We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dunia Suite is a must for couples!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzibar Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% discount on 2nd night
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Stone Town
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dunia Suite is a must for couples!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife & I stayed in the Dunia Suite at Zanzibar Palace Hotel for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon in Zanzibar. Now, let me tell you something: It was amazing! Robert & the rest of the staff are very friendly, helpful & professional. Breakfast is good. But the best part? The Dunia Suite. Wow! Wow! Wow! It is a neat room with a typical high, four-poster, King size, Zanzibari bed. The room is large, the ceilings are high, it delightfully decorated with Zanzibari art & furniture. You have a balcony with a view of the street below & the magical Stone Town. But the best bit is when you open "the other door": There is a stairway leading to your bathroom, which is simply magnificent!!! You see, this is not your normal, everyday kind of bathroom, but as my wife & I would like to call it: "Bathroom Heaven". There is a huge bath (or small swimming pool if you like), a great shower, a basin, a toilet (obviously), a table with two chairs & to top it all off, two deck chairs (these are a few steps up from the bathroom). You have awesome views of Stone Town, the ocean, sunrise & sunset from here! Just imagine standing in the shower while gazing at the beautiful, mystical surrounds that is Zanzibar! It is most definitely the best little spot in the whole of Stone Town if you are into indulging all of your senses! We spent about 90% of our time on the deck chairs just admiring the views & sounds of Stone Town, whilst sipping on beer & wine. Sounds you ask? We were there during Ramadan, so the Muslims pray a few times a day during this period. There are probably about 12 mosques close-by, so you can actually hear all of the sounds coming from each mosque. It is a truly unbelievable experience, one you cannot truly explain to someone who has not been there! Tick this hotel, no, the Dunia Suite, as 1 of your 1000 things to do before you die. You will certainly be sorry if you don't!

Room Tip: Dunia Suite, Dunia Suite, Dunia Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    95
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
60
285
33
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This place has an arabian feel, is atmospheric but worn. It has style but is in need of being updated. The rooms were large,clean and comfortable, good AC, friendly staff. The location was great and is only minutes from the water front walk. We do think the hotel is pricy for what we got though.

Breakfast was so-so. Like many places, they made eggs to order and had various basic breads. The cereal, however had only sweet items.

They do have WIFI.

Room Tip: The stairs are quite steep so stay on a lower floor if this is an issue for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great service and very nice food at this lovely hotel. The rooms are all very nice and uniquely styled. No great views but thats Stonetown. a very different experience from the mainland and well worth the visit. Go on the tour of the old town and the slave markets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had an amazing stay at this hotel, set in the heart of Stone Town a traditional Arab building with really high ceilings and stunning decor. we had a balcony overlooking the street below.
the staff were really friendly and helpful, and booked us a brilliant tour of stone town followed by a spice tour, both were very well organised and highly recommended. The staff were happy to walk us to a restaurant at night as its almost impossible to get your bearings in the maze of streets. The rooms were clean and had an efficient air conditioning unit the staff spray for bugs and put down your Mosquito net at sundown. we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne/Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A few especially awesome things about this hotel:
- GREAT included breakfast, free, made to order (incl. omelettes, crepes and french toast)
- downtown location near markets, but away from the overly touristic Kenyatta area
- tasteful decoration bought at local stores
- little seating areas with princely furniture in the common areas
- in-room A/Cs, and good rooms in general

Small drawbacks:
- arranging taxis or trips from the hotel is brutally expensive. Get the same service at half the price or less by going to the main tourism office in the old fort... and they often will pick you up too.
- hearing lots of prayers in the morning woke us up consistently at 6 am. but, it was the start of ramadan, so we expect this would be the case everywhere.
- slow internet connection (but it never was totally broken), annoying if you are trying to upload photos

The staff is super-friendly and very accommodating. Clean and safe too. We would definitely pick here again.

We really loved the island and decided at the last minute to rebook our flight and stay an extra 2 nights, in no small part because the hotel was so awesome. If you go, enjoy the trip!

Room Tip: Prayer speakers sounded louder on the top floor than on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The minute we arrived in this gorgeous boutique hotel - which is snuggled amongst the winding alleyways of Stone Tone - we were blown away by the staff. Nothing is too much trouble - whether you need help carrying your luggage up three flights of stairs (there is no lift), room service or tour recommendations - we took them up on their suggestion of a spice farm and stone town tour and loved them both. The food is delicious and we loved the breakfast the most - endless pastries, cereal, fresh fruit, freshly squeezed juice, amazing coffee and a cooked option. We were lucky enough to stay in the Dunia suite which has a rooftop bathroom with two showers and amazing views - and lots of privacy, so don't worry! The dark wooden interior is a cool welcome relief after the hustling and bustling markets, as is the air con. There is no pool or fitness centre but you don't need either as you are slap-bang next to the sea.

Room Tip: Go for Dunia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We found this hotel whilst wandering the alleyways of Stone Town. Looks like a wonderful and atmiospheric hotel but we just stopped for lunch, glad of the dark and cool interior. Excellent menu and very friendly and helpful service. I'd cdrtainly think of staying here if i were in Zanzibar again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, Persian rugs, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. In its adjacent building there is the Palace Luxury Spa, with its contemporary look and feel with one-of-a-kind art and furniture. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.