We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chavda Hotel Ltd

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chavda Hotel Ltd
Save
You added Chavda Hotel Ltd to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baghani Street | East of Kenyatta Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Roatan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This charming, historic hotel is quite quaint and perfectly situated in Stone Town. The staff was friendly but the rooms could use a little TLC. We had a water leak in our bathroom that caused huge puddles on 3/4 of the bathroom floor each day for the 3 days/nights we were there. We reported it each morning but nothing was ever done about it. The mattresses are quite soft and need replacing but for the price, it was a good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    35
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
10
25
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

First impressions were great. Room was beautiful, bathroom clean, a/c was good (and you need it in Stonetown ). Downside was the fridge did not work well The roof top bar has great views of the town and the food was above average. Staff were polite but you got the impression they did not enjoy their work and just going through the motions. Stayed there for two days but never saw a manager anywhere. Ordered an early morning wake up call that was missed along with a taxi which failed to arrive. The staff though did get us another one quite quickly

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed in the chavda for two nights when I visited zanzibar. I found the chavda hotel to be a little palace comparing to other places I had stayed during my trip. The rooms were beautiful and the beds were so relaxing, I adored the gour posts it gave me a taste of stonetown.
However I wasnt overly happy with my bathroom it was a little dirty and a few tiles missing although my friends bathroom was beautiful so I wouldn't hold that against them. At breakfast time on the roof absolutely took my breath away..we were overlooking stonetown and that was my favourite part of the hotel.
I suffered from really bad sunburn so i foun tge beauty salon brilliant and the girls were very nice. We werent far away either from thr famous freddy mercury restaurant which was also lovely.
The staff were friendly and very helpful as they helped us get ferry tickets to dar es salem and arranged a taxi for us also. If you do visit stonetown I would recommend I he chavda hotel it really was a treat.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I took a group of 24 and would use it again for myself and further group visits. It represents good value for money, the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were very good, although bathrooms do need some repairs and updating. Breakfasts were very good in the roof top restaurant. It's location is great for Stonetown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The room was spacious, bedroom clean and well equipped, bathroom grubby and old. The hotel appeared to be empty when I was there, I only saw 2 others guest in 48 hours at breakfast time. Front desk staff where very friendly, helpful and always smiling, staff at breakfast were miserable, unhelpful and rude. I went to the roof top resteraunt one night to eat and quickly left, staff where unfriendly and appeared inconvenienced at actually having to do some work. Being in the middle of stone town the hotel is very noisy, bit that is to be expected for the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel Chavda is conveniently located in Stone Town. I booked a single room for $85 and I found it to be spacious and tastily decorated with Arab furniture. The bed and pillows were somewhat hard, but other than that the room was full of character and comfortable. So I do not share other reviewers' and the Lonely Planet guide's mixed experience with their rooms. The wifi was free and working well, although slowly as in other part of Tanzania. The restaurant is on the terrace and you will need to hike up 6 flights of steps to get there but you'll be rewarded with a beautiful view of Stone Town and the small islands off the coast. I also found the breakfast to be better than what I expected based on other reviews. There were 5 varieties of delicious tropical fruits, juice, coffee, bread, pastries and an omelet made to order. The spice tour arranged by the hotel took me to the Zito Plantation 10 miles away in Kizimbani and it was memorable. I'm not a plant fanatic, but I'd give that alone a 5 star. They grow an impressive array of fragrant plants, tropical fruit trees and spices. Hamad, the guide, was well versed in many languages and was knowledgeable about medicinal, culinary and cosmetic uses. I touched and frequently smelled fruits, seeds or leaves of turmeric, vanilla, coffee, clove, henna, nutmeg, iodine, aloe, several coconut and banana plants, ginger, black pepper, cotton, jasmine, cinnamon, lemongrass and a few others. I was shown how the colorants are made and how a nick in the bark leads to a resin with antiseptic properties.The highlight was watching a kid climbing up a 100 feet tall palm tree with bare feet and hands in a few seconds to show how coconuts are harvested. An impressive feat.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. The receptionists were very helpful with everything we asked for.
The rooms are big, but no view. They might need a little upgrade, especially the bathrooms, but nothing to complain about. It was clean, and shower, toilet and AC worked as it should.
They have a very nice rooftop restaurant where they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff is very helpful, but veeery slow, even when it's not a lot of guests in the restaurant. The food had very different quality. Breakfast was good with a lot of fresh fruit and of course different variety of eggs. The pizza we had for lunch was not very good, but eatable. They actually serve some local Zanzibar food, and it was really good!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#20 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al-Minar
Al-Minar
#16 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chavda Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chavda Hotel Ltd

Address: Baghani Street | East of Kenyatta Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chavda Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Chavda Hotel Stone Town
Chavda Hotel Ltd Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chavda Hotel Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.