops it made, and walked back in time when we entered the cool, reception area of the hotel! Although our room was on the second floor, up several flights of the steep, narrow, wooden staircase, the climb was worth it. Our room was just an extension of the time capsule that gives the impression that you are in a palace. As we were more than a little travel weary, we chose to eat in the hotel and were not disappointed, it was an exceptional meal, made even better by the service. Unfortunately we had only one night to enjoy the hotel and its surroundings but we would not hesitate to recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Smack at the centre of town, 2min walk from one of the oldest banyan tree in the world and the sea, Zanzibar Palace Hotel is an old converted Arab House. Very tastefully decorated. The rooms are incredible. I stayed in Sultana room.. Huge room, with a private balconie overlooking the roofs of Zanzibar nd the narrow streets below. Room is so large there is space for a huge bath/jacuzzi style..

Love this place. Will never forget it!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A lot of dough of course. But so well worth it. Heavy furniture at first, thick curtains, too antiquated, too English, and the magical bed looking at night, lit from within in a most dramatic way, as a peaceful grave... But to be enjoyed fully, every minute of it, every cell of your body enjoying one of these exceptional 9 rooms, forgetting about outside, forgetting about world news, just enjoying this special space, enjoying your personal thoughts on pure white sheets, wishing to lock yourself within and never have to go out... Not to speak of the dedicated staff, just the right distance - class and sense of humor. Shall not "click to rate" : many things, many persons are beyond rate, beyond any price tag. Enjoy and bless your luck.

Corinne, writer, Geneva (Switzerland) and Paris (France)
c.desarzens@bluewin.ch

Room Tip: Dramatic Sultana, sun-decked Dunia
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babati
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great hotel with really friendly staff (especially the good looking Dutch guy who's the manager) Our room had an awesome view. This hotel is beautiful. We really recommend the food as well especially the lobster. The service is great the staff made us feel welcome the moment we arrived. This hotel truly made our stay at Zanzibar worth while.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Quite in isagreement with fantastic review of this place. Perhaps it depends on the room. I was given a room on 1st floor which was not particularly charming nor had a decent shower room (no bath tub) where I felt like I was sent to a poor quality student accommodation shower facility. Amenity was not the quality that one wish to replace with its own. I was fortunately staying just for one night thus managed not to get annoyed but any more than one night at the same room would have driven me crazy.

Having mentioned all the negatives above, I must also mention the positives: management is very accommodating and helpful. Staff are friendly and hard working. And the quality of food @restaurant is really high.

So, in a nutshell, if you get a better room than the one I had, your stay will most likely be a really pleasant one.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a very grand and impressive building set amidst a maze of streets that formed the original Stone Town, so it is an ideal base from which to explore.
A delayed flight meant that we didn't arrive until 2am and in our grumpy mood it was unnerving to meet such cheeful and friendly staff at that time in the morning.
Our room was spacious and elegantly decorated with tradional Zanzibar furniture, but there are few frills and don't expect 5-star luxury. Ours was only a short stay and maybe we had one of the smaller rooms; our en suite was adequate. The public rooms, however, are a treat and we were well looked after by both management and staff; our dinner in the hotel was fine.
Overall I'd say this is the perfect place to stay if you want a flavour of old Zanzibar; we'd certainly go bcak.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Stone Town
Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, Persian rugs, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. In its adjacent building there is the Palace Luxury Spa, with its contemporary look and feel with one-of-a-kind art and furniture. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.