We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveller beware!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzibar Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% discount on 2nd night
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Stone Town
MONTREAL, QUEBEC, CANADA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Traveller beware!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Our plans had changed numorous times& when we finally had our dates we lost our reservation at the Serena Inn-which is where you want to stay.
the internet description seemed fine for the Zanzabar Palace- til we found it,off the main street down a small street,& got our rooms ,with rusty tubs-really disppointed. we were told by the owner that his restaurant was really the only one to try in StoneTown- what a mistake- over priced boring food- there are many restaurants in Stone Town and especially good is the restaurant in the Serena Inn.
all in all avoid this Hotel ,although very helpful with tours & directions is not the place to be& try to get in at the Serena ,which is a real 5 star not a fake 5 star.......

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    95
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
60
285
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This was our first stay in Zanzibar/Stone Town and we chose the Zanzibar Palace Hotel on the recommendation of of the managers of the Next Paradise who very obviously knew what they were talking about! What a fabulous place: truly charming rooms, each unique, with oodles of old world atmosphere. Spotlessly clean. The whole place is full of interesting nooks and crannies and very clearly decorated with consistent and obvious taste. The managers, Co & Frans, were extremely helpful in all matters, large and small. In spite of the absence of their cook, they unobtrusively and efficiently managed the best lobster dinner we've ever had, sans comparison. They also enjoy a relaxed, pleasant relation with their staff members, all contributing to the quiet, relaxed and very pleasant atmosphere of the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This was undoubtedly our best stay in Tanzania. The dutch owner/managers could do more to make us welcome. The rooms were fascinating and enabled guests to capture the sights and sounds of Stone Town. The food and service was excellent, indeed the restaurant although small served very high quality food. The stairs up to the top(3 flights) were probably a bit much for older people but request a lower floor. The bedrooms even had free wifi - not always available in smart hotels in Europe. This hotel is of the highest quality as the owners are in a sense guests in their own hotel checking, supervising everything. The result is a personalized service of the highest quality.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I've stayed in Stone Town hotels many a time, but this was my first experience with the Palace Hotel. It is an historic gem very conveniently located in the center of everything Stone Town has to offer. The Farizah suite was spacious and very comfortable with a huge bathtub. Breakfast, dinner and the lounge offered terrific meals and libation to tantalize your taste buds. Most importantly, service from the minute I walked in the door with tons of luggage to my departure, was excellent and never a problem. A must stay in Zanzibar.

Room Tip: Farizah has a wonderful balcony to enjoy watching local and tourist passerbys
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed two nights here as a family in two suites. The rooms were enormous, beautifully decorated and very clean. All of the staff, from reception to restaurant to cleaner, were really friendly and helpful. Particularly the lovely lady in the bar who also served breakfast and was quite charming.

My husband and I stayed in the Sultana which had a four poster bed, huge bath (you can't remotely fill it with the water from the tank so don't imagine you will swim in it) and a balcony along the front of the hotel. The only downside of this was that you had to switch off the A/C if you wanted to sit on the balcony...but not a big problem!

The teenagers were in the Shaba suite across the corridor. They had a double bed and a single and, when we asked, the staff made up another single in the outer room outside the bathroom for our third son who didn't want to share a double with his big brother. It wasn't a problem, there was plenty of space and all three were very happy. The bathroom was huge.

The owners went out of their way to accommodate us. We had a late departure and we were able to store bags while we went out for the day, use the spa to shower on our return (at a small charge), lounge around in the bar and watch DVD's until our transfer to the airport. They have a good collection of DVD's!

We ate here one night which was a good meal but not memorable and you could probably eat as well for less elsewhere - but that just involves stepping out of the front door! Stone Town is full of wonderful hotels and restaurants but we found the Zanzibar Palace very relaxing, comfortable and lacking in nothing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The management and staff were personable and very helpful. They graciously extended us late check-out. We had a marvelous dinner with such fresh fish and generous portions,and a very tasty breakfast.
We had 2 rooms, Arabica and Farizah, both unique in decor with comfortable beds and small balconies that allowed us to enjoy the sounds of the city. There was some noise from the street below but all quieted by 11:00pm. It is ideally located for easy walking to wonderful shopping in the maze of narrow streets and historical sites.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed here as a family after a two centre safari and a few nights on Chumbe Island (an amazing place) and from the moment we arrived we were made incredibly welcome - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel if you're heading for Zanzibar.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, Persian rugs, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. In its adjacent building there is the Palace Luxury Spa, with its contemporary look and feel with one-of-a-kind art and furniture. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.