We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abuso Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abuso Inn
Save Saved
You added Abuso Inn to your Saves list
Forodhani Street | PO Box 465, Shangani, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This place is close to the waterfront and Forodhani Gardens, quiet, and well-kept by good people. It doesn't have rooftop dining or a pool, but the air conditioning, door-to-door taxi service, and breakfast were great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
16
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Living in Tanzania (mainland) for over two years now I have had a few chances to head over to Zanzibar, but I have to say this has been the best hotel I stayed at. (prompting me to write this review).

The rooms were very nice, well furnished and very well kept for a descent price. Its an excellent Stone Town Location being right in the centre of the Town. But above all what made this hotel better than the rest was the exceptional service and friendliness of all the staff.

A definite recommendation for anyone looking to stay in Stone Town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The owner of the Abuso Inn went above and beyond to help me out when my luggage was mistakenly taken by 2 girls. I also saw him helping out another man who was going to miss his ferry. The Abuso Inn is a family owned business with very helpful staff. The rooms are clean and simple, with air conditioning and hot showers and a great location! They also have free wi-fi in the lobby that can be accessed in some rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia Hobart
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

A very comfortable, clean, and friendly place to stay, close to all conveniences and the old town. We stayed for three nights. The breakfast was a highlight every morning, and if we were ever to return to Stonetown, this is where we want to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

This modest African hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of Stonetown, next door to Tembo Hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean, with air-conditioning, fan & mosquito net and boasts very nice African furniture. It is just half the price of Tembo hotel. Ok no pool but I was there for 1 night only and found the hotel very convenient. The staff is honest, helpful and charming too. Breakfast is basic but the atmosphere is great and friendly. Great low budget place!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

The location of the hotel, the rooms, the roof terrace breakfast and not at least the very friendly personnel made our stay terrific. Abuso is more like a home than a hotel. In the hours between check-out and departure we were offered room and bathroom for free. One day we will hopefully return to Zanzibar and when in Stonetown we will definitely chose Abuso Inn again.

Sara and Peter, Denmark.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

No one will mistake the Abuso Inn for the Tembo (a luxury hotel nearby), but it's 80% as nice for under half the price.

It's a family-run establishment, and everyone is very accommodating and pleasant. I negotiated a lower rate for my two rooms, and there was a bit of miscommunication about this at check-out time, but the owner (Hamid) was quite pleasant about it and we reached a very reasonable understanding.

My wife asked the front desk where to get a Coca-Cola and they had them in stock for quite cheap (even by Tanzanian standards). On one occasion, all they had on hand was warm Coke, so Hamid sent his daughter out to a local shop to pick one up for her. That's the kind of friendliness and service you can expect at Abuso.

Breakfast is unspectacular and basic, but quite nice -- eggs, instant coffee (almost everyone in Zanzibar serves instant coffee, don't hold it against them), tea, bread (loaf bread and chappati), excellent fresh fruit and juice. Breakfast is served on the roof of the hotel from 7-9 am and the view is very pleasant.

People don't go to Zanzibar to hang out in a great hotel -- they go for the beach, the sightseeing and the local culture. Of course you want a pleasant place to return to when you are done with the day, and the Abuso gives you that and more, without being an overpriced tourist trap.

Four stars, just because my standard for "five stars" is a bit higher than this -- but for "value" definitely five-stars-plus!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abuso Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abuso Inn

Address: Forodhani Street | PO Box 465, Shangani, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Also Known As:
Abuso Hotel Stone Town
Abuso Inn Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuso Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.