We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value hotel in Stone Town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abuso Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abuso Inn
Save
You added Abuso Inn to your Saves list
Forodhani Street | PO Box 465, Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Budapest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great value hotel in Stone Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

After reading positive reviews in Tripadvisor, I recommended Abuso Inn to friends looking for last minute accommodation in Stone Town. They were very much satisfied so I decided on staying at Abuso Inn too. Based on my experience in October 2012:

- The staff was very kind and helpful all the time.
- They helped me organize transport to airport and Jozani Forest.
- My room had hot water, mosquito net, both A/C and ceiling fan.
- Breakfast was nice and included.
- After checking out, I could leave my baggage at the reception and mangos in the refrigerator :)

If you are looking for a well located, budget accommodation with antique furniture and very kind staff, you will definitely like Abuso Inn!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
19
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent four weeks in Zanzibar, and Abuso Inn was our base camp hotel. Perfect situated in Stone Town near the Forodhani park. Quiet hotel at a reasonable price - very good value for money. Friendly staff and very good service. The breakfast terrace on the roof had excellent view of the harbor and we even watched dolphins from the terrace one morning. Long breakfast on the roof was the perfect start of the day. While going to other places on the island, and on safari at Selous, Tanzania, most of our luggage stayed safely at the hotel. Large rooms with AC is all you can ask for. Abuse will for sure be our choice the next time we go to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Abus Inn in Stone Town looks destitute, until you go upstairs and find such friendly staff> It is home from home, old but clean linen, comfortable beds, a/c and fans. No water. The bathrooms are basic, clean, hot water. Usual breakfast included. Good price, I will surely go back. This is if you want budget accommodation.

The staff organise transport if you want to travel north or south. You can leave your luggage for a few days in a safe room. This was valuable!

Room Tip: Good budget accommodation, central, safe and clean. Best asset is the friendly staff. Rooms on the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We spent a night at Abuso Inn in December and were very pleasantly surprised with everything. We booked this over the internet and were not sure what to expect, what we got was friendly staff and service, great location, good sized and well maintained rooms and att at a very good price!
Thanks to everyone at Abuso - it is definintely somewhere I would stay again next time I am in Stone Town!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast qld
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Stayed 3 nights at Abuso inn. The hotel is a family run business where nothing is a problem. The staff are warm , helpful snd caring and keen to be of any assistance.
The rooms are spacious and the bed is comfortable. Bathroom has good shower pressure
The location is central and easy to find and very close to the beach.
The owner is a wonderful man where nothing is problem. He went way out of his way to assist me when I left luggage at the airport. Wow is all I can say.
Highly reccommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This place is close to the waterfront and Forodhani Gardens, quiet, and well-kept by good people. It doesn't have rooftop dining or a pool, but the air conditioning, door-to-door taxi service, and breakfast were great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Living in Tanzania (mainland) for over two years now I have had a few chances to head over to Zanzibar, but I have to say this has been the best hotel I stayed at. (prompting me to write this review).

The rooms were very nice, well furnished and very well kept for a descent price. Its an excellent Stone Town Location being right in the centre of the Town. But above all what made this hotel better than the rest was the exceptional service and friendliness of all the staff.

A definite recommendation for anyone looking to stay in Stone Town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#20 of 32 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#9 of 32 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Al-Minar
Al-Minar
#17 of 32 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#8 of 32 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abuso Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abuso Inn

Address: Forodhani Street | PO Box 465, Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Abuso Hotel Stone Town
Abuso Inn Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuso Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.