We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location close to shops and beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abuso Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abuso Inn
Forodhani Street | PO Box 465, Shangani, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect location close to shops and beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Decent hotel in traditional style- extremely friendly owner and staff. You feel welcome and safe in their hotel;) Bathrooms could need an update, but considering price and location this is a good offer. Also a very enjoyable breakfast on the roof-top terrace.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Lovely hotel- we had a great sea view bit something is being built in front of it so this might not last! Breakfast is on the roof which is lovely good selection of breads and freshly made eggs and fruits etc.
Air con in all the rooms which was essential! They have couches all around the main area to relax and chat to other travellers and use the wifi. The staff were very helpful and nice and we really enjoyed our stay - it was a little on the expensive side but that's normal for this quality in stone town

Room Tip: You need to choose between the view on 2nd floor and wifi on the 1st floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

conveniently located in the heart of stowntown, a few minutes walk from all histrical sites, forhodani gardens, all the best restaurant etc.
in a beautifully restored old house it breaths history and romancisism. the painted glasses of windows and doors, the wooden floors in rooms and marble floors on stairs and lobby, nice terrace with seaview...highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss Rosenau, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had problems with hotel we had originally booked in Stone Town, so we asked our guide to recommend another reasonable place. He showed us the Abuso and it was the right decision to move there. Friendly staff, nice room with ensuite bathroom (which could need some improvement like all the plumbing in this historical town), working air condition plus - the best of all - a wonderful breakfast terrace with a super view!

Room Tip: Make sure the window shades in the bathroom do not fall off :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Abuso Inn is located in the heart of Stone Town, on a little square just off the main tourist haunts. The square provides a small parking area and is guarded by a friendly watchman, who also makes sure any touts following you back off before you reach the hotel.

Don't let the crumbly look of the exterior fool you - practically all of Stone Town looks like this. Walk up the little staircase (it's not accessible for wheelchair users) and you find yourself inside what once must have been a very grand home. Hardwood floors, darkened by generations of walking feet and polishing hands, stained-glass interior doors, wooden shutters on the windows, Zanzibari beds and Zanzibar chests in your rooms... it's all very lovely.

The place is kept meticulously clean. A/C and showers work and the water is hot. There is no safe in the room but "the room IS the safe" we were told - this is a family business run by honest people who take pride in looking after their guests.There is always somebody around to keep an eye on things and we felt that our belongings were perfectly safe.

It's quiet at night and we slept very well.

Breakfast is buffet style and consists of traditional chapatti, zanzibari rolls, fruit and eggs prepared to your liking on the spot. Try the local honey, it's delicious. It's served on a lovely shaded rooftop terrace with views over the harbour.

At USD 75.- for the room, including breakfast, it's very good value for Stone Town and we would go back without hesitation. The only suggestion we'd have is to get new mosquito nets for the beds - ours had mutliple holes in it. Despite this small issue the Abuso Inn is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room for the lovely harbour views and the breeze. Switch off the corridor lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

After reading positive reviews in Tripadvisor, I recommended Abuso Inn to friends looking for last minute accommodation in Stone Town. They were very much satisfied so I decided on staying at Abuso Inn too. Based on my experience in October 2012:

- The staff was very kind and helpful all the time.
- They helped me organize transport to airport and Jozani Forest.
- My room had hot water, mosquito net, both A/C and ceiling fan.
- Breakfast was nice and included.
- After checking out, I could leave my baggage at the reception and mangos in the refrigerator :)

If you are looking for a well located, budget accommodation with antique furniture and very kind staff, you will definitely like Abuso Inn!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent four weeks in Zanzibar, and Abuso Inn was our base camp hotel. Perfect situated in Stone Town near the Forodhani park. Quiet hotel at a reasonable price - very good value for money. Friendly staff and very good service. The breakfast terrace on the roof had excellent view of the harbor and we even watched dolphins from the terrace one morning. Long breakfast on the roof was the perfect start of the day. While going to other places on the island, and on safari at Selous, Tanzania, most of our luggage stayed safely at the hotel. Large rooms with AC is all you can ask for. Abuse will for sure be our choice the next time we go to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abuso Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abuso Inn

Address: Forodhani Street | PO Box 465, Shangani, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Also Known As:
Abuso Hotel Stone Town
Abuso Inn Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuso Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Abuso Inn to your Saves list