We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abuso Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abuso Inn
Save
You added Abuso Inn to your Saves list
Forodhani Street | PO Box 465, Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Sunshine coast qld
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stayed 3 nights at Abuso inn. The hotel is a family run business where nothing is a problem. The staff are warm , helpful snd caring and keen to be of any assistance.
The rooms are spacious and the bed is comfortable. Bathroom has good shower pressure
The location is central and easy to find and very close to the beach.
The owner is a wonderful man where nothing is problem. He went way out of his way to assist me when I left luggage at the airport. Wow is all I can say.
Highly reccommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Leane01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This place is close to the waterfront and Forodhani Gardens, quiet, and well-kept by good people. It doesn't have rooftop dining or a pool, but the air conditioning, door-to-door taxi service, and breakfast were great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saaseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Living in Tanzania (mainland) for over two years now I have had a few chances to head over to Zanzibar, but I have to say this has been the best hotel I stayed at. (prompting me to write this review).

The rooms were very nice, well furnished and very well kept for a descent price. Its an excellent Stone Town Location being right in the centre of the Town. But above all what made this hotel better than the rest was the exceptional service and friendliness of all the staff.

A definite recommendation for anyone looking to stay in Stone Town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The owner of the Abuso Inn went above and beyond to help me out when my luggage was mistakenly taken by 2 girls. I also saw him helping out another man who was going to miss his ferry. The Abuso Inn is a family owned business with very helpful staff. The rooms are clean and simple, with air conditioning and hot showers and a great location! They also have free wi-fi in the lobby that can be accessed in some rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristi52240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia Hobart
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

A very comfortable, clean, and friendly place to stay, close to all conveniences and the old town. We stayed for three nights. The breakfast was a highlight every morning, and if we were ever to return to Stonetown, this is where we want to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

This modest African hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of Stonetown, next door to Tembo Hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean, with air-conditioning, fan & mosquito net and boasts very nice African furniture. It is just half the price of Tembo hotel. Ok no pool but I was there for 1 night only and found the hotel very convenient. The staff is honest, helpful and charming too. Breakfast is basic but the atmosphere is great and friendly. Great low budget place!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonRose_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

The location of the hotel, the rooms, the roof terrace breakfast and not at least the very friendly personnel made our stay terrific. Abuso is more like a home than a hotel. In the hours between check-out and departure we were offered room and bathroom for free. One day we will hopefully return to Zanzibar and when in Stonetown we will definitely chose Abuso Inn again.

Sara and Peter, Denmark.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraFriis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#6 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abuso Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abuso Inn

Address: Forodhani Street | PO Box 465, Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Abuso Hotel Stone Town
Abuso Inn Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing