We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would give 3.5 if I could” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abuso Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abuso Inn
Save
You added Abuso Inn to your Saves list
Forodhani Street | PO Box 465, Shangani, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Would give 3.5 if I could”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

One thing to keep in mind about Stonetown is that all (okay almost all) the buildings look old and a bit decrepit. So, you can't hold that against any one hotel. Abuso Inn is one of those places- the rooms and some parts of the hotel seem like they could use a little TLC. But, the staff keep it really clean and the front desk service is very helpful. Becca was wonderful and doubled as both chef in the morning and concierge. As we were there during low season, and there were lots of rooms available at different hotels, we bargained for the price of our room.

The rooms (from what we saw) were large and had lots of windows. During our 5 night stay, sometimes we just used the fan and other nights we ran the AC. Both which worked great. There was no window in the bathroom so it was covered with cardboard. We were worried about mosquitoes but the staff do a good job of spraying down the room so we encountered a handful of mosquitoes total at most! Our net had a small hole but we easily worked around it. The internet worked great in our room but did not reach the terrace where it's nice to hang out during the day. The lobby area is fairly dark so in terms of common space, the terrace is the best.

Breakfast was good, not great, but good. We were served eggs to order, fruit, sweet bread & chapati and juice. But eating on the terrace raises the breakfast quality.

The hotel is right in the heart of Stonetown. We easily walked to all the sights. Right around Forodhani- it's nice to go to the food night market.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor NOT facing the ocean bc as of Oct 2013, there is construction taking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
17
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you are looking for clean and comfortable accommodation in central Stone Town, the Abuso Inn is ideal. Despite being surrounded by more glamorous hotels like the Serena Inn and Tembo House, the Abuso is difficult to beat for location and value for money. Situated just off the main shopping street, the Abuso is a three-minute stroll from the open-air seafood delights of Forodhani Gardens.

Management is friendly and informal. Several rooms (but not all) have classic Zanzibari four-poster beds, with mosquito nets that are overdue for replacement (mine had several mosquito-sized holes). Internet access is erratic, and is stronger in communal areas than in the bedrooms. Breakfast on the roof terrace is basic but pleasant. It feels like a budget hotel, but not in a bad way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Zanzibari bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Paid $80 for a double with a wonderful Zanzibarian carved bed frame complete with mosquito net (holes in the net, but no mosquitoes so no problem) Roof terrace is used for breakfast which is buffet style and all-you-can-eat. Terrace itself was a bit spartan and directly opposite a huge new hotel that is currently being built. Thankfully no 'builder's bum' was seen to put us off our breakfast. We chose the place largely for its location, paying $30 more than places in the newer parts of the town. It was worth every penny to be so central and we would do so again. Oh..don't forget to request they switch on the immersion for hot water. We didn't know and then had to wait a couple of hors for the water to heat up!

Room Tip: It's floor facing the sea (and the new hotel!) are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Decent hotel in traditional style- extremely friendly owner and staff. You feel welcome and safe in their hotel;) Bathrooms could need an update, but considering price and location this is a good offer. Also a very enjoyable breakfast on the roof-top terrace.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Lovely hotel- we had a great sea view bit something is being built in front of it so this might not last! Breakfast is on the roof which is lovely good selection of breads and freshly made eggs and fruits etc.
Air con in all the rooms which was essential! They have couches all around the main area to relax and chat to other travellers and use the wifi. The staff were very helpful and nice and we really enjoyed our stay - it was a little on the expensive side but that's normal for this quality in stone town

Room Tip: You need to choose between the view on 2nd floor and wifi on the 1st floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

conveniently located in the heart of stowntown, a few minutes walk from all histrical sites, forhodani gardens, all the best restaurant etc.
in a beautifully restored old house it breaths history and romancisism. the painted glasses of windows and doors, the wooden floors in rooms and marble floors on stairs and lobby, nice terrace with seaview...highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss Rosenau, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had problems with hotel we had originally booked in Stone Town, so we asked our guide to recommend another reasonable place. He showed us the Abuso and it was the right decision to move there. Friendly staff, nice room with ensuite bathroom (which could need some improvement like all the plumbing in this historical town), working air condition plus - the best of all - a wonderful breakfast terrace with a super view!

Room Tip: Make sure the window shades in the bathroom do not fall off :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abuso Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abuso Inn

Address: Forodhani Street | PO Box 465, Shangani, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Abuso Hotel Stone Town
Abuso Inn Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuso Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.