We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzibar Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 30%
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
San Francisco, California
1 review
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I travelled by myself to Zanzibar for a weekend, and both the hotel and the staff exceeded my expectations. Robert was very welcoming, accommodating, and let me have a late check out since my flight didn't leave until 5PM. The breakfast was wonderful, and they arrange taxi transport for you for tours and to and from the airport if you want! One of the nicest places I have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    87
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
59
268
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel after a friends recommendation. A great find! The service was outstanding, we travelled with our children aged 9&11 and the staff could not have been more attentive or accommodating.

We had a fantastic time in Stonetown and have fond memories of of our time there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at the Zanzibar palace for two nights at the start of this month after a week in mainland Tanzania and a week in northern Zanzbar.
Robert and the staff are superb and could not be more helpful giving us first class guidence on what to do in Stone Town. They arranged a guided tour with a local guy called GODFREY KASISI who was really very very knowledgable and helpful.
The buliding is lovely with many original features but if you cannot " hack " stairs this is not the place for you, we stayed on the top floor in the Rosewood Room that was good.
We did not eat in the hotel at night, and for that matter few others did either. This is an area that we felt they needed to be bit more ambitious, there is a spa treatment room but it only open on request. This is situated in a building next to the hotel that also has a roof top terrace, perhaps the restauarnt should be up there??
Anyway they are really nice people and desreve to suceed but there is an awful lot of new and very good competition about.

Room Tip: They all looked good but Roswood is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

When I first started looking for hotels in Stone Town I used Trip Advisor. I decided this hotel because of my budget and location. The hotel is very well presented with a lovely green garden which I saw on Trip Advisor. The staff welcomed me and help with my bags. I was given a room on the 1st floor. The room was presented like a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was on the roof top & staff couldn't do enough for you. Notes: there are power black outs so the lift doesn't work, walking distance to town, the slave market and all the alley ways full of shops, ferry to the islands and Dar es Salaam across the road. I didn't walk around the town at night, but I felt very safe in this hotel. I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We ended a nearly month-long trip through 2 countries in Stone Town, with a stay at the Zanzibar Palace Hotel--what a pleasant way to end our vacation!

The staff was very helpful, always ready to assist and go above and beyond expectations to help us out--very forthcoming with honest recommendations, clear directions (for the maze that is Stone Town in the dark) and just in general, very accomodating.

The hotel is in a great location, close to many sights and very walkable to any location you might want to go.

After all the hearty eating in their lovely restaurant (meals are wonderful), you'll burn off calories hiking up the steep staircase--but the light, airy room was worth it and very comfortable (with a fun, hobbit-like door to boot). We stayed in the Rosewood room.

I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Zanzibar Palace Hotel in November, just for one night. We received a very warm welcome with cold towels and welcome drink. and the staff were very helpful with a very efficient check-in process. Our room was on the top floor - beware the stairs! The room was in-keeping with the rest of the hotel, an old style feel with rugs, a screen to separate the bathroom and the obligatory slightly-too-hard bed. It was perfect for the surroundings!

The hotel is well-placed for Stone Town sightseeing which we indulged in, and the staff were very helpful in recommending places to see and where to go eat. In the end, mainly due to a very early morning start the next day, we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant on the evening. And I'm so pleased we did. The food was exceptional - some of the best we had during the whole Tanzania / Zanzibar trip. The vegetarian fantasy is incredibly good and the fish dishes were also very tasty. We finished with pancake and icecream which was decadent and totally unnecessary after a very satisfying meal. But worth it!

The service was unbelievably good, but then we did have the place to ourselves! The chef came out to accept our thanks once we'd finished and she thoroughly deserved our applause for the meal. The food has a classically French / Belgian theme and was a welcome alternative to the array of pizza and pasta places that are available in Stone Town. Prices are higher than some of the alternatives but we felt it was money well spent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a great time at the hotel and our room was very individual and interesting with a big bath. We were right in the middle of Stonetown too, so able to walk to the Harbour and food market in the evening. When we asked at reception about where to go they were extremely helpful and recommended various places for us to have a nice dinner, as we had asked about dinner with a rooftop view. The staff were extremely helpful throughout our time in the hotel and really made it a comfortable place to stay. Lastly the breakfast we had was also very nice, especially the pancakes! Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, Persian rugs, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. In its adjacent building there is the Palace Luxury Spa, with its contemporary look and feel with one-of-a-kind art and furniture. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.