We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Zanzibar Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Last minute -10%
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Stone Town
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best choice!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel after our Safari before we moved on to the beach bit . What a great choice. The staff were fab,so friendly and helpful.After wandering around Stone Town (as I'm not very adventurous ) we ate at the hotel. The food was beautiful, the best we had in 2 weeks. As most people stay in Stone Town on their last night we recommended the food to everyone who was leaving our beach resort. We stayed in the Rosewood room it isn't the biggest but it was lovely. Although the bed is very high but very comfy. The stairs are steep but the staff carry your bags for you,they must be very strong! The little bar is lovely and intimate where you can chat to other guests. Breakfast was nice and sets you up for the day. We wandered Stone Town which was great but didn't see anywhere we would rathered have stayed. Don't forget Mercurys Bar I know it's commercial but they do fantastic cocktails(blow your socks off)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    76
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
56
251
31
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My mother and I have spend 3 nights in this wonderfull hotel:
The location is perfect, the people caring and friendly, the rooms a dream (I do not believe you can find any better place to relax after a day in stonetown), the cook simply amazing, (even if the prices are a bit high I fully recommend to try one of his dishes), the decoration make you feel like you are in a fairy tale... what else???? I guess you should really go there to see for yourself!

Room Tip: If you are not very fit maybe ask a room in the lower levels. The stairs are not always easy to clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our stay at the lovely "olde world" Zanzibar Palace Hotel was great. The owner, Frans was friendly and very helpful as were all the staff. The evening meal prepared by the chef was fantastic!
The location of the hotel was perfect for taking in a tour of Stone Town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked a two week trip through Imagine Africa who arranged all our safaris and accommodation extremely well and efficiently.

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is brilliantly located in old Stone Town. The hotel has huge amounts of character and the rooms are spacious. We stayed 2 nights and arranged trips to Jozani Forest and saw the Blue Sykes and Colobus monkey; a walking tour of town, a boat trip to see the giant tortoises on Prison Island and the best spice garden tour we have ever done.

All the staff were really helpful and the food great especially the passion fruit and avocado drink. Free wi=fi was a bonus. Hotel is in quiet area away from mosques !

Room Tip: There is a massage parlour run by the hotel but next door - fab ! The stairs are a bit steep and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

2 nights in a fab little hotel. Great chef ...food and staff. Owner was extremely accommodating. Loved the town and hustle and bustle. The Dunia suite was amazing. We also went out on day trip ti prison island. It was a lovely outing and the snorkelling was great. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Only having one night in Stonetown we opted for the Zanzibar Palace for it's location & on review recommendations. It didn't disappoint! Fantastic boutique hotel and we were in the Shaba room complete with the most amazing bathroom with a bath that could have doubled as a plunge pool!
Staff are so attentive & friendly ... and the bar may be small & cosy but the cocktails pack a punch - welcome reward after climbing Kilimanjaro. Free wifi too & really good coffee at breakfast time.
Highly recommend a stay

Room Tip: There are only 9 rooms in the hotel and we stayed in Shaba which we loved - the bath is big enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I travelled by myself to Zanzibar for a weekend, and both the hotel and the staff exceeded my expectations. Robert was very welcoming, accommodating, and let me have a late check out since my flight didn't leave until 5PM. The breakfast was wonderful, and they arrange taxi transport for you for tours and to and from the airport if you want! One of the nicest places I have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, Persian rugs, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. In its adjacent building there is the Palace Luxury Spa, with its contemporary look and feel with one-of-a-kind art and furniture. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.