We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible one night stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chavda Hotel Ltd

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chavda Hotel Ltd to your Saves list
Chavda Hotel Ltd
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baghani Street | East of Kenyatta Road, Stone Town, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible one night stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Wouldnt recommend this hotel from our experience, as recon you could find much better for the price range.
Rooms large, no view, entrance in a small alley. My husband and I were dying for a shower on arrival after travelling for 24hours. The water wasn't hot, the shower head snapped off the wall and the bathroom ended up saturated. We had to hold the shower head for each other to quickly shower under the cold water. We spoke with management to be moved to another room (mind you they had told us this was one of their best rooms ). They did move us promptly to another room with a working shower. Internet in hotel only worked in lobby area which is frustrating to sit down there while mosquitoes eat you.
Location was good and a very short walk to main street and not far to beach front.
Hotel staff spend there time pressuring us into doing the spice tour which we declined in the end cause they continued to ask us and up sell packages... Not what we wanted after travelling for 24hrs.
Our highlight of our stay in stone town was a seafood platter on the beach front and a must visit to the night fisherman markets for pizza and sugar cane juice :)

Room Tip: Don't bother look for another hotel in similar price range
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    32
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
8
25
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed a week and the staff was very friendly. We had a lot of great conversations and laughs.
while there I came down with the flu and Alex from the front desk sent Ali up to my room to check up on me. He came saw I was sleeping and ok and reported back. This, to me represents real friends not just staff guest.

The rooftop restaurant is a great place to eat, good food, good staff and fair prices.

Rooms all air conditioned . Just stay out of a single room. They are so small you can't move in them.

They upgraded from 101 to 504. Hard to believe I was in the same hotel. Very nice room.

Room Tip: Get a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A little late adding as we were there in October.

Room was nice and large; we only ate at there for breakfast but all was fine with good views over Stone Town. Staff always friendly and helpful and the room kept clean. Any issues we had were resolved straight away (mainly down to power cuts Stone Town wide).

Out of the door, turn left and you are soon at Jaws Corner and into the heart of Stone Town.

The only negative mark was we were meant to be picked up from the airport and there was no-one so we had to sort the taxi ourselves; they did sort one for us on the return.

If I went to Stone Town again - and it is a great place - I would stay there again

Room Tip: Get a room that is on second floor or higher - more windows and probably better circulation of air
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Central to everything in Stone Town and great views from the roof-top restaurant - it is one of the highest buildings. We stayed three nights.
Room was fine with interesting old decor, king-size bed with mosquito net, good aircon, and the bathroom was fine. But remember to turn off the hot water as it was making funny noises when left on too long. We also turned off the fridge during the night as it was a bit noisy.
No free bottled water was provided, the only hotel that we stayed at in Tanzania that didn't provide water.
Most staff were very friendly and helpful including the reception, waiter and cleaning staff.
Nice fresh fruit was included with breakfast as was toast, breads and home made biscuits - the first morning we had an especially yummy biscuit with spices.
We had one meal there which was good though service a bit slow, especially considering we were the only ones dining!
Generally, it was very quiet (except for a rooster at 5am) and not many other people there that we saw.
You need to not mind stairs, as it is about five levels to the restaurant (no lift).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and I can recomend for short stay. Clean, nice people, air-con working, good breakfast on top restaurant with view of the city. You can use safe box for free. There is a Lemon Spa next to it, so you can spend some time relaxing for a decent price. There is no lift but they take care about your luggage to your room upstaires.
Even it is a city but be prepared that you can be wake up early by rooster ;-) - depending which room you will stay (view to the street or backyard).
If you are from Europe ask for adapter at the reception desk or buy one leaving your country at the airport.

Room Tip: There are no rooms with excellent view I suppose, I stayed at 206 and it was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dar es salaam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is in the middle of stone town, no car can reach the place so you've to walk about 50meters or so. It is safe even during the night and the hotel staff will help you of your luggages.
Rooms are very large with Arab decor and furniture. Bathrooms are ok.
The roof top bar/restaurant offers a beautiful view of Indian ocean and stone town. An ideal place to finish your day. I was rather supprised to find this place alomst empty everyday.
I did not eat at this hotel but i'm told that they serve no beef/steak! (religious reasons)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I've stayed at the Chavda twice with 6 years between stays. The hotel has not changed anything since then which for the price is disappointing. The first time I stayed as a tourist and found it o.k. this time I'm here on business and I had to move out after two days because it is not able to accommodate such travelers.

My main complaint is that above the entrance to the room are smoked windows. This is a problem because the lights in the hallway shine through all night preventing you from sleeping. This can be easily fixed and I pointed this out six years ago and obviously they don't see a problem.

My towels were extremely ratty and old. This is also annoying because there's no reason at the price they charge to replace the towels occasionally.

Finally breakfast although included is meager at best.

My impression is that the Chavda is banking on its reputation and does not feel it needs to upgrade. The Tembo Hotel on the road to the Serena is far better at the same price. Just as quaint but overall better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chavda Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chavda Hotel Ltd

Address: Baghani Street | East of Kenyatta Road, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chavda Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chavda Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chavda Hotel Stone Town
Chavda Hotel Ltd Zanzibar/Stone Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chavda Hotel Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.