We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Antque Building in Heart of Old Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzibar Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Christmas / New Years
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Lovely Antque Building in Heart of Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a very grand and impressive building set amidst a maze of streets that formed the original Stone Town, so it is an ideal base from which to explore.
A delayed flight meant that we didn't arrive until 2am and in our grumpy mood it was unnerving to meet such cheeful and friendly staff at that time in the morning.
Our room was spacious and elegantly decorated with tradional Zanzibar furniture, but there are few frills and don't expect 5-star luxury. Ours was only a short stay and maybe we had one of the smaller rooms; our en suite was adequate. The public rooms, however, are a treat and we were well looked after by both management and staff; our dinner in the hotel was fine.
Overall I'd say this is the perfect place to stay if you want a flavour of old Zanzibar; we'd certainly go bcak.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    87
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
59
268
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our stay in the Zanzibar Palace Hotel gave us the opportunity to experience the city and Stone Town at any moment of the day and evening. Inside the Zanzibar Palace Hotel we felt very welcome in a relaxed atmosphere wit great service. Our room was extra-ordinary with a bath room on top of the roof. Imagine to shave with a view on the sea. Outside the hotel we walked directly into the attractive streets of Stone Town. We really recommend the Zanzibar Palace Hotel. Actually to experience both the Zanzibar Palace Hotel and the city is a very good combination.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

as having to get an early flight Rainbow tours booked us in a hotel close to the airport in Stoe Town ,giving us a day to look around this old and historic town. very picturesque. the hotle gave us a beautiful old room with a 4 poster bed,but the facilities 1st class with aircon and deep bath and 20th century plumming. advise tripper to go down to the beach at night to see the sunset and have a meal at one of the beach side restaurants

Room Tip: we had the Sultana suite that had a lovely balcony with first class and old furniture plus 4 poster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Dynamics, the small team of Zanzibar Palace Hotel!
An opulent building in a maze of streets that lead to the ballad. Each room is unique, with a special decoration of very good taste. Friendly staff and available.
A very good restaurant. An address to remember and recommend.

Room Tip: Suite Dunia. Bathroom on terrace, private corner on the roof of the hotel from you will have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A delightful place to stay and to come home to after our walkabouts, the Zanzibar Palace Hotel and its staff always made us feel most welcome. The well-trained staff were friendly, helpful and gentle - nothing was too much trouble. We loved the location which seemed to be in the centre of everything. Our room was fun - we stayed in the "Arabic" room (we wanted to taste the local flavour!) on the top floor (oh my knees - steep stairs!) with a wonderful view over rooftops. Air conditioning, ceiling fan and mosquito nets kept the room very comfortable. Robert was charmingly informative about places to eat (although the food there was great), where to have sundowners and cocktails, where to shop, how to shop and everything else we wanted to know. We loved it, will have fond memories if it, and recommend it to anyone.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We enjoyed three wonderful days at the hotel which has been renovated with a lot of love and knowledge. From our "Arabic" room at the top floor we had have a great view over the roofs of Stone Town including a small balcony to enjoy a sundowner. The service was extremely friendly and helpful, at the restaurant we were served the biggest lobster we have ever seen. A perfect place for a couple of romantic days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Zanzibar Palace Hotel for the last two nights of our month long stay in Tanzania. What a wonderful way to end our dream holiday! We were welcomed with the customary cool drinks and hand towels, and throughout our stay, the gracious staff and owner, Frans, took care of us so graciously and beautifully, it was hard to leave. They answered questions, discussed life in Stone Town, gave us local tips for sightseeing, shopping, places to eat, how to not loose our bearings, arranged last minute taxi service and really made us feel at home. Our breakfast was delicious. The hotel is an amazing architectural and historical building which has been lovingly restored with beautiful features and furnishings in keeping with the original Indian Family design, a tribute to Frans and his vision. We had the honor of staying in the Dunia Suite....yes, it's on the top floor, there are stairs, but it is gorgeous. A lovely bedroom area, comfy bed embellished with flowers on arrival, and then another flight of stairs to the roof top bathroom, which overlooks the city. It is spectacular and showering there during daylight/evening hours was marvelous. Having been born inTanganyika and returning after 50 years of absence, I felt so lucky that my Hawaiian/American Husband and I chose to stay and share such a lovely, locally owned and operated hotel. Fond Memories which we will treasure Forever.

Room Tip: While we stayed in the Dunia Suite, a gorgeous and unique space, the gracious Owner and Staff allowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, Persian rugs, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. In its adjacent building there is the Palace Luxury Spa, with its contemporary look and feel with one-of-a-kind art and furniture. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.